We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but dated decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pompano Grill

Pompano Grill
110 N Brevard Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-2948
+1 321-784-9005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 119 Restaurants in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a small family owned and operated restaurant! We pride ourselves on using the finest ingredients - our fish is fresh - never frozen! We offer a variety of dishes to satisfy any palate - Our specialty is our preparation of fresh locally caught fish, we also offer a variety of chicken & veal dishes, as well as pasta and vegetarian dishes. We cook from the heart and serve all of our guests as if they are family! Reservations are suggested.
Rockledge, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food but dated decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We wanted to try somewhere different and used Tripadvisor to find a new place. For appetizers we had the fish dip and the coconut shrimp. The fish dip was a bit salty but the coconut shrimp were good. Excellent tasting shrimp with a light breading. The dipping sauce was a banana base that went well with the coconut shrimp. The fish we had for entrees was fresh and well prepared. The Pompano Grill is a small restaurant but was busy with locals. It is a block off the main road so you will not find it accidentally so the crowd says something for it. The decor could use some major updating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    54
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avg. Seafood - Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

After reading the reviews I was excited to try something new. MISTAKE!!! The Ceaser Salad all the reviews bragged about was horrible. It was way too fishy. I had the grilled Swordfish even though I ordered it Blackened. I could have sent it back but didn't really want to wait another 20 minutes while my GF ate. It was just OK. She had the Pampano Almondine and it was OK, not great. We had the Coconut Shrimp appetizer and it was OK too. Overall the food was average. I don't mind dropping $100 on a good dinner, but this was average at best. I wonder if any of the previous reviewers actually know what great food tastes like. When I drop $100 on dinner I want to be impressed. I was not impressed with Pompano Grill at all. I would say that a chain restaurant like Red Lobster or Applebees serves better food. Definitely skip this place if you want a romantic date. Small & loud atmosphere with a limited wine list. Go to Merritts Table if you want great food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best meal I've ever had in Cocoa Beach -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We chose this restaurant based on Trip Advisor and had an excellent meal. The Caesar Salad was delicious, with clearly a homemade dressing. My meal was the grilled shrimp and scallops with pineapple - wonderful. The service was attentive without being obtrusive. I will definitely return on my next trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Seafood Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a seafood restaurant while in Cocoa Beach preparing to board our cruise the following day. The Pompano Grill was very highly recommended on TripAdvisor by many people, so we decided to give it a try.

Situated in a strip mall, it doesn't look like much from the outside, but inside it is cozy (probably maximum 50 seats) and has very nice wood panelling decor.

I tried the specialty dish of the house, Pompano Almondine, which was a very nice mild flaky fish with a light almondine sauce on top. Very tasty! We both also had Caesar salads which were very good, not swimming in dressing.

Our server was very attentive and personable. Great dining experience overall.

We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Care taken in meal preparation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I had the triple tail (grouper family) blackened. We had seafood in 6 different restaurants over the last few days and the best was hands down at Pompano Grill. The fish was cooked absolutely perfect. Not much else to say. Beautifully prepared and seasoned to perfection. The sides, rice pilaf and squash/zuchinni, were very good and also well prepared but plain.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompano Grill also viewed

Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to Pompano Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompano Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.