We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loyal Vacationer here, but never fabulous” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Landings Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean Landings Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Landings Resort
900 North Atlantic Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loyal Vacationer here, but never fabulous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Okay, we are timeshare owners here and go at least 4 times a year in the summer months. It is old but has been remodeled and updated, by far it is not a 4 star accommodation, at most a 3 star. With that being said we enjoy it as it is usually pretty clean, never perfect and there are the occasional Florida roaches. This last stay our biggest complaint would be that the grills need replaced or actually repaired they are all Weber gas grills and get a tremendous amount of use. We never did find a grill that fully lit. The plus side is the beautiful new gym facilities. I was disappointed to read the review regarding theft since many years back that was a common concern discussed at the pools and beach. We have never had anything stolen personally in over 10 years, but then we don't have housekeeping in our rooms unless we are there. Another issue we dislike is that the housekeeping staff smoke around the rooms and halls and the odor lingers. Housekeeping also complain and yap about the work load freely in front of guests, heck one gal bellowed over the balcony "I am hungover and can barely do my work today!" Really? Do I care ? Oh maybe that is why it is never truly clean to our expectations. The maintenance staff are generally professional and very helpful. There have been a lot of changes recently to attract higher end timeshare folks, however I am doubtful that will ever work out due to the lack of the housekeeping staff to truly keep the place clean. In the A building the hallway carpet is gross and if there are crumbs the housekeepers step over them and tell you someone is to be cleaning it. Really? Just pick it up you see it and take ownership to keep the place clean. As for the better parts...front office staff are professional, Victoria is always helpful, the gym is nice, pools are clean, beach area is wonderful and we use it our entire stay, we walk, run and fish there, actually this year was one of the better fishing years for black drum, red drum and fat whiting. There is free internet, spotty but free and each room has a DVD player. There are many activities, shuffle board, horse shoes, volleyball and even board games you can get at the activities center. Also bikes are cheap to rent at $2/hr. Overall it meets our needs for a vacation close to home (2.5 hrs away) and a fabulous beach, but we go planning to be at a 3 star hotel and expect no more. As for the person that commented on the carpet...they do clean them frequently we see the carpet guy there every time we are there. Overall the facility is responsive to any complaints and have even cleaned our furniture on our arrival due to our complaining in the past. As for a timeshare the so called Board is creating more and more rules and dissatifiers for the owners and not communicating these changes timely.. It is frustrating to call for reservations and the person always saying "the Board changed it or the Board said so!" One final tip, save your money and don't rent from there call A1A Fun rentals and they will deliver whatever you need from coolers, chairs, kayaks, umbrellas you name it and the price is really reasonable, you can get it for a day or a week! Happy Day!

Room Tip: Building C or D are beach front but get the 3rd floor or higher to see, also these buildings have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLRmanagement, Manager at Ocean Landings Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear fishnflwaters,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our resort. We are truly grateful and honored that you are a loyal timeshare owner of ours and that you choose to return time and time again. It is truly delightful to read that you have enjoyed our recent remodeling and efforts to improve the property. We also appreciate the feedback in regards to the amenities and staff, Victoria is an exceptional employee and we are glad that you also think so and have found the front desk to be professional. Your feedback in regards to housekeeping will be addressed and used further in staff training. Hopefully, the next time you are here, you will notice a major improvement. Looking forward to your next visit here! Many thanks for your repeat business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    71
    50
    29
    26
See reviews for
86
70
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed on right on the beach 3rd floor. Perfect view of beach. This trip was my GF, my 20 yr daughter who was home from school, our friends and their daughters. The resort is rather old like 1960's old. lol and the decor was updated to the 80's. Shaggy carpet floral print couches and brown leather bar stools. BUT for the price and beach view it was ok. I was worried about the beach being overcrowded during the 4th ofJuly week but it really wasn't. We had a group of 7. The beach was always clean and spacious we had a huge tent set up everyday with our chairs, coolers, and radio. Perfect time. We didn't really spend that much time in any other part of the resort. We did rent bikes one morning for $1 per hour, we rode all the way to the boardwalk. The gym has an eliptical, a stepper and 2 treadmills, Not much at all. The room had a nice size kitchen to prepare a wraps and sandwiches for midday snacking. As soon as we arrived we hit Walmart for everything on our prepared list. Breakfast, lunch and dinner. We did eat out 1 night for the 4th at a nice Brazilian style steakhouse with a live musician. VERY NICE. We also went to the Park down the street one afternoon to BBQ. There was a BBQ area at the resort but it was out in the open right by the parking lot and right next to the pool. It was always packed. The resort had a laundry room right down stairs which we did use twice. Came in very handy with the beach towels and swim suits. There were tennis and basketball courts. Everyone was really nice. They also had programs for the kids every evening. Since we were there for the 4th there were plenty of fireworks to see right on the beach. Great vacation.. The only bad thing was with our Tent frame. I was very reluctant to leave the tent frame out all night but I noticed everyone was doing it so on the 2nd night I did the same, BUT on the 6th night some punks came thru and destroyed everybody's tent frame. So as you look down the beach there were about 20 mangled frames the next morning. needless to say everyone was upset. We had back up umbrella's though. The resort also has umbrellas and chairs to rent daily. Overall very good vacation, pay the extra for the ocean view room. Its worth it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Ocean view and 3rd floor or higher because there is a high grassy knoll right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLRmanagement, Manager at Ocean Landings Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear QuincyB,
Thank you for your recent review of our resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your 4th of July vacation with us. We are also happy to hear that you took advantage of many amenities that we have to offer during your stay. I apologize that your tent was vandalized on the beach, unfortunately the beach is open to the public and that is out of our control, therefore, it is not recommended to leave items on the beach overnight. However, I am glad that you found our beach rental service to be helpful given the circumstances. We certainly hope that you will stay with us again when choosing a vacation destination in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our vacation was free so we can't complain too much, however, traveling with an infant, I would have liked to seen cleaner carpet. If we walked around the room without shoes, our feet were BLACK. The carpet has never been CLEANED if you ask me. There was a restaurant-style sweeper in the closet that we used to clean up crumbs. I always made sure there was a huge blanket on the floor so our 7 month old wasn't laying on the dirty carpet.

We had roaches in our hotel; kept it to show off at the end of our vacation - RIDICULOUS.

Everything else seemed to suite us. It was a decent vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLRmanagement, Manager at Ocean Landings Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Tonya,
We apologize that your stay was only average. We strive to make each guest's stay with us as enjoyable and memorable as possible. We check each room thoroughly on a continuous basis to ensure there are no housekeeping issues and certainly no pest control issues. Please contact the resort so that we can have the issues that you have mentioned addressed immediately. We hope you will allow us another opportunity and return in the near future! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in the older building that was converted to a suite with 2 full baths and 2 queen beds had a kitchenette no stove only a microwave and toaster, can opener, coffee make,dorm size frig. the room had no hair dryer or iron & board, NO SAFE. Therefore when we were at the pool someone had a key and got in our room and took only took cash that could not be traced $350.00 as far as we could figure. We had called the front desk about the robbery and they changed the locks (which is like closing the barn door after the horses are out. They have no cameras around the halls and rooms. The general manager was very rude to my fiancee and practically called him liar. We filled a police report. But there was no forced entry so we think it is an employee. The room also had roaches and we took them to the front desk when we checked out. We were very disgusted with this resort and the robbery,and felt the mgr,employees should be looked at on this matter. WE WILL NOT RETURN TO THIS RESORT....

Room Tip: Find another location to go to
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, OH
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

You can't stay this close to the beach (walk-out) anywhere else on Cocoa Beach. We stayed in a one bedroom, 2 bathroom in the "C" building last July and had a blast! Having a condo was more convenient than a hotel rental. There was plenty of room to stretch out, watch the ocean from the balcony (or TV inside) and just relax. It was nice to have a kitchen and not have to worry about eating out for every meal. The pool area is clean and spacious. There is plenty of private secure parking and some shops were within walking distance, I would definitely stay here again. Be sure to check the list of weekly events. There are lots of things to do.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front with a balcony. Don't stay on the bottom floor as your ocean view is bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLRmanagement, Manager at Ocean Landings Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear zlkaren,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you were more than satisfied with our location in proximity to the ocean. We are also glad to hear that you were able to stay in one of our oceanfront villas. As you mentioned, they are very spacious and include a full kitchen which may provide for great savings during your stay as we all know eating out everyday/night can be very expensive. Thank you for mentioning the pool area along with our onsite activities program! We are glad that you found plenty of things to do on on your vacation and that you found our property to be clean and full of amenities to be desired by all. Hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I have been coming to Ocean Landings with our timeshare for alomst as long as I have been alive. I think that this is a p;ace in which many feel is not the most glamourous resort, sure, however they have done a beautiful job redecorating the units and many that come to stay just come for a week to try it out. We know mnay people and look forward to seeing them year after year. Cocoa Beach is a laid back vacation spot where you can wear flip flops wherever you go and the only dressier item you need in your suitcase is a nice pair of khaki shorts. I think Ocean Landings is a great place for friendly workers, and like I said before the units have been re-modeled and look fabulous!!!

Room Tip: I think if your choose Ocean Landings the only place to stay is the buildings on the beach. I do th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLRmanagement, Manager at Ocean Landings Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear HJ198,
We are pleased to hear that you are an owner of ours and have had the opportunity to enjoy Ocean Landings for many years. As you have mentioned, we have several original owner's like yourself that choose to continue to vacation here year after year and look forward to it. We look forward to seeing each and everyone of you as well! We are glad to hear that you are happy with our recent renovations of our rooms. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I have been comming to Ocean Landings resort for the past few years and out of all hotels and motels and resort i have stayed out This Ocean Landings resort is Above of a 10 First at foremost its on the Beautiful Beach The staff at this resort is incredible to each and every guest that walks in there doors ,If there is something you need they do it to get done to Make you stay pleasurabke , Also the accomadation are top notch clean update and comfortable , where can you on the beach and stay and enjoy yourself wothout a care , This is my opinion of Ocean Landings I love the new look of the new resort and the main lobby upgrades included the gym and the new gift shop all the amenties any family young or old can desire .Single guests also can enjoy this wonderful resort.... The Houskeeping staff and maintance staff are also t be commended with the efforts they do all day and all through the night . There always there if there were something that you needed .

Room Tip: Any room that you choose will be the best Ocean front is the sccenic view of the Ocean ,and the sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLRmanagement, Manager at Ocean Landings Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your vacation here at Ocean Landings. We are extremely proud of our new renovations and the recent changes that we have made here on our property. We take pride in providing you with an exceptional vacation experience and we are glad that you have found our property to be a clean, safe, and most importantly a family friendly place to vacation. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Landings Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Landings Resort

Address: 900 North Atlantic Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Landings Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Landings Hotel Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Landings Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.