We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain in the Heart of Coral Gables” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bargain in the Heart of Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff is helpful and courteous. We left the room key with them every time we went out. We had room 207 with two double beds. We didn't hear anything from other rooms. The air conditioner was quiet. The bathroom was modern and updated. The beds have and abundance of pillows. The hotel has no pool (which contributes to the nice price) but the Venetian Pool and the beach at Key Biscayne are close by.

Coffee is served in the lobby, although they stashed it away on our last day due to complaints from the adjacent restaurant who would like to sell you a cup of coffee of course. There is a bar room along the front of the hotel that is currently only used for private parties but I hope the hotel will open it for guests. It's a nice room and would be an ideal place to have a cocktail before going out and mingle with other hotel guests.

Many great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
The POC Buffet is excellent. Delicious ceviches! Talavera Mexican restaurant is wonderful. Also loved John Martin's Irish Pub on the Miracle Mile for being so unMiami. Barely scratched the surface of all the great restaurants in Coral Gables.

You can park in a parking garage across the street for $14 for 24 hours. In and out as much as you like. Traffic in Coral Gables is a bit less intense than in the rest of Miami, which is essentially in gridlock.

This was our first visit to Coral Gables and my mom and I, who are in our 40s and 60s respectively, and from the Midwest, felt totally safe and comfortable the whole time. We will definitely stay there again. Loved it.

Room Tip: You have to have assistance to use the elevator so I recommend a room on the second floor so you onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    61
    28
    15
    12
See reviews for
21
74
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Good
It's definitely a unique hotel. It's nice, kind of european bed and breakfast style. A little old fashion for my everyday taste but it works if you're taking a trip and want something different. It felt like staying in a museum, lots of old paintings and old furniture, they even gave us a physical key to a room, not a card to swipe (haven't seen that in ages). Even the elevator was old, had to be controlled by someone. Not bad at all. It's in Coral Gables (always a nice neighborhood), 1-2 blocks from Miracle Mile so it was always convenient near shops and food. We loved the AC in the room, it was always super cold in our room which was FANTASTIC.

The Bad
The only bad part was the toilet, it was too close to the shower wall so you kind of had to sit at an angle so yea. Our bed squeaked when you moved around and was a bit soft but wasn't too bad or uncomfortable. The WiFi is free but the login/pw system is a bit kludgy, most times I just turned the hotspot on my phone because it was a pain to enter the pw for the WiFi.

Honestly if you're in Miami to visit you really only come back to the hotel sleep and to relax before going out. The Hotel St. Michel, is a nice little gem. Speaking as a former Miami resident, you're in a great neighborhood, bit far from the beach, but it's Miami, you have to drive to get anywhere anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We were first time visitors to Florida and chose Coral Gables as our base.
We read some reviews and chose St Michel because of its history and atmosphere.
We weren't disappointed!
Everything about the hotel, from the really helpful and friendly staff to the charm of the rooms and furnishings, exuded class and style.
We would recommend it to anyone visiting the Miami area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Saint Michel. The location is great, at the heart of quiet, salubrious Coral Gables and a short walk away from Miracle Mile and its wonderful restaurants.

The hotel itself is high on character - with antique furniture and an atmospheric lift - but fair to middling on functionality: our room was a bit cramped for a couple and child; there was no bedside lighting to speak of, no fridges or coffee-making facilities; no breakfast. The lift had to be operated by staff (luckily, our room was only one floor up).

But for the price we paid - £300 for four nights - it was great value. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a clean, friendly, but not necessarily luxurious place to stay in one of Florida's most pleasant communities.

A tip about parking: there is a paying car park across the street, but you can park for free in a quiet, unmetered area a block away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have stayed here over 10 times on business and you cannot beat the price performance and location . Staff is great, rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Free wifi. 5 minute walk to Talverna Mexican restaurant , Morton's . 10 min walk to Ruth's Chris

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had travelled from Europe so we were happy that the check in was quick and easy and that we were assisted with our luggage in the very old elevator which has to be operated by the staff. We had a charming corner room and maybe that was why we did not experience any noise at all. The weather was quite cool so we did not have to use the A/C either but it would have been nice with a fridge (although there was ice in the room). The room had windows on three sides so it was nice and light. The hotel was within walking distance to several restaurants which was very convenient for us. We only stayed one night but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The sounds from the other rooms are unbelievable...... footsteps above our room from hardwood floors, rumbling vibrating air conditioner from room next to us (can't imagine how loud it must have sounded from side that room), running water sounds from other rooms all over, our second floor room sounds like being outside on the street , noise, noise, noise.
This should not even be a hotel, more suited for commercial offices.
Tiny rooms, even tinier bathrooms.
Surprisingly the hotel restaurant was very good and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.