We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love everything except the security” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Coral Gables

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coral Gables
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Coral Gables
Save Saved
You added Shamrock Coral Gables to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“love everything except the security”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Picked this location due to it's proximity to a relative we were visiting. The price, considering it is for peak season was very reasonable. They allow dogs, which is a plus for us as well. The apartment was very clean and spacious, with everything we needed for the week we stayed. It is in fact walking distance to everything you would want. The only real complaint is that I did not feel like the building was very secure. Although you need a code to get in the front door, there is a stairway entrance with the door wide open all of the time. The is a sketchy looking shopping center right across the street, with people hanging out at all hour, as well as a place that appears to be a strip club.. The lock on the actual apartment door was not adequate either. There was only a latch lock which could be opened from either side. I think there should be another lock, as well as a chain, or something like they have in regular hotels. I honestly would not have felt safe if my dog was not with me.
My husband was disappointed that there was a TV in the bedroom, but not the living room.
The apartment, the lobby and the hallways were extremely clean, which is a huge plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great option is you plan to stay for a week or more in Miami, have a nice price, and the parking is free and secure. This are apartments is located near the Miracle Mile (22nd Street) and have a good location. There are nice, not great regarding decoration but is always clean. They all have kitchen so is do it yourself meals. For the time you spend in the apartaments are ok for what you need.

The apartments doesnt have wifi, but the office downstars does if you need to ckeck something fast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great apartments, We stay at this place twice a year, going in May for a week, the price is great, you feel at home, great location with good restaurants around and close to Miami Beach too, the Manager is very proffessional and the place super clean, and pet friendly...Security is very good as well as parking, they are always willing to accomodate your requests, Thanks guys you are amaizing, we can't wait to go back and enjoy beautiful Miami....

Room Tip: We have rented 1 and 2 bedrooms, they are both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Michele did everything possible to make sure our short stay was as comfortable as possible. Cannot say thank you enough. She is a star.

The accommodation itself is basic, no frills but has everything you need for a self-catering stay. The attention to cleaning is a little hit and miss but the bathrooms were spotless.There is an excellent new Winn-Dixie supermarket only a 1 minute walk away and the Miracle Mile at Coral Gables is also just around the corner. Would also highly recommend a visit to the nearby Ventian Pool.

One small criticism was the rather over zealous use of bug spray in the apartment before our arrival. It literally took our breath away as we entered the room and all windows and doors had to be opened immediately. It took until the next day before the smell had diminished to an acceptable level. It also made the tile floors rather slippery.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We were in Coral Gables to attend graduation at the University of Miami. The Shamrock allowed our extended family to all stay together, with the convenience of a kitchen for breakfasts, and a living room to stretch out. The two bedroom provided two bathrooms which was a big benefit. Parking and access were very secure. The location/neighborhood was a bit shady with a nightclub across the street, but othet than some late night noise it was a minimal issue. Great value compared to the sky high prices other Coral Gables properties charge

Room Tip: Book a room that is NOT streetside to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed in here for a little over a week in April this year. We had never been to Miami before and just looked online for a place that would have a full kitchen so we could make our meals at home.

We were so thrilled at the central location to this building because it ended up being fairly close to farmers markets and a Whole Foods we could walk to. It was very easy to get around Miami from this location and really enjoyed the area.

The room is nice and clean and has plenty of room. I can see why some people stay long term here because it is like a full apartment. The only thing is the bed is a little hard and a queen just feels too small for both of us to sleep comfortably, so I wish they had a king size bed.

We really enjoyed our stay here, but we had a terrible time trying to figure out how to check in after hours. We arrived before 9 pm and had instructions to go into the building and get our envelope with keys from the safe by the admin office.

Well we couldn't even get into the building! The security guard was no where to be found, and the number taped to the window to call just rang and we couldn't get a hold of anyone. We had to wait outside the front door and wait for a resident to come outside and eventually let us in. Then we got the keys and papers for our room and it said there was a card for getting into the building, well there was no card, just a key on a keychain for our room. So my husband went to park the car and I had to wait downstairs holding the door open for him because we worried we'd be locked out of the building again.

It was not until we found the guard later on the next day we found out that there are no cards to get into the building, there is an old grey plastic piece on our key ring that needs to be swiped near a box at the front door to let us into the building. <--- This information would have been really helpful since we've never lived in apartments and had no idea what it was for, since there was still a card swipe slot at the front door as well. I think they need to update their information in the packet they give you.

We were very unhappy and frustrated when we first got into our place and it was not until later that we felt better about our choice of staying here. It is nice to have a reception desk or someone to call, but this place has short hours and you're kind of on your own.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

If you want more for your money this hotel is it. My family and I stayed here and absolutely enjoyed it. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 3-bedroom and was very comfortable and felt as if we were at home. The kitchen was equipped with all the dishes, utensils, dish soap, coffee maker with coffee, everything we needed! There is even a washer and drier in every room. We needed a handicapped accessible bathroom so we got just that. We had plenty of towels. The bedrooms all had tv's. I would love to stay here again and recommend it to anyone. It was very nice, clean, spacious, and hotel is so modern looking.

  • Liked — cleanliness and location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shamrock Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Coral Gables

Address: 2280 Southwest 32 Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33145
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Number of rooms: 80

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.