We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Space Coast Fun In The Sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fawlty Towers Resort Motel

Save Saved
You added Fawlty Towers Resort Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fawlty Towers Resort Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   100 E. Cocoa Beach Causeway, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Cocoa Beach
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Space Coast Fun In The Sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

For a great get away, try Fawlty Towers. The place is quite and relaxing. The tiki bar stays open late and the staff are friendly and accomodating. The ambience of swaying palms and continous music playing (quitely) throughout the property creates a relaxing and fun atmosphere at the same time. On the weekend my wife and I visited, the clientele ranged from older retired couples to groups of 30-40ish couples to single 20 something girls out for a relaxing "girls weekend". With the close proximity to the cruise line ports, it would be a great place to spend a day or two before disembarking.
Of course no place is perfect and the Fawlty Towers is no exception. Once the sun sets, the absence of a hot tub becomes obvious. I was reassured that the hot tub is on the way. That will be a most welcomed addition. I was also told that a continental breakfast is in the works. The only other "gripe" my wife and I had was the quality of the mattress. A little worn and uncomfortable, but not dirty (the staff cleans all day).
This conversion to a clothing optional resort is recent (and well publicized) and my conversation with the owner made me believe he is on a mission to make the Fawlty Towers successful and a top rated resort. We will be back (and hopefully soaking in the hot tub).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    45
    15
    18
    22
See reviews for
32
69
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

On the advice of some friends, we checked out Fawlty Towers. It is a sleepy little place for a quiet (clothing optional) weekend away, not much going on in the way of excitement, but sometimes that is a good thing. Would we return...yes, BUT hopefully the following could be corrected before our next trip OR it might be our last. Here are our areas of concern. 1.)The parking is VERY limited and not secured. The area of the motel is busy, and there are some questionable business in close proximity. That was a bit of a turn off, however the good news is there is plenty of shopping, dining and other "beach attractions" in walking distance. So once you find a place to park you shouldn't need to leave that spot again until you check out. 2.) The rooms are a bit outdated. It would be nice to see some crispy white linens and comforters, and possibly a change in the carpets and furniture along with the other clearly noticeable updates to the overall property. 3.) This one is our potential deal breaker on future visits. THE EXCESSIVE SMOKING!!!!!!! There are not designated smoking areas at this resort currently. This includes the pool. We experienced a full house Saturday at the pool area and it was at least 60% occupied by smoking guests. We found we could not enjoy ourselves in or around the pool and tiki lounge because we were hacking on the constant billow of smoke. We explained our concerns to the owner in person and hope they will resolve this issue by creating a designated smoking area that is NOT in the pool area. Overall we would have to say that the guests, other than their smoking were polite. The staff accommodating and friendly but not very "professional" They were dressed in regular street clothes and somewhat aloof while associating with the guests. We would go back to see how they may have addressed some of these issues (being under new management since May 2012). However, If after our next visit the smoking issue isn't resolved... for the price per night...which we considered fair to slightly over priced for the accommodations and lack of amenities... we would consider another spot to take our little weekend getaways. As for the overall rating bubbles above, had the smoking not been such a HUGE issue for us, (as other non smokers there agreed) it would have been another half bubble to the positive!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

On a whim, I decide to go out of town for the weekend for some rest and relaxation and some had recommended Fawlty Towers. I have stayed in Cocoa Beach many times but none of them where as fun as staying at the Fawlty Towers. Not only do they have one of the best pools of any nude resort, the tiki bar was so nice and relaxing and you can always enjoy good conversation at any time. The staff is very attentive and just wants to make everyone’s visit comfortable and enjoyable. My first time there and I didn't know anyone there felt like a day at the pool with my closest friends! It is within short walking distance of the beach, the 24 Hour Ron Jon Surf Shop, the Sandbar Grill and many other local businesses. The Kennedy Space Center is a short driving distance and a great place for everyone to see along with the beautiful Playlinda Beach on the Cape Canaveral Seashore in Titusville. Don’t pass up this unique experience of the hospitality of the staff and locals as well as the other guests who stay here. You guys ROCK! I will definitely be back to visit soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Awsome the no hot tub was disappointing but the small kitchenettes and the staff more than made up no hot tub. We will be back. Room rates a little steep but if u factor in the 24 hour security that eases your mind. Rule are easy to follow. We had a very relaxing weekend and we left with no tans.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed one afternoon at Fawlty Towers Resort Motel and enjoyed the ambiance of the place. The rooms are quite basic, but they are all close to the pool. As others have noted, they are in a probationary period by the powers that be, so the rules are being strictly enforced.

But this was not a problem as we enjoyed a $15 day pass on a Sunday. ($25 Friday and Saturday). We spent most of the time at the Tiki Bar, as the weather was cloudy with periods of rain. But the friendliness of the guests and staff made the time fly by.

Future plans are to have the pool heated for the winter months, and to add a hot tub. This will certainly add to the lush landscaping of this place.

We will return here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Fawlty Towers converted to a clothing optional format in May, 2012. It's a 1960's beach motel that has been nicely updated and converted to clothing optional use. The rooms are painted in vibrant colors, the beds are very comfortable and the housekeeping is excellent. (One small deficiency is that no shampoo is provided in the bathrooms.) The hotel is two short blocks from the beach, and in easy walking distance of a couple of good local beach restaurants/bars.

Despite the fact that the hotel is located next door to an "adult emporium" (where the prices are quite reasonable, by the way.) and just blocks from three strip joints, the hotel seems to have become the target of especially vigorous code enforcement, resulting in the removal of some privacy screening which requires the ladies staying in a few of the upstairs rooms on the East side of the hotel to cover up from the waist up when leaving the room for the pool.

Fawlty Towers is a great place to stay and enjoy the company, the sun and the pool. It's not a major resort with lots of facilities other than the single pool and the Tiki Bar.

A day trip to the Kennedy Space Center is an excellent use of a day while staying here. Be sure to take the guided tour that includes the Vehicle Assembly Building.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room on the West side of the hotel for the breeze, morning sun and the ability t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend and enjoyed it. We live up the coast and have stayed in several other hotels in in Cocoa (not nude) and would rate this one a little above average for Cocoa Beach. The bar staff is friendly and the waitress was very attentive. Never had to leave pool side for a drink. All the patrons were upbeat and seemed very happy. All in all what I expected out of a hotel in Cocoa Beach.

More importantly this hotel is located next door to Ron Jon Surf Shop and is right in the middle of pretty much everything that is going on in Cocoa. Location is just awesome!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio door (sliding glass) believe they are listed on the website as a suite. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fawlty Towers Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers Resort Motel

Address: 100 E. Cocoa Beach Causeway, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fawlty Towers Resort Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 32-room, two-story property boasts a character all its own. It encloses a lush tropical garden surrounding the pool with its authentic "Tiki Bar". The pool is available year-round (a little warmer in the summer) and the beers are always cold. Relaxing balconies offer partial ocean views or poolside retreats. A tranquil oasis in a resort setting at truly affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Fawlty Towers Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Cocoa Beach
Fawlty Hotel Cocoa Beach
Fawlty Motel Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fawlty Towers Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.