We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We thought this hotel was extremely grand and beautiful if a little bit overly "posh" for holidaying but we wanted to treat ourselves. It's more of a business/golfing/spa hotel and it's not cheap (2 rooms with buffet breakfast, £640 for 2 nights). It has a great history. We were allocated $20 per day for breakfast in vouchers but unless you added to this you only had enough for the continental breakfast which consisted of lovely fresh fruits, cereals, plain yoghurt only, breads and pastries with coffee/tea etc. The rooms were very tasteful and richly decorated and superbly clean with crisp white bed linen and fluffy towels and dressing gowns. No coffee making facilities in the room though (a disappointment for us as we all like our early morning brew) but you could buy coffee from the bar to take back to your room. We had been travelling around and were looking forward to a nice hot soak in the tub but the water was barely luke warm in the tub although it ran hot in the basin. We asked for this to be checked, which they did almost immediately, but the problem was never resolved during our stay. We were only there for 2 days and didn't want the hassle of moving rooms so we put up with the inconvenience. Our first night was superbly quiet but the second night someone moved in to the room next door and we could hear the loud tv and his personal telephone calls going on into the late evening and beginning again early morning. The sound-proofing wasn't that brilliant but one of the hazards of staying in hotels - some people just don't know how to be respectful of others and I understand that's not the hotel's fault. The huge pool was fantastic although we didn't get the chance to try it out due to bad weather and a film crew taking over parts of the hotel. The filming wasn't much of a problem (quite a novelty to watch actually and they were all very friendly) although we were unable to gain access at one point as they were using the upper reception for filming so we had to wait patiently in the heavy rain until they had finished their shot. The grounds were kept immaculate and were a delight to wander around. The adjoining golf course is a must for golfers. We ate lunch at the pool side bar and it was lovely. The service was perfect and our server paid attention to detail and was friendly and chatty but very professional. Most of the staff were very charming although one or two were a little bit starchy. There isn't much in close proximity to the hotel so you need to get out and about a bit to find the restaurants and shops. We found a great Italian place in the Merrick Shopping Mall (think it was called Villagio). All in all we had a lovely stay at this centre piece hotel of Coral Gables and would recommend it as a little bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami.

Top Tip: Villagio Restaurant, Merrick Shopping Mall (about 10 minutes by car). Lovely Pizza and Lasagne. Reasonably priced. Some people were dressed up and others casual. Very comfortable atmosphere with friendly serving staff.

Room Tip: Take a kettle with you if you like to make a cuppa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Biltmore management is very appreciative of guest’s feedback. As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We are always pleased to hear from our guests and know that they are left with unique and cherished memories from their stay at the resort. It is fitting to describe the Biltmore as ‘a bit of Paradise away from the hustle and bustle of busy Miami.’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    207
    91
    51
    22
See reviews for
243
293
38
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Yea, it's a bit pricey but the availability of the pool, gym, staff, and bar make this review simple to write- The Biltmore is the best hotel I've ever stayed at..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Had a 1 night stay as a surprise getaway for a friend's 50th birthday. The hotel is fabulous! Junior Suite has more room than you could imagine-2 queen beds extremely comnfortable. We were entertained with "Burn Notice" being filmed on location-and although they took lots of room-we never felt put out by it. Had the pleasure of some spa services at the luxurious spa in the hotel-worth the trip. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basque Country
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed there for one night in June. The hotel is an icon in Coral Gables and arriving there one can easily see why: the building is imposing and stunning both inside and outside, as if I'm not mistaken it was conceived and designed by the same architects that developed the Sherry Netherland, the Waldorf and the Pierre in NYC.

The swimming pool, as you might expect, is an attraction itself and it has a Scott Fitzgerald kind of charm to it, you can imagine yourself sipping the odd cocktail during the pre-Depression years. Again, stunning.

However, the features described above can almost lead you to forget what the building is, i.e. a hotel. And I'm afraid it has to score lower in that department: staff is very nice, but the whole registration process was a bit confusing. And then the rooms, while adequate, definitely need a renovation: old TV, worn-out bathroom with dirty shower curtain and head shower that's nearly falling apart, noisy air-con device, etc. The hotel definitely needs some revamping if it doesn't want to become a living ghost and a tribute to the good old days.

A decent stay overall, but not worthy of unconditional praise.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

While the Hotel has some beautiful features, It is somewhat outdated. The rooms are small and very "80's". Definitely time to renovate.

Breakfast in the garden was nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for a family wedding that took place off the premises. We have 2 children under the age of 4 so I was a bit nervous how we would be received. When I made my reservation in November, the woman I spoke to was rude. The hotel charges the guests $35/night for a rollaway bed even though some of the websites differ with their information. When I called back to speak to another person, they apologized for their rude colleague and waived my bed fee. The staff was friendly, helpful and gracious throughout the hotel. We needed an early check in but the hotel was booked. They took my phone number and called us as soon as our room became available. Since it is not the most child friendly hotel there weren't any pool toys readily available. The pool staff made the effort and located a pool noodle for my boys so they could swim. As with any resort, the food/drinks are expensive...Bellini $17 and a PB&J sandwich is $9. If you stay at a Biltmore, I would think that you would expect that (not my "frugal" father, mind you). Anyway, it was a great place to stay and I would stay there again...maybe without my kids! :o)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Biltmore Management is very appreciative of our guests' feedback. In regards to the comment about the need to offer children friendly activities, the Biltmore already has extensive golf, tennis and culinary programs in place aimed exclusively for children. We currently are reviewing options for appropriate poolside children amenities that may be available for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I were very pleasantly surprised by The Biltmore. In an area where everything is new, glitzy, hectic -- the Biltmore is burnished, refined, and calm.

Our "junior" suite on the 3rd floor was the size of a suite at most other hotels, complete with a walk-out balcony with a great view of the pool. (The balcony hadn't been cleaned in some time -- cigarette butts, etc, -- but the maid got-the-message when we left the door open, and the next day it was swept clean.) The room was very comfortable.

We were able to rent a poolside cabana for a day -- a bargain at just over $100. Our own little garden and little porch, with access to room service. I found the so-called "butler" service in the cabana a bit pushy (she walked right in front of me when I was taking a picture, and came breezing in at times that suited her), but the food was delicious and it was great to walk down our private garden path and be right at the edge of the large pool.

One night we got to the restaurant at the golf course when it had just closed. No problem: they happily stayed on to cook us two delicious mahimahi burgers. How many hotels or restaurants would do that?

We found the breakfast in the Fountain Court disappointing. It's a lovely setting -- except for huge air conditioning fans in the corners -- but the service is awful. We received water from dirty pitchers (cloudy and with filaments floating in the water), had a dirty coffee cup another morning when we sat down, and had to ask so many times for a cereal spoon that I ate my breakfast with a small tea spoon. We mentioned this to the Fountain manager (who had an upside-down name tag) but he seemed to either not really understand or care -- or both.

We used the private Zen Suite in the spa and Her Ladyship and I both had pedicures and manicures, for the heck of it. The Zen Suite was ideally suited, I think, for a four person "hen party." The spa personnel were excellent, and I'm very pleased with my shiny fingernails.

This is a gorgeous hotel, with (generally) excellent service and food. And a fantastic swimming pool in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Biltmore Management welcomes constructive and timely feedback from all our valued guests as a means of monitoring our level of services and product quality to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. Restaurant Management has been made aware of this guest’s comments on the breakfast service and appropriate measures taken to avoid such occurrences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.