We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“European”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For the price, I liked this place. It has a very good location. The staff was extremely helpful. You have to have someone operate the elevator. I would stay there again. It is a quaint place to stay. Parking is not included.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    29
    15
    12
See reviews for
21
74
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice, quaint hotel in a good neighborhood close to shopping and a variety of restaurants. The hotel staff are friendly and terrific! There are beautiful antique pieces of furniture in the rooms and the hallways, and the style of the hotel seems very European. The room was a bit small, but still offered plenty of room to unpack a suitcase and store a few items on the desk. The rooms overlook a somewhat busy street, but the building is pretty soundproof and quiet with the windows closed. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

This hotel needs a serious upgrade. The rooms jump out of the early 20th century and have not caught up yet. Even the elevator is old school with metal grates and cranks. Mirrors in rooms hung very low and beds need a serious upgrade. Only positive is close proximity to miracle mile but other hotels are better and closer (eg Westin)

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

This was an OLD, slightly run down hotel, with a barely adequate room, but what almost had me rate this a 1, was the fact that their tenant downstairs, a bar, blasted music until about 1-2AM on the weekends, and since this is only 3 stories, you had to hear it- no choice.

The staff was nice, but we will not be going back, no matter what.

Room Tip: none that i am aware of
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This place has a boatload of charm, although it's creaking and a little run-down around the edges: parquet floors in the rooms, funky old artwork, a manned (womanned!) elevator. The super critical will despise it. The adaptable traveler may just love it, as we did.

There is an excellent restaurant downstairs (Segundo Muelle).

Truthfully, it's about 3 1/2 stars, but I bumped it to four because I liked the semi-seedy feel of the place.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We chose to stay at Hotel St Michel because we usually stay at a major chain hotel, and wanted to try a boutique hotel. We also were scouting for options for guest rooms for our daughter's law school graduation in May. The location was wonderful - just a short walk to Miracle Mile. The elevator is hand operated - when a guest needs a lift the front desk attendant would operate it. Cute. We used the stairs except for when carrying luggage. We had a junior suite - a sitting room with attached bedroom in an L shape. The room was spacious and very charming - filled with antique-look furniture. The bed was very comfortable, and the couch was fine, but my husband wouldn't sit on the settee bc it seemed so fragile. The room was clean. The bathroom was also spacious although it did NOT have a hair dryer - I never bring one when traveling any more bc most hotels provide it. The primary reason we are rating this hotel so low is bc of the deplorable customer service. The hotel site states that garage parking is available for $14/day. However, on our visit the garage was closed. The front desk attendant told us about it at check in, and when we asked what we were supposed to do with our car, he shrugged his shoulders and told us to meter park. Did they let us know in advance? Don't they have a plan B? Could they point us to another overnight parking garage? Nope!! We asked for the manager, but was told she would not be coming in - we are not even sure she was contacted about the issue -and would not be able to help either. So we had to continually feed the meter, move the car, and wake up earlier than planned to avoid being towed. No apologies, no $credit, not even a free bottle of water to offer their apology for our inconvenience.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Sure glad I asked for a quiet room - they put me the furthest room away from the downstairs restaurant but the music blaring on Saturday night was just too loud. We are early to bed and early up and it did not stop until after midnight. I spoke to the staff about it and they were very dispassionate and told me to contact the owner. They said they knew it was a problem. When I returned home, I contacted the owner and got no response. I guess once they have your money, they no longer care. The hotel is not exactly European as there is no breakfast. Carpets are threadbare so it feels like an antique. The location is convenient, parking is $14 in the public lot across the street. The bed needs to be replaced and the tile on both the bathroom floor and shower is too old to scrub clean. While it was only a very bad experience the first of 3 nights, the question is "would I stay here again?"...nope.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.