We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly Spaniard restaurant in Coral Gables” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xixon Spanish Restaurant

Xixon Spanish Restaurant
2101 SW 22nd Street, Coral Gables, FL 33145
+1 305-854-9350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Xixon is committed in providing our customers and visitors alike the best Spain has to offer in terms of its diverse regional cuisines including Tapas & Wines. 2013 And 2014 Certificates of Excellence Winner!
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A truly Spaniard restaurant in Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I were really impressed with this Spaniard restaurant last night. The food is as Spaniard as manchego cheese is. Excellent wines from the region; the ambiance was modern but never lost it's touch from Spain. The service was terrific! We had Renee as a waiter and he knew every dish and wine to go with. Reservations recommended .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    33
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Spanish food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We went last night with our family. We were 8, so we tried lots of tapas. Everything was excellent; the ham, the chorizo with sidra, the alcachofas were super good.
Best cochinillo we have had outside of Segovia.
Deserts were really good. The arroz con leche was my favorite.
Service was perfect.
We will definitely be back :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi

We feel extremely rewarded and grateful when we hear that we excelled in all aspects of your most recent dining experience at Xixón, in food, service, dessert and ambiance!

Thanks once again for your great feedback, and we do hope to see you back soon!

Regards,
Carlos Mattos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful experience!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've been a regular customer of this place since they had their first location and it was a small cozy place with friendly staff and off course great food. But yesterday it became such a bad experience that it will be our last time coming to this place.

We arrived and requested a table, when we asked how long it was going to take the hosttess literaly in front of the owner shut my wife off and didn't let her talk. But she didn't do it once but twice. We complained to the owner who was standing right next to us and he didn't say a word.

So we decided to leave to another great spanish restaurant a few blocks away with a great flamenco show. So my message to the owners of Xixon: competition and variety of restaurants is really high, you are not the only option, so, if you don't train your staff appropriate, and treat your customers as they deserve, they will go away to other great places that Miami is offering.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Manager at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi Gabriela

We are really sorry with the treatment you received during your last visit even though there is really no excuses our front desk was a little overwhelmed at the time trying to accommodate as best as they could everyone's request and inquiries for tables that we did not properly communicate to all waiting on the status of their reservation including yours. After the incident I did speak with the hostess about it.

I do hope we can make your next visit a much more memorable one as we try our best to make every dining experience a very pleasant one.

We do appreciate your business.

Regards,
Carlos Mattos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So much...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

So much that is right!
So much food to choose from - I have been four times now and everything is wonderful. Try any of the fantastic Spanish ham dishes. They have Iberian (acorn fed ham)! Too many wines to list here and they are available by the glass so you can sample dish after dish and wine after wine.

Service is very attentive and fast.

When the bill comes you will find that the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Manager at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi

Thanks for your recent review of our restaurant and we are very glad you are a satisfied repeat customer!

Yes, the Spanish Pata Negra Ham is one of Spain's most well known delicacies aside from perhaps the Paella. We are very glad you enjoyed our wines as well.

Hope to see you back soon, until then we really appreciate your feedback.

Regards,
Carlos Mattos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tapas, ambiance and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went to Miami this past week and decided to go to Xixon. My sisters went there in the past and they were dying to go back. Our family is from Asturias, Spain and we just had to go, great decision as the food, ambiance and service were excellent. We started with an order of sardines, chistorras al vino, pulpo con patatas, callos a la madrilena, croquetas, gambas al ajillo and mejillones. We just loved them all. The waitress, who was also Spanish, was also great. She was always around in case we needed something and helped us with the wine selection. I am definitely going back on my next trip. Thanks to our waitress and the owner for making us feel as if we were back in Spain!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi
We are very glad you chose Xixón as your dining destination during your most recent trip to Miami.

We appreciate very much your support and kind review as we do our very best to make every visit special and gratifying. This is our commitment to our locals and visitors alike to "transport" our customers to Spain via our Spanish Cuisine featuring regional and traditional dishes!

Thanks once again and Saludos para ti, Oviedo, Gijón y Asturias!

Begoña
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xixon Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Xixon Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xixon Spanish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.