We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish cuisine in Coral Gables” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xixon Spanish Restaurant

Xixon Spanish Restaurant
2101 SW 22nd Street, Coral Gables, FL 33145
+1 305-854-9350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 266 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Xixon is committed in providing our customers and visitors alike the best Spain has to offer in terms of its diverse regional cuisines including Tapas & Wines. 2013 And 2014 Certificates of Excellence Winner!
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spanish cuisine in Coral Gables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Went with some friends on Saturday night at 7pm. Attentive and well informed service. Free valet parking. Excellent selection of Spanish wines at reasonable prices. Place got very crowded after 8 pm. Food was consistently good, tasty and well prepared (everybody ate fish or seafood). Although not cheap the bill was reasonable.
Will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    39
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Year's Eve disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have been a regular customer at Xixón since they had the previous location down the street and had generally been very pleased with the food and service. The winning formula was its reasonably priced authentic Spanish food, cozy ambiance, and friendly service. Even though some of the ingredients (such as jamón ibérico) are hard to find in the US and are not as good as in Spain, this place always delivered the "feel" of being back in Madrid: tapas, Spanish-speaking wait staff, soccer, and music.

I decided to have New Year's Eve dinner there with a group of Spanish friends for the second year in a row. NYE 2012 highlights included beef filet and sea bass, and a live flamenco show. Unfortunately, the experience was so disappointing none of the eleven people in our party will ever set foot inside this restaurant again.

The set price menu, at $130 per person (not including tax and gratuity) left a lot to be desired:

-Two extremely bland oysters that tasted out of a can.
-Warm scallop and cigala salad (this was not bad).
- Bacalao (cod) served over winter vegetables. (Not everyone likes cod. I do, and this one was quite dry and unappetizing)
- A watery orange and tangerine sorbet.
- A medallion of roast pig with peach compote. (Just ok).
- Cold white chocolate, yogurt, and raspberry "soup." (I happen to dislike white chocolate and would have preferred regular chocolate, as would a majority of people, I think).
-Half a bottle of wine per person, a sip of cava, and the customary lucky grapes.
-NO COFFEE!!! (what? Both Cubans and Spaniards, the bulk of this restaurant's clientele, end every meal with a cortadito!!)

The food was underwhelming, and not at all authentic. Why would they go this route? I say, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Honestly, the kid's menu, boasting Serrano ham, cheese, croquetas, breaded chicken, and ice cream, sounded much more authentic.

The restaurant was a bit empty, and there were unattended children running around screaming. Not the desired atmosphere for New Year's.

As for the advertised flamenco show, part of the reason we went, never materialized. There was no stage set up (unlike last year), and the show had not begun when we left at 1 am. Considering our reservation was at 10pm, we were expecting live music during dinner or at least right after.

This experience was a complete disappointment, from the food to the ambiance. I hope the management reads this review and decides to stick to the classics that are universally appealing (tortilla, calamares fritos, and flan instead of oysters, cod, and white chocolate) and are the reason people go there in the first place. Otherwise, diners will go to one of the many nearby tapas restaurants, from Diego's on 8th Street to Bulla in the Gables.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Manager at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

Sorry you did not enjoy the dinner. As you've stated the menu was a pre-fix menu to provide dishes not found in our regular menu so we created brand new dishes for the occasion.

The price did not include coffee as stated in the menu provided. We had included coffee in previous occasions but there were those that prefer after-dinner drinks instead so we decided to leave each customer free to choose.

The show was planned to start at 12:30am, not before, giving everyone time to finish their dinner before the Flamenco show started.

Hope you have a nice 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A truly Spaniard restaurant in Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were really impressed with this Spaniard restaurant last night. The food is as Spaniard as manchego cheese is. Excellent wines from the region; the ambiance was modern but never lost it's touch from Spain. The service was terrific! We had Renee as a waiter and he knew every dish and wine to go with. Reservations recommended .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Spanish food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We went last night with our family. We were 8, so we tried lots of tapas. Everything was excellent; the ham, the chorizo with sidra, the alcachofas were super good.
Best cochinillo we have had outside of Segovia.
Deserts were really good. The arroz con leche was my favorite.
Service was perfect.
We will definitely be back :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi

We feel extremely rewarded and grateful when we hear that we excelled in all aspects of your most recent dining experience at Xixón, in food, service, dessert and ambiance!

Thanks once again for your great feedback, and we do hope to see you back soon!

Regards,
Carlos Mattos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful experience!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've been a regular customer of this place since they had their first location and it was a small cozy place with friendly staff and off course great food. But yesterday it became such a bad experience that it will be our last time coming to this place.

We arrived and requested a table, when we asked how long it was going to take the hosttess literaly in front of the owner shut my wife off and didn't let her talk. But she didn't do it once but twice. We complained to the owner who was standing right next to us and he didn't say a word.

So we decided to leave to another great spanish restaurant a few blocks away with a great flamenco show. So my message to the owners of Xixon: competition and variety of restaurants is really high, you are not the only option, so, if you don't train your staff appropriate, and treat your customers as they deserve, they will go away to other great places that Miami is offering.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Manager at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi Gabriela

We are really sorry with the treatment you received during your last visit even though there is really no excuses our front desk was a little overwhelmed at the time trying to accommodate as best as they could everyone's request and inquiries for tables that we did not properly communicate to all waiting on the status of their reservation including yours. After the incident I did speak with the hostess about it.

I do hope we can make your next visit a much more memorable one as we try our best to make every dining experience a very pleasant one.

We do appreciate your business.

Regards,
Carlos Mattos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xixon Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Xixon Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xixon Spanish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.