We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Beach Resort to your Saves list
Discovery Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This resort was nice, right on the beach, and clean. We rented a two bedroom with a balcony and it seemed pretty roomy for a family of 5. Everything you needed for meals was provided in the kitchen (except the food of course). It was close to Ron Jon Surf shop and other tourist attractions, but off of the main road, so you didn't hear traffic noise. The furnishings were a little out of date, but were clean and well kept, so that wasn't a big deal for us. There was a nice size swimming pool, but it closed pretty early. Still, it was nice for the heat of the day, if the beach isn't your thing. The kids were able to rent tennis rackets to play tennis, and there were also basketball hoops available. The beach in this area is not good for snorkeling but it is great for body boarding or surfing.

Overall we had a nice time here at this resort. It was quiet and family oriented. There are lots of great restaurants in the area, so check those out. However, the resort restaurant wasn't the best. It's better to either cook in the room, or explore Cocoa for some delicious other options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    67
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
71
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This resort is a wonderful place for a family to stay. Everyone was very friendly. Small town atmosphere with good places to eat close by. There were activities for both adults and children. Room was very clean and loved the ocean view from the balcony! We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor cannot view the beach because of sand dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This resort is too good to believe! Staff friendly and helpful - Lauren and Peggie at the front desk bent over backwards to make sure all was PERFECT - Ken with property security is amazing - beyond polite and helpful in what can only be described as total southern hospitality (Grandma must have raised him right) beautiful accommodations - spa-pool-game room-nice exercise room-sauna-Tiki bar-rooms with beach view balconies-full kitchen and very comfortable beds. Very clean and in good condition. Did I mention tennis courts- covered parking and full sized equiped kitchens with dishwashers and washer/dryers? Grocery stores 5 blks away. Nothing missing nothing lacking. Oh yeah - onsite rest with great food. Try the grilled or blackened catch or turkey club at lunch. Prices were great all around!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Week-long timeshare swap. Had a 2-BR unit on the pool end (_20). Simple, clean accommodations. This is not a luxury resort - it isn't trying to be. If you want to be pampered, go elsewhere. If you are looking for a reasonable, clean, convenient place to stay, this is your place. On the beach, decent pool area, Publix nearby, restaurants within walking distance. Location is great. Very friendly and helpful staff. Kids activities are a welcome break for parents (and kids!). On-site restaurant is good. Get the turkey club sandwich. Only complaint is a small one: for long stays, you can swap towels, but only once per day. Not sure why you can't swap dirty towels for clean towels more than once per day. Strange rule. Overall, a good stay.

Room Tip: Music at the pool kicks-in at 8AM. You'll hear it in the bedrooms of lower floor rooms close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I had our 5 year old grandson with us...we lucked out with a 6th floor corner unit (2BR/2BR) that was just perfect! Maybe it was the beautiful weather...or the beautiful beach...or the great location...or the great food at the on-site restaurant...or just maybe it was the Discovery Resort!!! We had the best time and loved all of it! The only negative was that the pool area was having lighting installed and it was not landscaped as I hope it will be in the future. The pool area was closed 1 day while we were there so we went to the resort down the road which actually had a nicer and larger pool. If not for the pool issue, I would have given this a 5 star, for sure. I want to go back!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Upper floors have the views...all rooms are ocean front. Corner units have a larger deck area with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ocean front resort with great views and great beach! Rooms are nice, clean but very basic in decor. We stayed in two bedroom with a pullout sofa, dining table and full kitchen. It had everything we needed to cook and everything we need to be comfortable with two kids. The ocean is beautiful and fairly calm, but perfect for kids to boogie board and surf, and parents not to worry. The resort is very close to the largest Ron Jon's in the states, so you get do lots of great shopping and get all the surfing and boogie boarding gear you want. The resort has it's own kids club, basketball courts, tennis courts, a game room, a ping pong table and a very impressive gym compared to most places. My kids made use of everyone of these amenities, especially the game room. The restaurant is also good. I recommend Friday night, outside with the steel drums. It is a fun atmosphere, although it can be smokey outside. The pool is a little small and looks like it could use some renovating and landscaping. Overall, great trip for all.

Room Tip: You want a room on the 5th floor or higher for the best views of ocean. The second and third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The resort is located beach front. Great people to deal with for service and help. We totally enjoyed our stay thanks to the staff and amenities. They have a great restaurant and tiki bar as well as a comfortable pool and pool area. We will be making this top on our list for fun spots. Great location near the Pier and shops.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front but the south corner units face the pier. North corner units face NASA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Address: 300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.