We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treasure in Coral Gables” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real treasure in Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I loved this place and I thought it was very reasonably priced. There was no restaurant or bar at this time however they do include a breakfast - pastries and such that was very nice. The location was very close to some excellent restaurants and bars all within walking distance. The people were very friendly and made sure we were comfortable. The hotel was very quaint and the rooms were decorated tastefullly with antiques. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the Coral Gables area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have smaller bathrooms but larger room and nice views of both streets. 2nd floor is ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    58
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
19
69
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Arriving on a Sunday evening, it was somewhat desolate. However the bustle of the workweek made the area come alive. Nice restaurants and shops within walking distance. The hotel itself is a study in architectural interest. Beautiful antiques throughout. Room 203 was a good fit for us. Comfortable beds and spacious bathroom. Everyone working there was pleasant. Continental breakfast was a little skimpy but adequate. Good coffee!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent two nights here and spending two nights in Key West. The hotel is in a business area with some banks and other businesses and shops and restaurants within walking distance and it's on a quiet street. The staff was friendly and helpful and we would stay there again. There are some unique things about the hotel:
1. It's older and quaint with very nice period furniture. I think the building was built in 1926 and has been a hotel since 1946, but there is internet, tv and the building is sprinklered. The room we were in was on the large side and had a sitting area.
2. The hotel has three stories and the elevator is older and has to be operated by one of the staff or you can use the stairs (good exercise).
3. At the time we were there (Jan 19-21, 2012) their restaurant was closed, but there are several nearby within walking distance and the area is safe.
4. Parking is in a bank parking deck directly across the street.
5. Continental breakfast is served.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 302 and it was large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Convenient Coral Gables location which allowed us to walk to many restaurants and shops. The noise inside as well as from the outside of the hotel is a bit too loud. Breakfast was average. The staff, however, was very helpful and accomodating.

Room Tip: Best advice would be to get the top floor, away from Ponce de Leon Avenue and elevator/housekeeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Staying at this hotel was strange,like stepping back in time, luckily it was for one night only. Our room was nice enough very traditional, we went out for the evening and upon returning to the hotel heard extremely loud music , imagine our surprise to find that it was a private party in the lobby which our room was directly above.In our room everything was vibrating and even on the loudest volume we couldnt watch the tv! The receptionist who was enjoying her plate of food from the party was apologetic/embarrassed but then suggested we went for a walk until midnight when she thought it would finish, we aren't old or boring and like a party ourselves but this was a ridiculous situation. Breakfast was very basic and the whole experience was not one we would like to repeat.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have nothing but gratitude for the love and warmth with which I was treated at Hotel St.Michel this past weekend.
The whole experience exceeded my expectations from the moment I walked through the front door on Friday afternoon to the moment I walked out on Sunday evening.
The staff, which included Evelyn, Carlten, Chris, Alan, and the lovely ladies at breakfast time, was exceedingly accommodating at all times.
I have no words to describe my perfect mini vacation on this beautiful old world charm, and for that I will be forever grateful.
A true heaven in disguised!

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated differently. I am sure they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is really a great hotel.
If you are looking for euro-style charm and romance above amenities, then Hotel Place St. Michel is the place for you.
Our short stay in Coral Gables/Miami was excellent in large part to the staff, location and charm of the Hotel St. Michel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.