We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3425 North Atlantic Avenue, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Military; Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Cocoa Beach
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

After reading prior reviews, we asked our travel agent to book this hotel for us the night before our cruise. We reserved two rooms (non-smoking) since we have young, teenaged children but requested our rooms either connect or be side-by-side. Our travel agent reassured us that the hotel agreed to this arrangement. I followed up with a phone call myself and was told we had side-by-side rooms.

On the day of our trip, our flight was delayed due to a snowstorm. I called the hotel twice to update them as to our projected arrival time and again confirmed that our side-by-side rooms would be waiting for us.

When we arrived around 0130 after a long day of traveling and stress, the front desk clerk informed us the hotel was completely booked and that "maintenance issues" prevented them from providing us the side-by-side rooms we requested. We weren't even given rooms on the same floor as our children! When we checked each of the rooms, the second one overwhelmed us with the smell of smoke as soon as we opened the door to the point that we didn't even enter the room. We closed the door and went back to the first room and stayed there together for the night.

These rooms are accessible only from the outside which we didn't realize when we researched the hotel (our fault). The room was small, the carpet needed replacing (we all wore socks in the room) and overall, the room needed updating.

We are giving this hotel 2 stars rather than 1 star because the beds were reasonably comfortable, the breakfast was good, the morning front desk staff was apologetic and we did receive a refund on the room we didn't occupy. We think it would've been even nicer of them to comp us the room we did occupy. They also had a shuttle service to Port Canaveral which was convenient.

Given the number of options available, we will not be staying at this hotel again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opa3425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear COtravelgal,

I apologize for dropping the ball and not having the rooms you requested upon your arrival. We should have set your rooms aside and designated them for your party, regardless of the fact that we were completely sold out. We treat guest room requests with the utmost respect, and work hard to fulfill them. In your case we obviously dropped the ball. Thanks so much for your kind words about our comfortable beds and hot buffet breakfast.

Sincerely,

Tom Williamson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    320
    117
    42
    10
See reviews for
325
225
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here the night before a cruise. Check in was quick, staff helpful in picking a restaurant for dinner. Hotel was comfortable, clean and the decor was fine. It was an older property but was in good repairi. The breakfast was nice and the ladies working the breakfast were the best. They were very nice, kept things well stocked and were continuing cleaning the area.

Room had a nice little balcony with an ocean view. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Easy, fast check-in. Great location near Publix, restaurants, rental shops, etc. Floors 4+ have beach views.

Breakfast staff was the best I've come in contact with in the Hilton family hotels. Very personable and went above their required responsibilities to ensure guests were happy.

The second day of our stay, the door lock malfunctioned. The first time, they replaced batteries. The second time, the entire mechanism got swapped for a new one and they comped us 4 free drinks at the bar next door for our inconvenience.

Peaceful and relaxing, even with the hoards of middle schoolers swarming the facilities. Any hotel that pulls that off is fine by me!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We originally had a problem with our room reservation but it was quickly fixed by Jaime Teijeiro and we even were able to be upgraded! When we arrived we were met by Tina, she was extremely nice and very helpful !!! We were there for a college softball tournament and she saved us cookies everyday! She also gave great suggestions for restaurants and made sure we were some fun places for St. Patricks Day!! She went out of her way to make sure our stay was great! Ruth, the breakfast lady, was also very friendly and nice. She gave us some great ideas an were we could spend some of our free time. We had a great stay-Thanks!

Room Tip: The higher rooms have partial ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

While staying at The Hampton Inn at Cocoa Beach, I had the opportunity to meet Ruth at the breakfast service on Monday March 25 th. She was one of the gals that was busy ensuring that the breakfast bar was stocked, clean, and that all guests were feeling welcomed. Too often, we only focus on the negative aspects, and fail to recognize the positives. Ruth was one of the most pleasant and truly positive individuals that I had run into in a long time. She not only greeted us, but was making sure each guest got a smile and a hello. In the service industry, it is becoming way too common that employees just go thru the motions and usually arent too friendly. Ruth was the rare exception, so much that I had to stop her and tell her so. Thank you Ruth for starting my day right and for going way above and beyond !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at this Hampton Inn for Spring Training for college softball. Spent 5 nights there. Service was great. Staff very helpful. Tina from the front desk was very helpful with things to do and resturants to try. I was there for St Patricks Day and she suggested a local bar "Paddy's" and had a GREAT time with their live music. Bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was good. Great beach access. It is about 1 1/2 miles from there to the Pier. So it was a nice 3 mile walk each day. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a GREAT time in Florida! Staying at the Hampton Inn was a wonderful way to start our day. Marg was helpful in our room decision and I appreciated her. EVERY hotel should have a front desk person like Artur. He was so pleasant and helpful. We would go down for breakfast in the morning and there we met Ruth. She was busy, busy but took the time to welcome us and got us charged for the day. Breakfast at the hotel was delightful. A very short walk to the beach was also a plus. Let it be known that the "crazy ladies" from Iowa had a FUN time and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral

Address: 3425 North Atlantic Avenue, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral provides an environment that's both relaxing and peaceful. Most rooms offer breathtaking views from their private balcony and a hot breakfast is on the house every morning!Your room is equipped with a refrigerator and microwave, coffee maker, iron, free high speed internet, and the new 'Hilton Cloud Nine' bed line. Nestled in the heart of Cocoa Beach, Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral is a convenient beachside hotel with easy access to Port Canaveral cruises, local restaurants, shopping, and local attractions such as Ron Jon's Surf Shop, Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex, and the Brevard Zoo. Hampton Inn is the first in Florida to be Green Lodging Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Cocoa Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.