We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Restaurant with Interesting Dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xixon Spanish Restaurant

Xixon Spanish Restaurant
2101 SW 22nd Street, Coral Gables, FL 33145
+1 305-854-9350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 270 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Xixon is committed in providing our customers and visitors alike the best Spain has to offer in terms of its diverse regional cuisines including Tapas & Wines. 2013 And 2014 Certificates of Excellence Winner!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spanish Restaurant with Interesting Dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Rated as the "Best Spanish" Restaurant for 2012 by the Miami New Times. Some dishes were good, others were a bit strange (Monkfish Skewers). I wouldn't say this is the "Best Spanish" restaurant in Miami, but would give it a "Good" or "Above Average" rating. Would I return here? Maybe, but a coupon was what made us come here in the first place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    41
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“spaniard taste in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

went here around a month ago and I personally loved it. had un tinte de verano and it comes in a huge copa. one was more than enough and it hit the spot. the tapas were delicious! it was definitely a taste of spain in Miami. the restaurant and atmosphere felt like I was back in Madrid. I loved it! definitely will become a regular here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced and not very authentic Spanish cuisine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was truly disappointed. The food was not of good quality, the service was fair and overall it was overpriced.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XixonCafe, Manager at Xixon Spanish Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We appreciate your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A piece of Spain in Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Xixon is an authentic piece of Spain in Coral Gables. Their dinner menu is extensive, offering a large selection of hot and cold tapas. There are also a variety of Tablas (Platters) boasting cured meats and Spanish cheeses, Pintxos (Small Bites), such as Dates wrapped in Bacon and Duck Croquettes, Meat and Seafood dishes, along with salads, soups, sandwiches, and their Daily Specials. It's not just the food that will leave you breathless. The layout and decor of the restaurant is amazing as well. We started with a shot of both their Gazpacho and their Crema de Calabaza. Gazpacho is a tomato-based vegetable soup, traditionally served cold, that is both refreshing and tasty. Theirs was amazing; zesty yet full of equally balanced flavors, where each ingredient made a subtle appearance. The Crema de Calabaza, or Cream of Pumpkin Soup was the best one I have ever had. I practically inhaled it, it was so good! From there, the adventure continued. We savored a series of tapas that were amazing! To finish this exquisite meal, we had their Torrejas con Helado de Turron and Bizcocho de Chocolate! Sinfully delightful! For more information on Xixon and other restaurants in Miami and its surrounding areas, you can visit my page at http://adventuresofthefoodaholic.blogspot.com.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for sharing tapas with a group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Went with a group of six after telling a colleague how much we enjoyed Senora Martinez. She said if you liked that, you have to try Xixon! Indeed. We completely over-ordered but no one was particularly upset since we polished off everything! Standouts were the artichokes, albondigas, tortilla espanola with chorizo, shrimp with garlic, and codfish croquetas.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xixon Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Xixon Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xixon Spanish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.