We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Opulence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming Opulence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Had a 1 night stay as a surprise getaway for a friend's 50th birthday. The hotel is fabulous! Junior Suite has more room than you could imagine-2 queen beds extremely comnfortable. We were entertained with "Burn Notice" being filmed on location-and although they took lots of room-we never felt put out by it. Had the pleasure of some spa services at the luxurious spa in the hotel-worth the trip. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    292
    124
    61
    34
See reviews for
320
398
47
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basque Country
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed there for one night in June. The hotel is an icon in Coral Gables and arriving there one can easily see why: the building is imposing and stunning both inside and outside, as if I'm not mistaken it was conceived and designed by the same architects that developed the Sherry Netherland, the Waldorf and the Pierre in NYC.

The swimming pool, as you might expect, is an attraction itself and it has a Scott Fitzgerald kind of charm to it, you can imagine yourself sipping the odd cocktail during the pre-Depression years. Again, stunning.

However, the features described above can almost lead you to forget what the building is, i.e. a hotel. And I'm afraid it has to score lower in that department: staff is very nice, but the whole registration process was a bit confusing. And then the rooms, while adequate, definitely need a renovation: old TV, worn-out bathroom with dirty shower curtain and head shower that's nearly falling apart, noisy air-con device, etc. The hotel definitely needs some revamping if it doesn't want to become a living ghost and a tribute to the good old days.

A decent stay overall, but not worthy of unconditional praise.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

While the Hotel has some beautiful features, It is somewhat outdated. The rooms are small and very "80's". Definitely time to renovate.

Breakfast in the garden was nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for a family wedding that took place off the premises. We have 2 children under the age of 4 so I was a bit nervous how we would be received. When I made my reservation in November, the woman I spoke to was rude. The hotel charges the guests $35/night for a rollaway bed even though some of the websites differ with their information. When I called back to speak to another person, they apologized for their rude colleague and waived my bed fee. The staff was friendly, helpful and gracious throughout the hotel. We needed an early check in but the hotel was booked. They took my phone number and called us as soon as our room became available. Since it is not the most child friendly hotel there weren't any pool toys readily available. The pool staff made the effort and located a pool noodle for my boys so they could swim. As with any resort, the food/drinks are expensive...Bellini $17 and a PB&J sandwich is $9. If you stay at a Biltmore, I would think that you would expect that (not my "frugal" father, mind you). Anyway, it was a great place to stay and I would stay there again...maybe without my kids! :o)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Biltmore Management is very appreciative of our guests' feedback. In regards to the comment about the need to offer children friendly activities, the Biltmore already has extensive golf, tennis and culinary programs in place aimed exclusively for children. We currently are reviewing options for appropriate poolside children amenities that may be available for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I were very pleasantly surprised by The Biltmore. In an area where everything is new, glitzy, hectic -- the Biltmore is burnished, refined, and calm.

Our "junior" suite on the 3rd floor was the size of a suite at most other hotels, complete with a walk-out balcony with a great view of the pool. (The balcony hadn't been cleaned in some time -- cigarette butts, etc, -- but the maid got-the-message when we left the door open, and the next day it was swept clean.) The room was very comfortable.

We were able to rent a poolside cabana for a day -- a bargain at just over $100. Our own little garden and little porch, with access to room service. I found the so-called "butler" service in the cabana a bit pushy (she walked right in front of me when I was taking a picture, and came breezing in at times that suited her), but the food was delicious and it was great to walk down our private garden path and be right at the edge of the large pool.

One night we got to the restaurant at the golf course when it had just closed. No problem: they happily stayed on to cook us two delicious mahimahi burgers. How many hotels or restaurants would do that?

We found the breakfast in the Fountain Court disappointing. It's a lovely setting -- except for huge air conditioning fans in the corners -- but the service is awful. We received water from dirty pitchers (cloudy and with filaments floating in the water), had a dirty coffee cup another morning when we sat down, and had to ask so many times for a cereal spoon that I ate my breakfast with a small tea spoon. We mentioned this to the Fountain manager (who had an upside-down name tag) but he seemed to either not really understand or care -- or both.

We used the private Zen Suite in the spa and Her Ladyship and I both had pedicures and manicures, for the heck of it. The Zen Suite was ideally suited, I think, for a four person "hen party." The spa personnel were excellent, and I'm very pleased with my shiny fingernails.

This is a gorgeous hotel, with (generally) excellent service and food. And a fantastic swimming pool in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Biltmore Management welcomes constructive and timely feedback from all our valued guests as a means of monitoring our level of services and product quality to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. Restaurant Management has been made aware of this guest’s comments on the breakfast service and appropriate measures taken to avoid such occurrences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Arkansas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

My family & I stayed there a couple of days in Spring 2010 after staying a few days in South Beach. We found the staff to be friendly & responsive and the room was clean.
The room was small but adequate for the 4 of us and the bathroom was very nice & had been updated. A flat screen TV would have been nice but as is usually the case for us we don't watch that much TV on vacation. The elevators were functional and okay and there are going to be limitations regarding some of these conveniences as you would expect in a historic hotel.

I enjoyed seeing the many photos in the common areas of times past and reading about the hotel's rich history. The architecture, grounds, and pool were stunning and this historic landmark is a must see whether you stay as a guest or not. It is in a very nice area of Coral Gables residences and it nicely completed our stay in the Miami area. Overall a positive experience and we do recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
863 reviews
366 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Thanks to a fantastic corporate rate, I stayed here on business. Overall, I enjoyed my stay -- the hotel has a fascinating history, and its been restored with that history in mind. If you like that kind of hotel, you'll like the Biltmore.

Service during the stay was excellent. The valet was welcoming. Questions were answered by all staff happily. As a colleague and I searched for a place to dine, a restaurant server in a bar gladly allowed us to use the menu from the casual bar in an otherwise-unoccupied outdoor space and, to his credit, didn't leave us to languish outside -- he was very attentive. Service at breakfast was speedy and friendly. The only service glitch was at check-in, where the staff member seemed to be in training and thus very unsure of herself and the hotel's policies -- she was, though, very nice and did see to it that my questions were answered even as she had to double-check a couple of the answers. I accidentally left a laptop charger at the hotel, and when I returned later in the day to retrieve it, everyone was very helpful (and it was found). So, overall, the service was impressive!

I get the sense that the rooms are variable in size, etc., as they often are at historic properties like these. I have no complaints about my room, however -- it was very large, with a small sitting area and a larger bedroom. The bathroom was elegant with very nice products. The bed was soft with nice linens. A couple of the room elements were rough-around-the-edges -- peeling paint on the window, broken handles on the window, a torn window shade -- but everything was clean. The desk area was a bit awkward, and there were not many plugs, but that's not unexpected in an historic property. The hotel was VERY quiet.

The hotel's grounds are very nice. The pool is very large, although it wasn't quite as elegant as I anticipated it might be based on the descriptions. The fitness center is large, although it closes in the evening (I prefer 24-hour fitness centers). It is also an athletic club used by members of the community, so it's busy with clients, trainers, etc.

The only part of the hotel I didn't love were the dining options. There were multiple restaurants, but my colleagues and I did not want a fancy, expensive dinner. We were referred to the golf course's restaurant by a few staff members, but found it depressing -- complete lack of atmosphere. We finally settled on a bar that had a lighter menu and, thanks to the above-mentioned staff member, were able to sit outside instead of the bar itself (thankfully, as its decor was that of an olde-world smoking lounge). The food was pretty average. The hotel redeemed itself with breakfast, however -- the buffet had fantastic options and was displayed beautifully.

Overall, this was a very nice stay. I think the thing Miami visitors should keep in mind is that this hotel doesn't offer what many might expect to the be the "typical" Miami experience -- while lovely, the hotel does not have the full-of-life, multicultural, beach-focused vibe that many other hotels in Miami (especially those along South Beach) cultivate. Its vibe (and neighborhood, and clientele) are much more the country-club set. That was fine for a quick business trip, but if I were going for the quintessential Miami weekend, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.