We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added South Beach Inn to your Saves list
South Beach Inn
1701 South Atlantic Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Wisconsin Rapids
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ditto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My review is EXACTLY what bearsma has already stated. We stayed a total of four days. Every morning we woke before sunrise, made coffee and sat in the Adirondack Chairs to watch the beautiful sunrise. I will also add that Jazzys Mainely Lobster is a MUST for the best seafood in Cocoa Beach. We WILL return.

Room Tip: Room 8 on the first floor for a one bedroom. Room 9 for two bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    27
    5
    6
    12
See reviews for
38
36
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This inn is cute and charming. Was not bothered by the age of the place,it was maintained well. Stayed in ground floor room and was surprised at how much room we had. Place was very adequate for our needs, with all appliances there. Was able to cook and eat most meals at our room, saved a lot of money. Only bad thing I can say about the room was the mattress, it needed to be replaced. My husband and I both ended up in the sagging middle every night, and had to crawl out of it every morning. Innkeepers on site and very helpful and kind.Courtyard beautiful and we were just steps to the ocean. Super storm Sandy had just moved through Cocoa Beach when we got there, but you would never tell as the property was well groomed and cared for. Used the washer and drier, both costing $1.50 each, but so convenient to not have to find a laundromat. Beautiful stretch of beach, water is more for surfers as it was rough and mostly just surfing going on. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again and recommend to anyone if you want no frills, but clean and convenient with kind and helpful staff. Also, place is self serve, you exchange your towels at the office and get you supplies there also. You keep your own room clean and make your own bed-but that was no problem as the value of the room was more important! I would say stay there for a low key, inexpensive vacation.

Room Tip: Any room had a good view. No elevator, so any mobility issues, get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

it was with a heavy heart that I departed from this charming, clean, well cared for establishment! I moved from New York, as a child,to Miami, and THIS is what Miami looked like in the mid 50's. Totally retro!
The staff were VERY helpful and did not hesitate to cater to our any need. They are as charming as this diamond that sits on Cocoa Beach!
We WILL be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

the inn is cute from the outside but the rooms, furniture old. appliances old. still use keys to get in rooms. bedspreads old. found hair and blood in mattress pad. shower had some mold in it. we did not stay. we askes for our money back and left. smoke smell in room. if u dont care about these things then u will love the location. the staff was nice about it and i think the will remedy the situation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Port Hatchineha
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

1950's time capsule of Cocoa Beach. Friendly staff and guests on a very quiet stretch of beach away from the touristy craze. Large rooms and nice courtyard are perfect for dog-owners who want their furry family members to enjoy the stay also. There is no pool, but the ocean is directly accessible through a pathway. Parking is pretty easy, but I would suggest that anyone with mobility issues request a bottom floor unit. Our check-in process was fast, efficient and friendly - complete with post cards and receipts.

The 1 bedroom efficiency was clean and had everything needed for a long weekend or extended stay (table and chairs, large fridge, microwave, stove, sink and dish rack). The decor is quirky - what I lovingly refer to as thrift store vintage but it worked and is very charming. The age of the property is apparent but well cared for. The bed was super comfortable, the pull out couch not so much. We were on bottom floor, and the noise of guests upstairs was apparent but tolerable.

Everyone we met was very friendly, we even shared the tent and chairs that we brought with two ladies for an afternoon. The deck was very cute - though we didn't use it - with a lot of places to sit and relax and enjoy the oceanfront view. We used the grills despite rain one evening and found everything in order. Both charcoal and gas grills are available (bring your own charcoal) and are situated next to a little pavilion with plenty of seating. There is a beverage vending machine available as well as washers and dryers (I didn't note the cost of them). As a non-smoker occasionally the smoke seemed to permeate the area but it wasn't constant. It was softly lit at night, but well enough to see nicely while walking my dog.

Overall, the cost of staying at this little gem is absolutely worth every penny. The most inexpensive oceanfront I've stayed at in Florida, not a luxury hotel but very clean with all the necessities.

Room Tip: Expect a little noise from neighbors upstairs if you have a ground level room (chairs scraping, micr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I just wanted to stay a night or maybe two but it's such an amazing, quiet, friendly and wonderful place that I couldn't leave so I stayed for a couple more days.
Just one word: perfect!!!
Thank you for a marvelous stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

...Old-Florida charm and direct access to a quiet stretch of beach, a friendly staff are important. If you are a dog-owner, and a smoker, there is no other place to stay. (If you don't like other people's dogs, or if you are intolerant of cigarette smoking, or want an anonymous shiny-cookie-cutter hotel, look elsewhere. There is no pool, but with direct beach access, you wouldn't use it anyway.)

My family and I stayed for one night in August, and enjoyed a two-bedroom efficiency. There was some smoke smell when we first got to the room, but opening the windows to air it out helped greatly. The decor is rather quirky/vintage, and there are a few spots where the property shows its age (built, I'd guess, in the mid 1950's). We had great interaction with other guests in the courtyard area, and absolutely loved being mere steps from the beach. Even the observation deck was a nice place to relax. The value for dollar was really very good: nowhere else can you stay this close to the ocean for this little money. It is a quirky little place, and it is a bit past its prime, but it is a neat little treasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 33 in Cocoa Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anthony's On The Beach
Anthony's On The Beach
#17 of 33 in Cocoa Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
3.1 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
4.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Inn

Address: 1701 South Atlantic Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Beach Inn is pet and child friendly ocean front inn located in Cocoa Beach, Florida. It is a perfect vacation rental in Cocoa Beach, and is closely located to Kennedy Space Center and Walt Disney World. The Inn offers efficiency style units-wonderful for families and those who would like to relax and enjoy a peaceful and open ocean front space.Enjoy cooking out on our ocean front gazebo, or relaxing on our open air deck.Surf, shell, photography, and nature are just outside your door. Along with your children and dogs! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your South Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
South Beach Cocoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.