We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome boutique hotel walking distance from great restaurants and miracle mile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
New York, NY, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome boutique hotel walking distance from great restaurants and miracle mile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have stayed here over 10 times on business and you cannot beat the price performance and location . Staff is great, rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Free wifi. 5 minute walk to Talverna Mexican restaurant , Morton's . 10 min walk to Ruth's Chris

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    29
    15
    12
See reviews for
21
74
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silkeborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had travelled from Europe so we were happy that the check in was quick and easy and that we were assisted with our luggage in the very old elevator which has to be operated by the staff. We had a charming corner room and maybe that was why we did not experience any noise at all. The weather was quite cool so we did not have to use the A/C either but it would have been nice with a fridge (although there was ice in the room). The room had windows on three sides so it was nice and light. The hotel was within walking distance to several restaurants which was very convenient for us. We only stayed one night but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The sounds from the other rooms are unbelievable...... footsteps above our room from hardwood floors, rumbling vibrating air conditioner from room next to us (can't imagine how loud it must have sounded from side that room), running water sounds from other rooms all over, our second floor room sounds like being outside on the street , noise, noise, noise.
This should not even be a hotel, more suited for commercial offices.
Tiny rooms, even tinier bathrooms.
Surprisingly the hotel restaurant was very good and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's really nice, but a bit too old fashioned for me. It's far from South Beach, but the location is good for people wanting to be closer to the city. The price is a little high for a small room with a little bathroom. The view is of the road only; however, the surrounding neighborhood is nice. You do need to pay for parking but at a discounted rate at the garage across the street. There is no refrigerator in the room, and the closet space is small. There is no complimentary breakfast, but there is a nice restaurant on the premises. There is no swimming pool, but one should not generally be expected in such historic hotels. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The reason I gave it three stars is if you compare price, comfort, location and availability with other hotels in the area you may be able to find a better deal. Although, if you like historical buildings, this hotel is sure to please. The most memorable thing in this hotel would be the beautiful elevator, with a very old gate door and staff operation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel in March 2013. Quick get-away with wife and daughter. While hotel is "charming" (it is an historical property, after all in Coral Gables), it is really old and lacking in basics. First, it is under-staffed. One woman working the front desk; one housekeeper; no valet. Ouch. Also, no open restaurant for breakfast, coffee, nothing. No gym, no lobby to even sit in, no lounge/bar, no pool. The rooms (and hotel generally) were clean. Rooms were very tight, super small bathrooms, noisy a/c unit. Bottom line--for $200 night, you are only paying for "charm." Next time I am in the Gables, I stay at Westin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Old fashioned hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff just four blocks from Miracle Mile, the shopping/restaurant hub of Coral Gables. We wanted somewhere quieter than South Beach and it would have been excellent save for the absence of breakfast! Older reviews comment on breakfasts so this absence was unexpected and unwelcome , tho the staff did recommend a decent French type bakery a couple of blocks away. Had there been breakfast I would have rated it 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a small, charming hotel that feels as though one is renting a room in someone's home. The rooms are clean and designed to evoke a prior era. My room had a little book nook and divan. I felt very comfortable. The rooms have all the modern amenities, without the sterility. There is an old elevator which travels to all floors. I don't like glitz. I appreciated the quiet coziness.

I also apprecitated the coffee in the lobby.

The manager was knowledgeable and friendly. She helped me with many transit questions. The rest of the staff was helpful as well. Maps of the area are available upon request.

I was only a block or two from the Miracle Mile with shops and restaurants galore.

Try Al's coffee shop at 2121 for a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room. Book way in advance. There are many repeat customers and I can see why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.