We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3425 North Atlantic Avenue, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not great for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I wasn't satisfied with my stay here, and for the money, I believe we could have found something better. My main complaint was the odor of the room. The property is very close to the beach and all the moisture seems to give the room a musty smell. Maybe a tile floor would be better given the number of people traipsing in from the beach onto the carpet. Anther issue I had was with the balcony. We paid extra for a balcony with the a beach view. You can see the beach, but the not when you sit. When you sit on the balcony the railing blocks your view of the ocean. So you can stand and have a nice view of the ocean, but it would be nice to sit comfortably and view the ocean. Finally, the heated pool was not very warm and my poor husband had to freeze taking the little one into the pool in the evening. The second night we were there the pool was a little warmer so I'm not sure if the first night was a fluke or not. On the positive it is very close to the beach (a short walk) and the free breakfast was standard, but nice. I just couldn't get past the smell of the room and the awkward balcony. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opa3425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear winrit,

Thanks for your kind words about our proximity to the beach, and compliments about our hot breakfast.I am saddened, however, to learn that we did not live up to your expectations for your stay. Being in Florida, we work hard to maintain our rooms to the highest order, I apologize for our dropping the ball. As to the balcony railing, the height of the railing is set by the Florida building code. To place anything other than regular chairs on the balcony (i.e. stools, etc) would present a safety hazard. I hope you will visit us on your next trip to our area.
Regards,

Tom Williamson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    352
    132
    43
    9
See reviews for
363
263
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our breakfast gal, Ruth, was so friendly and helpful! This is the 4th time we have stayed at this Hampton during Spring Break and we hopefully will return next year. It's so close to the beach and yet has a fairly nice pool. There weren't enough lounge chairs as it was really crowded at this time of the year. The breakfast area was very nice and kept clean....great job RUTH!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed one night on business though would come back for leisure as well. Check in was a breeze, and the front desk clerk was cheerful, greeted me by name, and acknowledged my Platinum status. The room was spacious, with a balcony though it was during a "cold snap" for Florida so I wasn't able to enjoy it. Because it was so cold, no need to use the window unit A/Cs, so don't know if they were noisy or not. I was on an upper floor so could see the ocean easily. Breakfast was OK, though for some reason neither waffle iron was working. Seemed to cater to lots of large groups including teens, so waiting for elevators was an issue. One touch that seemed strange to me was the post-it notes on the headboards announcing the sheets and duvet cover had been cleaned. Perhaps it was supposed to be a "home-y" touch? All in all, seems to be very good value for money, and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were lucky to get a room in Cocoa Beach during Easter, especially since I booked it the day before arriving. We decided to add another day to our vacation and everything else was full. Very fast check in and friendly staff. Short walk to the beach, nice pool. Our "ocean view" room could be seen if you looked sideways out the window. We did have a small balcony with 2 plastic chairs and a little table. You could see the beach from one end of the balcony, but not the other side. For a last minute room, I can't really complain. Very friendly staff, clean room, free wifii, frig, microwave and coffee set-up. Great breakfast and the staff kept it, supplied, no small fete with a full hotel! The hotel suited our purpose for one night.

Room Tip: If you book in advance request a full ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

After reading prior reviews, we asked our travel agent to book this hotel for us the night before our cruise. We reserved two rooms (non-smoking) since we have young, teenaged children but requested our rooms either connect or be side-by-side. Our travel agent reassured us that the hotel agreed to this arrangement. I followed up with a phone call myself and was told we had side-by-side rooms.

On the day of our trip, our flight was delayed due to a snowstorm. I called the hotel twice to update them as to our projected arrival time and again confirmed that our side-by-side rooms would be waiting for us.

When we arrived around 0130 after a long day of traveling and stress, the front desk clerk informed us the hotel was completely booked and that "maintenance issues" prevented them from providing us the side-by-side rooms we requested. We weren't even given rooms on the same floor as our children! When we checked each of the rooms, the second one overwhelmed us with the smell of smoke as soon as we opened the door to the point that we didn't even enter the room. We closed the door and went back to the first room and stayed there together for the night.

These rooms are accessible only from the outside which we didn't realize when we researched the hotel (our fault). The room was small, the carpet needed replacing (we all wore socks in the room) and overall, the room needed updating.

We are giving this hotel 2 stars rather than 1 star because the beds were reasonably comfortable, the breakfast was good, the morning front desk staff was apologetic and we did receive a refund on the room we didn't occupy. We think it would've been even nicer of them to comp us the room we did occupy. They also had a shuttle service to Port Canaveral which was convenient.

Given the number of options available, we will not be staying at this hotel again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opa3425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear COtravelgal,

I apologize for dropping the ball and not having the rooms you requested upon your arrival. We should have set your rooms aside and designated them for your party, regardless of the fact that we were completely sold out. We treat guest room requests with the utmost respect, and work hard to fulfill them. In your case we obviously dropped the ball. Thanks so much for your kind words about our comfortable beds and hot buffet breakfast.

Sincerely,

Tom Williamson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here the night before a cruise. Check in was quick, staff helpful in picking a restaurant for dinner. Hotel was comfortable, clean and the decor was fine. It was an older property but was in good repairi. The breakfast was nice and the ladies working the breakfast were the best. They were very nice, kept things well stocked and were continuing cleaning the area.

Room had a nice little balcony with an ocean view. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Easy, fast check-in. Great location near Publix, restaurants, rental shops, etc. Floors 4+ have beach views.

Breakfast staff was the best I've come in contact with in the Hilton family hotels. Very personable and went above their required responsibilities to ensure guests were happy.

The second day of our stay, the door lock malfunctioned. The first time, they replaced batteries. The second time, the entire mechanism got swapped for a new one and they comped us 4 free drinks at the bar next door for our inconvenience.

Peaceful and relaxing, even with the hoards of middle schoolers swarming the facilities. Any hotel that pulls that off is fine by me!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral

Address: 3425 North Atlantic Avenue, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral provides an environment that's both relaxing and peaceful. Most rooms offer breathtaking views from their private balcony and a hot breakfast is on the house every morning!Your room is equipped with a refrigerator and microwave, coffee maker, iron, free high speed internet, and the new 'Hilton Cloud Nine' bed line. Nestled in the heart of Cocoa Beach, Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral is a convenient beachside hotel with easy access to Port Canaveral cruises, local restaurants, shopping, and local attractions such as Ron Jon's Surf Shop, Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex, and the Brevard Zoo. Hampton Inn is the first in Florida to be Green Lodging Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Cocoa Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.