We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European Charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Coral Gables
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“European Charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a night at the tiny, charming Hotel Place St. Michel located on a quiet corner near Miracle Mile in Coral Gables, Florida. Our room was attractive with classic furnishings, a delciously comfortable bed with lots of pillows, a flat screen TV, and free WiFi access. The bathroom was huge and beauifully appointed with lots of windows, generous granite counters and a modern shower/tub. The building is old (the elevator is still manually operated) but well maintianed. The staff was very helpful. Continental breakfast was included but was brought to the room rather than served in the hotel's dining room. This was the only negative to the stay. The breakfast was fine (coffee, juice and nice croissants), but it should have come on a cart that was left in the room to be used as a table. There was no place to comfortably put the breakfast dishes except on your lap or the dresser.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    52
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
17
59
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caribbean
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

I have traveled a bit yet FL has been one left out on my travels until recently. I was in SoBe a few weeks before and then I was here at Coral Gables. I was very happy and pleased with the Hotel St. Michel. Upon checking in I was given an actual key (been a while for that one!) and was escorted to my room in a vintage elevator. My room was tiny, but since it was just me - I didn't care! The bed was comfortable and clean. The antique furniture was also exquisite (I had a sewing machine table for my flat screen tv), a vanity as a general-use table and a sweet closet. The bathroom was sizeable but not too large. You will have to request an iron and ironing board however. There was Wi-fi throughout the hotel.The halls were darkly carpeted and filled with more antique furniture and floral arrangements. This hotel was more than adequate for my needs. The restaurant is Italian (people kept telling me French for some unknown reason) and though I ate there one night, I could not have a full meal because of health concerns. The staff were quite attentive and my salad was tart and delicious. And Coral Gables is GORGEOUS. I felt safe in the area and on mornings would walk a few blocks to taxis and breakfast (I'm picky with food so I go exploring...). The Miracle Mile was not far. All I am happy for is a bookstore and there was a Barnes and Noble. There are MANY wedding dress shops, and many places to eat. In all, I was happy, well fed, well shopped-out and I enjoyed my class (the reason I went in the first place!)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

This hotel does not feel like an American hotel, though it has the usual AC, private bath and King bed. Maybe it is the old elevator, that doesn't look as though you could operate it yourself; maybe the wooden casement windows, or the armoire that really holds your clothes. The rooms aren't big, so you aren't in Vegas, and they have dark wood furniture in the rooms and hallways from another century. You could be in Cuba, maybe, or Spain, or Italy, but hardly the US! And it works! No glitz, no South Beach deco or Biltmore style, but if you like Miami because it is filled with people from around the world, and being near Little Havana, you will probably like St. Michel.
Great restaurants within the block, including a recently opened Italian restaurant in the hotel which we did not have time to take in on this trip. Two blocks away, a cigar store, with locally made products from former Cubanos and men talking and playing dominoes. Coral Gables, close to the wonderful Fairchild Gardens, is great walking country. A few blocks and you are in old Miami, with bougainvillea-smothered stucco, the Venetian Pool, and strangler figs towering over the roads.
If Miami Beach is too much of a muchness for more than two days, you should probably stay in Coral Gables. And if the big hotels here are a little too "anywhere" or out of your budget, you should definitely visit Hotel Place St. Michel.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My husband and I went to Miami for a Friday night gallery crawl (we were staying in Naples) and we fortunately found this great hotel on the internet. Turns out, all the locals recommend it too, as we later learned, and for good reason. The place is charming: like a European mid-range boutique hotel, with each room a different size, and decorated with Spanish-style antiques. The food was absolutely excellent. The service was earnest, although a bit slow at times. I love the Coral Gables area; it's so convenient for going anyplace in Miami, but has its own urban sophistication (great stores and shopping). We look forward to our next visit to Place St. Michael.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

What a great hotel!! Found it online and took a chance and found it to be excellent! Coral gables is a beautiful area; quiet but with plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance nearby. Room was clean with nice antique style furniture. Staff was friendly and helpful; king bed was soooo comfortable. So much nicer than a "chain" hotel; this one has character! Were there for Sony Ericsson tennis tournament; will definitely go back again next year. Would highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

you know, I normally think Tripadvisor is BIBLE, but on this one it was a little off.
This is a lovely hotel. The Staff were sooo nice. The room was gorgeous. The location was right beside the miracle mile and I went to the designer-y Mall nearby- which they recommneded. Its a European style hotel in Miami, we were going on a cruise, so very nice and this was a great hotel to stay in before we cruised.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

I won a 'mystery auction' for a 4-night stay at the St. Michel at a deep bargain. I was rather nervous after reading some of the reviews here, though. I was, however, pleasantly surprised by this little boutique hotel. It's ideally located within walking distance of all the interesting venues in Coral Gables. Upon arrival and check-in I was escorted up the antique elevator to a spacious 3rd floor suite (rm 310) that had a large sitting area and nice-sized bathroom. The room was decorated with various Spanish-style antiques and had a super-comfortable King bed. I didn't mind having to walk the stairs during my stay even though the staff would have been happy to take me up and down the elevator. I didn't get a chance to dine in the restaurant and I'm not partial to continental breakfasts, so I can't speak to the quality of either at this hotel. However, I had a very pleasant stay here overall. Be advised, however, that while Coral Gables has excellent restaurants, shopping and nightlife, it is not a beach destination. If you're looking for the sun and sand experience right outside your hotel, best check out the plenitude of great hotels/resorts in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.