We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fawlty Towers Resort Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fawlty Towers Resort Motel to your Saves list
Fawlty Towers Resort Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   100 E. Cocoa Beach Causeway, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Orange City, Florida
1 review
“Great Place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed there several times since they have opened as a clothing optional resort,
everyone was friendly and helpful, the Tiki Hut Bar was cozy, nice atmosphere!, music
playing, as well as food goes, there are several great restaurants nearby, 1 great
local restaurant that delivers to the hotel is called the Sandbar, I ordered from them
and the food was delivered with 45 minutes, food was excellant. the room was clean
and bed is comfortable. having a firdge and a microwave was convenient,

I will certainly go back, as a matter of fact I will be staying there this weekend (12/15)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    46
    15
    20
    23
See reviews for
33
70
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I am currently having the time of my life, arrived at the beginning of November, the rooms are very clean and the biggest bed I have ever slept in, the staff couldn't be more friendly, I have met people from all walks of life, you don't need to drive anywhere as the beach is 2-3 min walk away, restaurants are everywhere, everything is on your doorstep. The transport system is great, central bus hub is right outside the door for North, East, South & West, what more can you ask for.

I was skeptical at first as this is the only time I have been to a naturist resort, but once here, I have let all my Inhibitions go out the window. overall I would thoroughly recommend Fawlty Towers Motel to all my friends and family and will certainly come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were in the area, staying at a different hotel, and we visited Fawlty Towers for a day-visit. The charge was $30 for the two of us. The pool is small ~ about the size of an average back-yard pool. They do have lots of chairs around the pool, but in the afternoon, there was just one small area that received sun. The water was a pleasant temperature for November.

There is a Tiki Bar there that looks like a fun place to gather, but there were not many guests staying at the hotel, and the bar was not operating.

I asked to see two rooms, and was graciously shown a ground floor room with a kitchenette area inside of it. It was not attractive to me because of the musty smell and the location in the hotel. Apparently, none of the rooms with kitchenettes have access to the parking lot; you must go out past the pool and through the lobby. I heard from a former guest that the rooms on the second floor have a moldy, musty smell because of the old carpeting. The ground floor rooms have tile floors.

On the other side of the pool are the rooms with king-sized beds. I was shown one on the ground floor, and it was more to my liking. Entrance into the room from the pool area and from the parking area outside of the room. However, it was way overpriced, in my opinion. The rate was $109. per night and $119. for Friday and Saturday nights. This hotel is not worth that rate, regardless of the fact that it is the only clothing optional hotel in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston,sc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After seeing the Fawlty Towers ads in the "Bulletin" and speaking with others, we thought we would try the hotel for ourselves. We were taking a cruise out of Port Canaveral and since the hotel offers to let you keep your car at the hotel while you cruise, we decided to stay for a night. The hotel did ask us to leave them our car key in case they had to move the vehicle.

The hotel rooms need much work! Plastic covered mattress- crinkly/noisy to sleep on. Bed spreads don't look like they've been laundered in a while. No shampoo in bathroom. VCR is a nice touch - but who has VCR tapes anymore?? The staff and owner (Paul) all have the same training - NONE. Service lacks in all areas. But the biggest complaint, is upon returning from the cruise, I went to the front desk to retrieve our car key. Paul- the OWNER- had no idea of where the keys are kept and couldn't get in touch with any of his staff. After an hour, Paul did get in touch with a night security man, who then called a staff person and found out the keys "are in a brown envelope by the phone" WHAT! Security??? They did finally find the keys in a plain white envelope more than an hour later. Unbelievable. If they promote this service, you would think there is a plan in place to secure keys.

On a positive note, I think the pool area would be OK for day visits. But we will not be back nor recommend Fawlty Towers.

Room Tip: go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I love the idea of clothing optional but the rooms are in need of updating, the windows in the bathroom don't lock and the parking lot is not easy to use. On the plus side, the pool is nice [get there early for the best sun access], the day front desk people are great and it is clothing optional! Not sure if I would have stayed there if I had know all of the above. The noise from the DJ was just about enough to make me leave in the middle of the night! The pool bar has piped in music you can't get away from until they turn it off. With so many other places I doubt I would book here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at FTR for three nights. Arrived on a Saturday to find that the rate quoted earlier over the phone was not accurate. Check-in was pleasant but did not include any information on where to find ice, when the bar was open, or anything about rules, restrictions, pool hours, where to find towels, (no info at all). You pay in full for when you check in. We paid $129 for weekend, and $89 for weekday for an upstairs room with two double beds. The location of FTR is great with many good places to eat nearby. The nearby Sandbar Sports Grill is good and gives a 10% discount to FTR guests. The beach is only a two block walk from the resort. The resort is well secured with coded access. Parking is limited and not secured but plenty of free parking is available next door and security is probably not needed since both areas are well lit. All guests have to provide a driver license that is copied during check-in. Each guest is required to fill out and sign several questions relative the theme and behavior rules. These questions were likely mandated by law enforcement or local ordinance. One question makes it clear that both on and off duty law enforcement officers are not welcome at FTR. It seems obvious that the local authorities are not encouraging innovations like this that might keep a business from being shuttered permanently in a tough economy. We observed no illegal or questionable activities while we were there and the resort operates in adherence to the restrictions stated in the questions. Guests ages varied from 20’s to 70’s with 50ish being the average age.

Resort amenities: The exterior of the resort is beautiful and well kept. The pool is nice, clean, and is heated at times. No hot tub at the resort. There is a Tiki bar that has varying hours and serves beer, wine, and a few drink selections. The bar is staffed by the owner and hours are not posted but appear to be based on demand, day of the week, and resort occupancy. The lounges at the pool are comfortable and can accommodate a full house. The furnishing in the Tiki bar are nice. The layout inside the resort is two levels of rooms on two sides of the pool, bar on the third side, and the office on the fourth side creating a nice garden area surrounding the pool. The garden is lush with mature palm trees and other vegetation. The paver stone walkways could use a good pressure washing but add a nice appearance. The sound system and music selection was absolutely terrific. Not too loud and the music selections appealed to the baby boomer age group.


Room: We arrived on Saturday afternoon when the resort appeared to be at or near capacity. Therefore, I suspect that we got the worst room in the place. The rooms on the first floor appeared to have kitchens and were more modern and updated. There are some restrictions posted with respect to clothing on the upper level on one side but those were not enforced. Our room had two double beds and a 19 inch tube TV which was adequate. The bathroom was small but appeared clean and was adequate. The carpet was disgusting! The bed had a plastic mattress pad that was noisy, hot, and disgustingly dirty. The sheets were stained and didn’t appear to be clean. The A/C unit worked well. The small deck had garbage on it from previous guests when we arrived. Our room was not cleaned the first day and we had to ask for new towels and soap the next day. Got them easily at the front desk - no problem. The second day our room was “cleaned”. We got new towels, but no soap or new cups, and the grubby bedding remained. The garbage was still left on the deck as it was when we arrived. The smoke detector in our room was disabled and there was no egress possible from the deck side (likely due to secured nature of the resort). This needs to be fixed and is a probably a violation of local ordinance in addition to being unsafe.


Things that you should consider before booking and things this guest thinks should change: Single men are allowed both overnight and on days passes based on observation. This practice should end right away. Most all were creepy people leering at the other guests most of the time. There are some nice cloth covered chairs in the bar and many nude guests were sitting on them with no towels under them and the same applied to the chairs poolside (bring some Lysol). Yuck. The check-in process should go through some basic rules not implied in the questions and the resort should provide towels and make sure they are used. Since the owner had his hands full running the bar there was nobody available to enforce good hygiene practices. This resort should be couples only. It isn’t. The single males are probably being allowed since it appears that income is needed in order to improve cleanliness, customer service, and updating the remaining rooms. I suggest an alternate approach since this aspect is a deal breaker for many couples. The big sign out front says “Naturist Only”. This statement seems to exclude people when an expanded customer base is needed in order to make this innovative business model work in a depressed economy. It seems like a sign that said something like “Adult Couples Only” would exclude the creepy single males and attract open minded couples instead. The front desk could then explain the concept and those couples could either accept or decline since it is c/o. It seems that this is a better way to expand the clientele while eliminating the creeps. Cleanliness of the rooms is a problem. Cleanliness practices in the bar and everywhere else is also a problem. The last night there I heard a noise outside our room in a palm tree. I had heard that in previous nights too. I looked closely and saw a nice little rat staring at me. There are open dumpsters at the entrance to the public beach and restaurants nearby so this may not be the result of poor cleanliness at FTR but it sure is something that should be rectified immediately.

This resort has great potential but needs to get some things figured out with respect to who their customer base is going to be. We would try it again next year but only for one night to see if the problems and kinks got worked out. This visitor is hoping for success. My advice is to proceed with caution and visit mid-week when the local crowds are not there. Bring an open mind and a can of Lysol.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Fun resort for weekend getaway! Very nice pool area in tropical setting, tiki bar is a cool place to hangout and have a few beers and nice size room with a mini fridge, Thanks to all, we will be back. Michael & Lil

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fawlty Towers Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers Resort Motel

Address: 100 E. Cocoa Beach Causeway, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fawlty Towers Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 32-room, two-story property boasts a character all its own. It encloses a lush tropical garden surrounding the pool with its authentic "Tiki Bar". The pool is available year-round (a little warmer in the summer) and the beers are always cold. Relaxing balconies offer partial ocean views or poolside retreats. A tranquil oasis in a resort setting at truly affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fawlty Towers Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Cocoa Beach
Fawlty Hotel Cocoa Beach
Fawlty Motel Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fawlty Towers Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.