We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, old world hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming, old world hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Charming 1928 hotel with old world charm, spacious and inviting. Service was excellent. Decor could have been more lively. Bar was noisy with blasting music until 11:30 p.m. Conveniently located. Comfortable bed and attractive bathroom with "gold" faucets.

Stayed October 2015
Thank sarel937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This small, friendly and quaint boutique hotel in the middle of Coral Gables is a real find. The service is personal, décor brings you back to the 1920's.Very tastefully remodeled to make you feel at home. It's old fashioned elevator is manually operated by friendly staff. The best part is that t is located within walking distance of the Miracle mile and great eateries.

  • Stayed September 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Thank lulukam2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

I was very pleased with the stay. Quiet great location and also good food downstairs. Ayna from the reception was very kind to explain the story behind the hotel and everything is unique and authentic.
Worth a visit.
I like places like this.
Thank you guys for keeping it so romantic.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Thank MyNakedTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

The St Michel is an old hotel that has been tastefully remodeled to reflect it's history. The hotel is clean with lots of wood and antiques in the hallways. I love the old elevator with the accordian cage door and hand-operated up/down handle. The room and bathroom are modernized with a large queen bed, travertine tub and sink, and flat screen tv. Room furnishings are antiques and without refrigerator, microwave or coffee maker. The staff, two alternating desk managers, was friendly and helpful. The hotel is only a couple blocks away from some great restaurants and bars. Rooms were $97 with cancellations available a day ahead. My only negative comments about the stay are minor; a lumpy bed with valleys and a long wait for hot water to arrive. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Thank xcntryrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I've stayed at Hotel St. Michel twice. I simply love this place. It is within walking distance of great restaurants and shops which make Coral Gables so special. Hotel St. Michel is quite a small hotel, with only 28 guest rooms. It is very quiet. What I like the most is the decoration. How not to fall in love with the antique sewing machine table which serves as a TV stand? Instead of a closet, each room has a chifforobe. I gave it a four instead of five stars because there weren't any breakfast ( it was offered on my first stay a few years ago). Nevertheless, there is a Starbucks and Einstein Bagels shops two blocks away from the hotel ( a good walk won't be a bad idea after having a bagel and latte for breakfast)!

Stayed June 2015
1 Thank WEdmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is well located, on the corner of the Main Street in Coral Gables, close to Miracle Mile. There is parking in a reasonably secure car park across the road for a small surcharge. The entrance to the hotel is a bit strange in that you almost have to go into the peruvian restaurant connected to the hotel first. The room was a bit dated but beds were comfy. Would have liked to see a safe in-room and better curtains though (there was basically no point in having them). Also, the breakfast was terrible - a few stale looking pastries and not much else in a random room next to reception - don't bother!

Overall a convenient stopover hotel but I wouldn't stay for more than one night.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
1 Thank LNeedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

My husband and I were fascinated by the decor as it seemed time stood still since the 1940's and we loved it. Staff was wonderful until the morning. We left at 5:30 a.m. because I was being admitted to a nearby hospital for surgery. My husband returned to the hotel and stopped in lobby for a cup of coffee. He was actually YELLED at in a rude manner for stealing coffee that was only for hotel guests -- which we were. She didn't ask if he was a guest, just accused him. When she realized her mistake, there was NO apology. She proceeded to accuse him of smoking in the room and informing him we were being charged a $250.00 fine. WE NEVER SMOKED IN THE ROOM or anywhere in the Hotel! Another mistake with no apology. When we booked the hotel, I asked if there was a balcony or door to the outside because my husband was a smoker. Reservations offered us a smoking room and we accepted. Once we arrived, we were told there were no smoking rooms, which was fine with us, we are used to that. apparently they flagged us to have housekeeping report evidence of smoke. Instead of waiting until speaking with housekeeping, it was assumed we smoked in the room. Then she insisted my husband was not telling the truth when he told her reservations offered a smoking room and management should make them aware there are no such rooms. Apparently staff doesn't know when you go online, guests are given a toll free number - not the local Hotel. I have no idea why this person was so rude to us. Maybe we didn't look our best at 5:30 am but we were far from slovenly. I am sorry this happened because we will never return to this beautiful Classic old Gables Hotel that was located in in my childhood city. We found it very nostalgic and lovely. But refuse to be treated in such a rude manner. Very unprofessional. We checked out and went to a nearby Holiday Inn for the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
2 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
The Biltmore Hotel
#1 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Low Cost Holidays, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.