We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extravagant Sunday Champagne Brunch in Fountain Courtyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Extravagant Sunday Champagne Brunch in Fountain Courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

The Biltmore is a big, historic, elegant and architecturally interesting hotel set among beautiful grounds with an immaculate golf course. There are many unique rooms, nooks and crannies to explore, courtyards aplenty, and a big pool fringed with palms and statues.

We've been to the Sunday brunch a number of times, most recently two years ago when we spent the winter in Miami. It was very good then, but it is even better this time.

Even though we were a little late (traffic congestion caused by the Sony Ericsson tennis final), we were immediately seated at our reserved table with white linen, real napkins, champagne flutes and silver utensils (which was not given away to other patrons) by the big fountain, surrounded by palms in the courtyard. It feels a bit like being in a movie, in a different time and place, although with little of the elegance of another era (I know, I know, those times of dressing up are gone, I shall not belabour this point as in some of my other reviews).

The Sunday brunch that day lasted until 4 pm (although advertised as from 10 - 2), and we took our time to savour the atmosphere and the food. The service by Mario, our waiter, and others was exemplary, with unlimited champagne and mimosa constantly offered, and dishes whisked away expediently. There were nine to ten sumptious food stations set up along the corridors surrounding the big courtyard, and a special dessert room where treats were whipped up by a chef. There was nothing missing among the food stations - we concentrated on the seafood: stone crab claws, big shrimps, oysters, smoked salmon, caviar....then worked on the sushi, meats, salads...needless to say, there is no room to try everything. The food and drink were all excellent.

Afterwards, we strolled and explored, and sat at the outdoor patio of the golf club to watch Djokovic win the tiebreaker against Nadal on a huge outdoor TV. A server came out, and upon learning that we just had brunch and will not be ordering, brought us ice water on her own accord.

It was a fantastic day, worth the $75 tab each. There was free parking as always!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    225
    95
    50
    24
See reviews for
253
315
40
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We went to Miami with our kids for the kid portion of the SOBE Food and Wine festival. The SOBE hotels were either all booked or too expensive so we opted for the Biltmore, which had great reviews. We got the govt employee discount rate, which was nice. Our stay was nice, though clearly not a "kid" hotel in that there were not many families around, but we knew that. We enjoyed the breakfast in the courtyard and the pool is beautiful. The restaurant by the pool is overpriced but did have the BEST creme brulee I've ever had ! (And I'm a foodie!)

The problem came when we got home and got our credit card bill and figured out that we were charged an extra night because they had us checking out a DAY AFTER we actually left. Mind you, when we checked out and got our bill, everything was correct. Thankfully we saved the bill. We called the hotel and they referred us to whomever handles billing.

The person who my husband talked to in the billing department, was EXTREMELY rude, and couldn't verify in her system the day we had actually checked out. Come on. She basically must have thought we were lying or something. Why would we waste our time haggling if we weren't in the right? She refused to acknowledge there even might have been a mistake, and didn't refund us until my husband sent her a pdf copy of our checkout bill. And then without an apology. I could have sent our airline tickets too proving we left the day we said- it almost came to that.

I would think a place like the Biltmore would treat it's guests better, in all their departments. It left a sour taste and while I would have said I would stay there again, now I won't.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Very nice hotel though slightly showing its age, but a lot of charm. Nice and very large pool but cool in March. Rooms (junior suites) are OK but again could use some refreshning though the bed was very comfortable.

La Fontana restaurant (outdoor patio) was exceptional with attentive and knowlegeable staff, fantastic "made on premise" pastas and other delicacies. While I shun hotel food, I had 2 dinners and a lunch and enjoyed them all immensily. Too bad the wines are outrageously priced - a $12 retail bottle will put you back $40, with 18% gratuity over $50. Maybe that's why the bars were all deserted at nigth - $14 a glass of wine? Cheaper to take a short cab ride to d/t coral gables if there are several of you.

Poolside fool was equally surprisingly good!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We were delightfully surprised by this elegant hotel - from the stunning lobby to the romantic internal courtyard to the fabulous pool - we loved everything about this property.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This architecturally significant, iconic hotel has a fab breakfast buffet, and superb exercise classes, as well as many really lovely employees. Sadly the first two I met, at the front desk were so bad that I had to promptly re-locate to another hotel. That is, once in my unpleasant room, after waiting the full three hours necessitated by my early arrival before 3:00. I arrived exhausted and was traveling for a rest; had to re-plan the rest of my trip, and without the help of the internet. The first front desk person was the most appalling hotel employee I have ever encountered in decades of travel. A night manager was lovely and unhappy at that treatment; sent wine and fruit - I don't drink!, but really helped the next day when I left something in the safe. However, the stress of re-booking an entire trip, on a holiday weekend (Presidents) ! A formal, stuffy updated, old-fashioned place full of business people, but with many beauties.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We extend every effort possible to resolve guests' issues related to their hotel experience. In regards to this commentary, the guest's perception of service is contrary to the courtesies extended by our Front Office Management, which included check-in prior to the standard time, a complimentary upgrade, welcome amenity and late check-out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We really enjoyed staying here for a long weekend away from Wisconsin snow and labor unrest. The hotel has great "wow" factor, especially for our teenage kids, who were in awe of the tower, high ceilings and endless pool. We are an athletic family and really enjoyed the use of the health club, which isn't just a small room with mirrors but an active club with excellent classes and instructors that serves the hotel and the Coral Gables community. I loved running in Coral Gables. The houses are incredible, and I stumbled across the Venetian Pool, built in a former quarry, just a few blocks from our hotel. We spent a few hours there even though the Biltmore has its own pool. We also enjoyed Coral Gable's "miracle mile" of shops and restaurants, and we went to Coconut Grove for dinner (loved Lulu and Green Street Cafe). We thought we would tour the Everglades and visit downtown Miami, but the Biltmore was so nice and relaxing that we didn't leave much aside from shopping and eating. Only a few downsides: the food and drinks are typically expensive for a hotel of this quality, although they offer happy hour specials. Also, our room overlooked the pool, which was great... until we stayed over a Saturday night and the sound from the wedding below us echoed off the stucco walls and kept us awake. I'm also concerned about the use of pesticides and was saddened to see the groundskeepers apply it to the grass surrounding the hotel. It was windy (pesticide isn't supposed to be applied under windy conditions) and some got in my daughter's eye as we walked past. I hope The Biltmore, with their hybrid parking spaces, shows a deeper commitment to being "green" by reconsidering their application of products that are known carcinogens.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Biltmore Management welcomes constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our services and product. The Biltmore is part of the Florida Green Lodging program, certified by Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP). In regard to the fertilizing and pesticide usage for the hotel's landscaping, the property utilizes a product which is 100% natural. And only when pests exceed a pre-determined threshold, are pesticides applied, all of which are certified 'green' products. Management will address the specific time of day in which this maintenance program is implemented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

If you are traveling on business and don't have time to enjoy the hotel, then this is not your choice. The hotel is a great venue, if you have time to enjoy it!
The restaurant is awesome as well, I wish I had more time to enjoy the hotel!

Overall is a good choice, if you are into golf is excellent!

Very classy hotel if you can afford it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.