We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Great Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Baker's Lobster Shanty

Jack Baker's Lobster Shanty
2200 S Orlando Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-2258
3217831350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 139 Restaurants in Cocoa Beach
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good and Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We really like the Lobster Shanty. Had the shrimp linguini, shanty, and sirloin on the early bird and all was good. Great mashed potatoes. Great service and the views of the inlet were awesome. They also have a large koi pond in the front that the kids can feed fish in.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    145
    83
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PORTSMOUTH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Get Rid of Us?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visit this fine restaurant every year I visit Cocoa Beach. Great food, incredible views. This last time, however, it seemed the very brusque server was anxious to free up the table for potential others. My guest and I had barely begun our pre-meal cocktail when the coleslaw etc. was served and immediately after that came the soup and without time to even finish the soup on came the entree. Though my guest, an old college/fraternity friend, and I meet up there every year, this year we did not enjoy our dinner...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had the crab stuffed flounder, it was horrible. It was like they melted a stick of butter over it. Our server was not friendly and did not even ask me why I did not eat any of my fish. Menu items are way overpriced unless you get the early bird items. This resturaunt has gone down hill over the years, I don't know of any locals who still eat there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Hill, Mo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Wonderful birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This restaurant has wonderful water views. You can eat inside or outside weather permitting. Food was wonderful and very reasonably priced. With our great steak dinner, for under 25 dollars, we received clam chowder, fritters and bread sticks, steak with crispy onion rings, baked potato with sour cream and butter, slaw, coffee - and even a surprise birthday cake for my husband for his 75th birthday. The food was wonderful, our server was perfect. The view of the sunset was unsurpassed. Can't wait to return to Cocoa Beach and dine at Jack Baker's once again. Thank you

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice date night restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Saturday night...time for a date. Nice restaurant, clean, friendly service, nice comfy booths to sit in with view of river.
Service good, food good, cannot complain about any of it. Prices decent for Cocoa Beach area and plenty of food.

The Amaretto Creme Brulee is to die for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Baker's Lobster Shanty also viewed

 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to Jack Baker's Lobster Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Baker's Lobster Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.