We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel in Center of Coral Gables” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel in Center of Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been staying at the St Michel for three months and highly recommend this hotel. It is an architectural gem with OUTSTANDING STAFF. The rooms have antique furniture. And the Manager shares her personal German decorations for holidays giving a wonderful ambiance. All traveler necessities are in the hotel or close. They have an excellent Peruvian restaurant in house, internet, cable TV, dry cleaning pick up, lobby computer with printer. It is a period building with operating elevator which I think is original to the 1926 building. It is a choice hotel for travelers that enjoy historical quality in the Coral Gables area!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    66
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
21
76
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here after NYE as our flight to NY got cancelled. I found this just browsing for airport hotels and what a find! Its 3 miles from the airport and around 4 blocks from miracle mile. Once you are inside the hotel you will feel as if you are in europe. I have stayed in many B&Bs that try to emphasize a historic charm but this hotel is the real deal! Its not a B&B though , it has a mechanical elevator , gorgeous european style decor , all furnishings are antique . Also has current world amenities like free wi fi , tv in the room etc. Parking is super convenient , either street park or park across the hotel at a minimal cost. Next time we will try their peruvian restaurant!

Room Tip: call them directly for the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel. It is furnished like a B and B from the 1920's. The room we had was fine. It was a corner room with a balcony that over looked two busy streets. There is parking in the garage across the street at $14 per day. It was clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. The hotel is also super close to the airport. It is also right off Miracle Mile so it is walking distance to many fine shops and restaurants. The neighbourhood is clean and safe. There is a restaurant located in the hotel but it looked really upscale and we were tired and just wanted something low-key and inexpensive. The room was a bit small and the bathroom is really small and had a stand up shower. It remind me of the pensiones I have stayed at in Spain and Italy. Because this hotel is a boutique/b and b type place, I am not sure that a family with kids could stay here comfortably. For 2 it is fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here for a friend's wedding. It was everything I was looking for - old fashioned charm but still clean and neat. Within 5-10 mins walking of most shops, bars, and restaurants in Coral Gables.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in a room with 2 doubles. I awoke at 4am and it was as if we were sleeping on the side of a ravine. The bed was well on way to folding up in the middle. We moved to the other bed and that was only slightly better. Some people find this hotel quaint, I find it very odd. The carpet on the stairs is threadbare and it is a very odd mix of furniture. I did tell the woman on reception about the bed and she stated it would be looked into. It was in such poor condition, they should have been well aware of this. I do not think £103 per night + $14 for parking is inconsequential, and I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Check the beds first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, N.Y.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a boutique hotel for anyone who cannot stand cookie cutter hotels. We had one night in Miami on our way to the Keys and this was perfect. Quirky? You bet. And try the nearby equally quirky beer restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Over the last 15 years, I have gone through streaks where this has been a 'go to' hotel on business trips to Miami. It is affordable, could be described as charming, and has perfect location in Downtown Coral Gables (just to west of Miami).

I had not stayed there in several years, and decided to give it a try. Wow, what a difference 3-4 years makes...NONE! While it is charming, and like stepping back in time, it really needs an update, something I think they could do and retain the charm. A small but telling example is that the elevator is old enough to still require an operator.

All that having been said, there is a great deal to like about the hotel. It is clean, free wifi, has a new restaurant in the lobby, and an endearing character to it that is difficult to find in North American Hotels. If it were in Paris, people would rave about it, especially given that its prices are reasonable.

Worth a try for a night or two.

Room Tip: Second floor. Otherwise if elevator is unmanned, need to use stairs to 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
The Biltmore Hotel
#1 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.