We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galicia in Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xixon Spanish Restaurant

Xixon Spanish Restaurant
2101 SW 22nd Street, Coral Gables, FL 33145
+1 305-854-9350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 275 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Xixon is committed in providing our customers and visitors alike the best Spain has to offer in terms of its diverse regional cuisines including Tapas & Wines. 2013 And 2014 Certificates of Excellence Winner!
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Galicia in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you want to eat Galicia's style octopus in Miami, this is the place to go. In general, if you want to feel like you are in a place in Cuchilleros but still in Miami, go visit Xixon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Owner at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi

Wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for providing your feedback to us as we really appreciate your positive review. We strive to continue to provide a high quality option to our customers and visitors when dining at our Spanish Tapas restaurant.

Hope to see you back soon!

Carlos Mattos & Begona Tuya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Authentic & excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was recommended to this restaurant by another Tripadvisor contributor and, of course, the favorable reviews also helped. The food is excellent, my husband and I ate there last night - the atmosphere was great, staff extremely friendly & efficient. You can eat 'tapas' only or a regular full sized dish. We started with 2 tapas which we shared: cordonices rellenos (stuffed quail) and chipirones rellenos (stuffed squid) then we shared cochonillo (suckling pig), a regular sized serving. They also have an excellent choice of wine. We lived many years in Spain and found this food to be the most authentic we've ever had in Florida - it would appear everyone working there was originally from Spain.
They have a free valet parking service, although tips are appreciated, as parking can be at a premium along the street. It was a lot further along Coral Way/Miracle Mile that I first expected, so for anyone driving there from Le Jeune Rd, just keep going, it's on your left. Should have used the GPS.
You will not be disappointed - if Spanish food is your thing. Their website does not have prices on it, but they have such a range of prices, it's for everyone's pockets.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Made in Spain food, wine ans service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Great service from owner herself she took us to wine cellar to select proper wine for the night
Great spanish food great wine great TURRON ice cream
Make reservation Ahead

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“True Spanish Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have been to Xixon twice and it has been excellent. We had different tapas and they were all delicious. We had the small cup of soup "Sopa de Porros" which they call "chupito" and it was excellent. The chicken empanada, the croquette, red peppers, meatballs, sardines, the jamon iberico and cheese were all excellent it was like being in Spain. They also have a big selection of fine wines.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spanish Restaurant with Interesting Dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Rated as the "Best Spanish" Restaurant for 2012 by the Miami New Times. Some dishes were good, others were a bit strange (Monkfish Skewers). I wouldn't say this is the "Best Spanish" restaurant in Miami, but would give it a "Good" or "Above Average" rating. Would I return here? Maybe, but a coupon was what made us come here in the first place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xixon Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Xixon Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xixon Spanish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.