We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small resort but a good choice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Beach Resort to your Saves list
Discovery Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A small resort but a good choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I would stay there again if in the area. We had very good meals in the cafe, and it is an easy walk to the pier for several great sea food restaurants. Our kitchen was fully outfitted with everything we needed.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, great location, limited menu in cafe, but very good. friendly staff, conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    67
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
71
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, IN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Came on a RCI exchange the 3rd week of January. Above average weather all week (75-83) and sunny all but one day. Absolutely beautiful.

Stayed in a 2BR/2BA suite on the 3rd floor. All units have an ocean view. Excellent view of the sunrise in the morning, pleasant sounds of the surf all day, and a nice breeze towards evening especially.

Unit was exceptionally clean. Staff was very accommodating, providing us 2 cribs and 2 high chairs for our 2 children (2 and 7 months). Suite was outfitted with everything that you could need for a short term stay, including dishes, dishwasher, stove, washer/dryer, and accessories for all appliances. TVs in 2 rooms, a DVD player in the living room.

Amenities were great as well. Pool was large, temperature was excellent. Spa was big enough, temperature was excellent. Did not use many of the other amenities. The exercise room could use some updated equipment, but I'm sure that it suffices in general for the typical residents.

Beach was just a short walk (1 minute) away, down a short path. Sand was very nice, many shells. You can see cruise ships departing all day long and even sometimes at night. My toddler liked watching them and would always shout "Big boat!".

Orlando is an hour away, but I only flew in/out. Much prefer the slower pace here to the craziness of Universal/Disney and Orlando is general. Lots of things to do in the surrounding region, if you're mobile, but most of them are 20-30 minutes away. We spent the majority of the time at the resort or on the beach. A Publix is within sight of the resort, and many, many restaurants and shops within walking or short driving distance.

Overall, great service by the staff, excellent accommodations and amenities, and you couldn't beat the weather. A great trip.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited the first week in January and had beautiful 75-82 degree weather. All rooms in the resort are ocean front so you are guaranteed a fantastic view. There are sliding doors to the large deck from both the master bedroom and the living room. I loved having my coffee on the deck each morning and watching the cruise boats come and go and the dolphins playing in the surf.

The beds were comfortable, the pool was the perfect temperature and super clean. There is an onsite restaurant that has very good food and it's reasonably priced. The Tiki bar was a nice place to have a drink.

The resort is an easy walk to Cocoa Beach pier for dining, drinks and live music. Walk to the end of the pier and watch the surfers and see what the people fishing off the pier are catching. The resort is also within walking distance to shopping and groceries.

We spent a day at Kennedy Space Center which is about 15 minutes away and a day at Epcot Center which is about an hour drive. The rest of the time we spent at the pool or the beach.

Every single employee we encountered at Discovery Beach Resort was friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning to this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We came on a timeshare trade and had a 3BR/3BA home on the top floor. The main living area and the MBR had sliding doors to the balcony, with beach views. The beds were comfortable and the place was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The on site restaurant had very good prices -- this is not fine dining, but value for money. The pool was sort of small but the beach was steps from the resort. All in all, an excellent place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Checked in for one night prior to a cruise on Dec 9.

Did a lot of research regarding hotels in the area and found this one to have a great location, great staff and great price. We stayed in a 2 bed/2 bath unit on the 4th floor. Waking up to a beach sunrise was awesome! The Discovery is right on the beach and short walk from the pier. Lots of shopping and good restaurants close by.

Other reviews say the furnishings are dated. This is true. It's very "Golden Girls" but if you can overlook that, then you're golden. As for being worn, we only found minor examples of wear and tear (I've stayed in more expensive places with worse issues).

The uber friendly front desk staff checked us in fast, but we got bogged down with reviewing the unit inventory list (maybe a better form for locating/checking off all the kitchen items?). They ask you hunt and find 60+ kitchen/bathroom/amenities items when you check in to make sure you don't get stuck with paying for missing items. Standard stuff for Condo-renting. Take a moment and do the list, just in case...

Room Tip: Choose higher floors if you can. The bar is on the main floor, south side. Didn't have a noise p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollissaestep
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here on a time share. The staff was friendly, the room was huge and clean, and the view amazing. I loved the big balcony off the living room and the bedroom. The beach was nice and clean. I liked the hot tub and the heated pool. The in house restaurant was very good and cheap. I stayed here with 3 other people and we had plenty of room and fun. Cocoa Beach is not very touristy fyi. Madd Jack's Grillin Shack next door is fantastic as well. Great basketball court and tennis courts as well. Very fast elevators, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed a week at the Discovery Resort Cocoa Beach, FL. On arrival staff very friendly and helpful. Lobby area clean and decorated for the Christmas holiday. Once we got to our room I was initially disappointed. The furnishings and bathrooms/kitchen were very 1980s motif and pretty worn out looking. However, the place was clean and had a fabulous view of the beach and ocean. We had a balcony but the chair cushions were thread bare not an impressive look (haha). On the up side, the view, the view, the view! Plus, full stocked kitchen, (we were missing a fork or two when did our checklist). Beds were comfortable (King in Master bedroom, twins in 2nd bedroom). Last day they delivered a new couch....nice to look at but awful to sit on..very uncomfortable! We spent most of our time at pool or on the beach. Pool area was small side but plenty of loungers, in fact too many for number of people! Had to push aside to get in, no tables to place your things on. Hot tub great! Nice umbrellas and staff helpful in putting them up for guests. Activity person was wonderful, she was alot of fun and very friendly to all the guests. Overall, stay was great, met alot of nice people, relaxed and enjoyed the florida sunshine! I would stay here again because it was clean, great location and wonderful hotel staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have beach view so no bad rooms, we were on 4th floor with great ocean view...any lower wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Address: 300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.