We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Place St. Michel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Place St. Michel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Place St. Michel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

Went to the Miami area and didn't want the bustle of South Beach. found this great classic hotel in the heart if Coral Gables. It is near Miracle Mile and there are quite a few really nice eateries within walking distance. The staff were great and helpful in finding things to occupy time.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    24
    10
    12
See reviews for
19
63
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This small hotel is in the center of Coral Gables, and easy walking distance to fine restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is a nice European style hotel with well appointed rooms. It is a bit aged, but that is part of its charm. I didn't try the restaurant... that will need to wait for next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

St. Michel offers excellent hospitality in true European style and in an ideal location. The hotel is an easy drive from the airport and in a quiet location. I've stayed there many times and make this my home away from home in Miami. I feel very safe in the neighbourhood. The staff are all very trustworthy, eager to please and truly interested in making sure their guests enjoy Coral Gables and Miami. I live in a Caribbean tourist destination and the hospitality of the Hotel St. Michel is very welcoming. The hotel is very comfortable and unpretentious, but offers the best of old world charm and character, equivalent to the finest Guest Houses in historic Williamsburg, Boston or any top rated English pub or European guest house, but in the very cosmopolitan city of Miami. Upon ascending the staircase, you expect to see Miss Marple solving a mystery! This is a one of a kind hotel in Florida. During my last couple of visits, I've had to impose upon the management with special requests and they were very happy to accommodate me. I've travelled to Miami for many years and Hotel St. Michel is my favourite place to stay. Hotel St. Michel is excellent value for money, especially in the expensive location of Coral Gables. Coral Gables is filled with fantastic restaurants from French cuisine to Peruvian and most within walking distance of the hotel. Coral Gables Diner is not your usual diner setting, but the breakfast is wonderful and a two minute walk from the St. Michel. I have also discovered the many boutique shops in very close proximity to the hotel. If there are any amenities missing from the hotel, the surrounding area makes up for them. I truly hope you enjoy your visit to the Hotel St. Michel and that the staff welcome you time and again as part of their visiting relations!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Filled with antiques, each room is unique and charming and worth the money. We've stayed here before, and will stay here again, very good location for shopping and sightseeing. Outstanding restaurant attached (Try the prawns) and make sure you plan for breakfast here. One fashioned and yet modernized baths, and plenty of artwork to enjoy as well.

Room Tip: ASK. These people really want you to be happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Gorgeous old building, beautiful rooms, charming staff, free wifi, free parking and a great location. all at a bargain, what more can you ask.

Room Tip: I stayed in 216 and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Though looks charming, it offers little in the way of comfort or convenience. The "charming" furniture is of such low quality, both hands are needed just to open the dresser drawers. I had to use the luggage rack to prop open the armoire that serves as the only closet . At its widest, our triangular room was wide enough for a queen bed and 2 small nightstands. It narrowed from there 'til it was just wide enough for a small sink in the bathroom. Above the sink, a small shelf was the ONLY place to put any personal toiletries. The bathroom was so cramped, I had to walk sideways to get to the sink, and I'm small. I don't see how a normal-sized or larger person could use the commode without their knees hitting the wall. Luckily I stayed on a low floor, because the first and only time we used the elevator, it stopped several inches above the floor. Worst of all, there was a fine, white dust on many of the bathroom fixtures. The front desk claimed it was from recent repairs and offered to move me, but that doesn't explain why the dust wasn't cleaned up. I ended up cleaning my own bathroom--not what I expect to do in a hotel--and if I hadn't noticed the dust, it may have gotten on my clothes or into my toothpaste, etc. It also shows that "normal" cleaning of the bathroom isn't adequate. On the positive side, the bed was very comfortable, and the free Continental breakfast isn't bad, although no food had been put out a half hour after it started one morning. I had to leave before it arrived.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

It's my third time staying at this hotel in less than one year...you can bet that I love it here! I cannot drive and I'm happy that I can walk to where I need to, to at least dine and so some light shopping. I do like independent hotels and this is a great little one. Each room is appointed differently and though the rooms are a tad small for two people - it can be made to work. The staff is super friendly, the location is great, the ambiance is old-world and it's such a pleasure to patron such a place.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Place St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place St. Michel

Address: 162 Alcazar Ave., Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Place St. Michel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit if Paris in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Place St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Place St. Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.