We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Antique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I like a "boutiquie" hotel and this was just that. The antiques and unique atmosphere was a nice distraction from the sameness that we have come to accept with the chain hotels. There are few amenities but the hotel staff is very kind and helpful. I felt like I was in Europe. As long as you are self sufficient you are in very good shape here. I agree with the previous review about the maintenance as our bathroom floor tiles were cracked but I chalked it up to "character".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    24
    10
    12
See reviews for
19
63
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A very different hotel. Dated back early 1900 's very clean and well kept. Very quiet for good night sleep. Me and my husband walk around to restaurants at night with out a car. Visit dorado resturant . Excellent spanish food. We only stayed for two nights . At night we would leave the windows open . If you want something different. This is it . Friendly staff.....

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I love funky hotels and the St Michel meets that criteria, but it's on the edge of too funky from a maintenence persective. The tub was rusty in 3 places. The bed was small - a full size, not even a queen. AC is just so-so. Curtains don't darken the room much at all.

On the plus side, the staff is GREAT. The front desk is mostly'manned' by grandmothers, all very nice. They put ice in the room every day. Hand operated elevator is fun. Location is excellent. We got back later ever night so I just parked on the curb right out front then fed the meter at 9 am. Might stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for two nights the beginning of May. Our room and bathroom were very clean. The beds were comfortable. We loved the antiques that were all over the hotel including the original Otis elevator that must be operated by the staff. Our room was at the front of the hotel and even though we were downtown and on a fairly busy street the noise from outside was minimal. We were within walking distance of a number of nice restaurants and the parking garage was only half a block away. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

First I want to clarify that the hotel amenities listed on Tripadvisor no longer exist. At the moment there is no restaurant in the hotel (though a Peruvian one is in the works), no room service, no lounge, no free breakfast -- in fact, no breakfast at all. (What there is is very good complimentary coffee from seven until noon, and a ton of great restaurants within a three-block radius.) That said, Place St. Michel can offer a wonderful experience for those who are not looking for the standard American luxury hotel room. If that's you, book at the nearest Hilton or Marriott Renaissance. If you prefer something more European and distinctive, by all means book here. The hotel is in a stunning historical building with a ton of character and a beauty all its own. I was fortunate to luck into a large corner room with a sitting area, though I do think room sizes vary. Furnishings are antique, or old, depending on your perspective. The only modern thing in my room is a flat screen TV, but that rests on an old sewing machine cabinet doubling as a TV stand. A wooden armoire instead of a closet, and a bookshelf with actual BOOKS in it. You get the idea. Privately owned and operated, with all the creaks and bumps that implies, but also all the charm and warmth that's not part of a chain hotel experience. I came for business, but would love to return with family and/or friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sitting areas, which are a nice perk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Definitely dated
No room service, no restaurant, not even coffee in the morning - I was told they were renovating
Forget the elevator. You need to call attendant to use it as it is that old
The place is a historical building after all!
Room was very clean, but again some updating would be nice
Wooden floor badly scratched
The plusses: relatively decent price for Miami, Good location in the heart of Coral Gables

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night before we went on a cruise. The hotel is very charming, with antiques in the rooms and an old-fashioned elevator that requires a member of the staff to operate it. There is a parking garage right up the street, which charges $14 a night. Since we were there on a Saturday night, there was no attendant, so we paid at the hotel. But be advised if you are paying at the garage, it must be cash--no credit cards, no checks and no bill larger than a 20! Our room was a nice size and since we were only there one night, we didn't unpack. The bathroom was very tiny but the fixtures were modern. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. There is also free wifi, which is very nice. The next day we walked to the Miracle Mile and had breakfast, then window shopped for a while. It was Sunday morning so all the stores were closed, but it was fun walking around. The staff are very nice and seemed to really care whether you had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.