We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Coral Gables
Marathon, Fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A nice stay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed there is past Thanksgiving weekend for my 21 birthday. My husband and I were looking for nice clean place to basically sleep since we knew we were going to be spending a lot of time in the room anyways. It's a very cute place, it's different than anything else I have stayed in but it was nice. It did have a european feeling that I absoulty love, with the exception of the creep little girl painting in the room lol. The room was small just enough for two, the bathroom was perfect but I do recommend to ask the front desk how to work the shower head since it a little tricky. Front desk was open 24 hours which was really nice, there is an extra fee for parking but its not too bad. The elevator was old and can only be used with the company of an employee and sometimes there wasn't anyone there so we had to use the stairs which we didn't mind considering we were on the second floor. We had room service and everything was nice and clean. I probably won't be back just because I perfer something different but it was a very pleasant experiance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    52
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
17
59
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in michel to be close to the airport and also located near some city activities. The rooms are in a lovely old style with nice interiours. The staff is outstanding friendly and customer oriented - just great. The only thing is that the lift is not operated 24/7 to bring the luggage to the room coz it is operated by a staff member who is not always there. Due to the fact that it is an old building there is a chance to hear neigbour ferences.  Paking is available for $14 for 24 hours. We will stay a second nigth there in January.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green County, WI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very unique and classy property. Old-fashioned charm and actual room keys rather than passkey cards. Interesting antiques in the rooms and hallways. Elevator operator runs the elevator. Food from restaurant was the worst (Vivaldino's) - absolutely most disgusting "key lime pie" ever. Not sure how it ended up so gritty with such a mush of "crust". Entree not as ordered. Skip this and find a good place to eat on nearby Miracle Mile - plenty with outdoor/sidewalk cafe seating.

Room Tip: Nice to be on 3rd floor - can open the windows. There is street noise, however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Parking is across Alcazar street. You pay the hotel $14 for a one day pass or you can park on the street which is free at night (10pm-8am I think). There are two temp spots in front of the hotel. The concierge is slightly hidden, in front and then to the left. Concierge was very nice checking in and out. From there they can operate the elevator for you or you can take the stairs to your room. Hotel has an older feel to it but it's nice looking. Biggest complaint was the small to moderate amount of noise. Voices easily came through my door from guests walking past. A small vibration could be heard through the walls for a little bit. I could hear when certain other prople used the water. And that was all at night. The phone rang once and then stopped in the early morning. An accidental wakeup call to the wrong room.
Also, the light was a little too strong coming through the window but not too bad.
Some good places to eat in walking distance. About twenty minutes from the airport.
A computer available for use and optional wifi fir purchase. I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am getting married in January 2013, and was looking for a hotel close to the church to stay at the night before the wedding. I e-mailed with Evelyn (hotel manager) several times prior to deciding to stop by the hotel to take a look first hand. According to many reviewers, the restaurant on the first floor was being remodeled, windows were boarded up, and I didn't want to take the chance to have this happen during my stay, as I want some nice photos of me at the hotel.

I stopped by the hotel a couple weeks ago now, and I am pleased to say that the restaurants are now open. Yes, two - there is a Peruvian fine dining restaurant on the left side (as you enter the hotel), and a more casual dining restaurant on the right side. I approached the front desk and was greeted by Evelyn herself; she was very kind, and offered to show us multiple rooms with no obligation. I love the hotel. I came across St. Michel as I looked for a small hotel, with European style, and a nice staircase I could be photographed in. I took my fiance and my sister with me.. and they both mentioned a particular "smell" if you will throughout the hotel. My sister could not describe it; my fiance described it as "antique". I agree I smelled it, but it did not bother me; to me, It actually adds to the antique feel of the place.

I wanted to reserve the room that has the only balcony in the hotel, as I wanted to be photographed on it, but it is a small, king size room. I ended up booking the Double Junior Suite on the third floor.. and it is beautiful. It has a type of decor that really appeals to me.. and it seems as all the rooms face the street, which I like. Evelyn did tell me that if on the morning of my wedding, the room with the balcony is vacant, she will allow me to go in to photograph on it =)

The elevator is, as many reviewers have stated, an original, and is only operated by hotel staff.

As far as parking goes, there is metered street parking, or a garage parking right across the street, that costs $15 for the day.. or $5 after 7 pm. On the weekends, Saturday and Sunday, however, the garage is open but not managed.. so parking is free. =)

Overall the hotel looked clean, the service was friendly, and the restaurants, which are not managed by the hotel, look good. The hotel is on a quiet street, but within walking distance of multiple shops on Ponce de Leon street.. and close to residential Coral Gables.. and many beautiful spots for pictures.

I can't wait to stay here in January.. and if need be, I will update with a new review.

Room Tip: If distance and time permit, politely ask Evelyn (hotel manager) if you may see a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

St Michel is a unique touch of Old Miami in the heart of Coral Gables. Each room is different in size, shape and design, but all of them are decorated with old and quaint furnishings and decor. Despite its retro character the St Michel has been well maintained and is clean and inviting. The service is efficient. The staff were extremely attentive. The location is excellent. I would enjoy staying there again and although it's not elegant, I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This quiet well maintained small Hotel a few miles from the Miami airport in Coral Gables could not be better. It is laid back with excellent rooms, a friendly staff, and an overall great European small hotel feel. If you like a quality small hotel that is non pretentious this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.