We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a discovery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here after NYE as our flight to NY got cancelled. I found this just browsing for airport hotels and what a find! Its 3 miles from the airport and around 4 blocks from miracle mile. Once you are inside the hotel you will feel as if you are in europe. I have stayed in many B&Bs that try to emphasize a historic charm but this hotel is the real deal! Its not a B&B though , it has a mechanical elevator , gorgeous european style decor , all furnishings are antique . Also has current world amenities like free wi fi , tv in the room etc. Parking is super convenient , either street park or park across the hotel at a minimal cost. Next time we will try their peruvian restaurant!

Room Tip: call them directly for the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    56
    24
    10
    12
See reviews for
19
62
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel. It is furnished like a B and B from the 1920's. The room we had was fine. It was a corner room with a balcony that over looked two busy streets. There is parking in the garage across the street at $14 per day. It was clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. The hotel is also super close to the airport. It is also right off Miracle Mile so it is walking distance to many fine shops and restaurants. The neighbourhood is clean and safe. There is a restaurant located in the hotel but it looked really upscale and we were tired and just wanted something low-key and inexpensive. The room was a bit small and the bathroom is really small and had a stand up shower. It remind me of the pensiones I have stayed at in Spain and Italy. Because this hotel is a boutique/b and b type place, I am not sure that a family with kids could stay here comfortably. For 2 it is fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here for a friend's wedding. It was everything I was looking for - old fashioned charm but still clean and neat. Within 5-10 mins walking of most shops, bars, and restaurants in Coral Gables.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in a room with 2 doubles. I awoke at 4am and it was as if we were sleeping on the side of a ravine. The bed was well on way to folding up in the middle. We moved to the other bed and that was only slightly better. Some people find this hotel quaint, I find it very odd. The carpet on the stairs is threadbare and it is a very odd mix of furniture. I did tell the woman on reception about the bed and she stated it would be looked into. It was in such poor condition, they should have been well aware of this. I do not think £103 per night + $14 for parking is inconsequential, and I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Check the beds first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, N.Y.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a boutique hotel for anyone who cannot stand cookie cutter hotels. We had one night in Miami on our way to the Keys and this was perfect. Quirky? You bet. And try the nearby equally quirky beer restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Over the last 15 years, I have gone through streaks where this has been a 'go to' hotel on business trips to Miami. It is affordable, could be described as charming, and has perfect location in Downtown Coral Gables (just to west of Miami).

I had not stayed there in several years, and decided to give it a try. Wow, what a difference 3-4 years makes...NONE! While it is charming, and like stepping back in time, it really needs an update, something I think they could do and retain the charm. A small but telling example is that the elevator is old enough to still require an operator.

All that having been said, there is a great deal to like about the hotel. It is clean, free wifi, has a new restaurant in the lobby, and an endearing character to it that is difficult to find in North American Hotels. If it were in Paris, people would rave about it, especially given that its prices are reasonable.

Worth a try for a night or two.

Room Tip: Second floor. Otherwise if elevator is unmanned, need to use stairs to 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The st Michel is a great hotel for the money. Stayed there for 4 days and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel is old and the rooms are old but clean. I would stay here again. It's a nice change from the commercial hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.