We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated interior but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Beach Resort to your Saves list
Discovery Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dated interior but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed a week at the Discovery Resort Cocoa Beach, FL. On arrival staff very friendly and helpful. Lobby area clean and decorated for the Christmas holiday. Once we got to our room I was initially disappointed. The furnishings and bathrooms/kitchen were very 1980s motif and pretty worn out looking. However, the place was clean and had a fabulous view of the beach and ocean. We had a balcony but the chair cushions were thread bare not an impressive look (haha). On the up side, the view, the view, the view! Plus, full stocked kitchen, (we were missing a fork or two when did our checklist). Beds were comfortable (King in Master bedroom, twins in 2nd bedroom). Last day they delivered a new couch....nice to look at but awful to sit on..very uncomfortable! We spent most of our time at pool or on the beach. Pool area was small side but plenty of loungers, in fact too many for number of people! Had to push aside to get in, no tables to place your things on. Hot tub great! Nice umbrellas and staff helpful in putting them up for guests. Activity person was wonderful, she was alot of fun and very friendly to all the guests. Overall, stay was great, met alot of nice people, relaxed and enjoyed the florida sunshine! I would stay here again because it was clean, great location and wonderful hotel staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have beach view so no bad rooms, we were on 4th floor with great ocean view...any lower wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    67
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
72
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I recently stayed at this property with friends for 1 week. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo.
The kitchen was very adequate and was stocked with dishes, cutlery, pots & pans. However, there was 1 dish towel and 1 role of paper towels. There were no condiments (salt, pepper, sugar, etc.) provided so bring your own. Also no plastic wrap or foil or covered dishes to save leftovers. Beach towles and bath towels are provided and you could exchange them daily.
The condo was very clean and well maintained. However, the furnishings need to be replaced. The sofa in the living room was very uncomfortable to sit on and the chairs for the dining room table had permanent indentations. There were 2 chairs provided on the balcony and these were not too comfortable. The view is wonderful. Beds were great. Very quiet at night.
The pool area was clean & maintained. One day there was live music and it was pretty awful. Mostly country but not even that was good. A nice tiki bar serving lunches, snack & drinks. Drink prices are very reasonable. The pool is heated and very nice for swimming. The pool chairs are the type you can't lay on face down but are in good condition.
A very short walk on a wooden bridge over the dunes takes you to a wide beach. Lots of shells and you can walk for miles. This time of year the ocean was cold so hardly any one went in. There wre surfers in wet suits. Lots of people fishing.
Cocoa Beach is a kind of sad area. Run down and drab. A Publix is within walking distance, but I would recommend a car unless you plan to stay at the resort every day.
The staff here are great and will do anything for you. Very friendly and competent.
We did the gambling cruise out of Canaveral - don't. It's pretty depressing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quietest and have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was the place we stayed at when I was a little kid. I loved it so much. It's a close walk to the lovely pier, and the apartments themsleves are pretty nice. The balcony is roomy and the place we stayed at had 2 bedrooms: a master and a "kids room" with two twin beds. The best way to do a beach vacation is to have your own condo with a kitchen so you can enjoy breakfast on the balcony. That's always the best. There's nothing quite like having the balcony door open and kicking back on the couch, reading a good book, and just enjoying the sound of the ocean. Not sure about how much this place cost (spoiled child as I was, I was never aware of how expensive anything was) but my dad wouldn't get anything if it wasn't a good deal so I'm sure this place is budget-friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this resort with our 2 grown up sons in June. The apartment was very spacious, clean and in a great location, we particularly loved the sea views and easy access to the beach. We hired sunbeds and umbreallas on the beach and enjoyed the close proximity of the pier. Publix and Dunkin donuts were within walking distance and the discovery beach cafe on site served great food. The staff were very pleasant and polite. Overall, we had a fantastic holiday and would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Discovery Beach...the staff were friendly and were quick in solving a maintenance issue. All rooms face the ocean and the rooms have been updated since our previous stay a few years ago. We dont have any young children, but there were daily activities for them

Room Tip: We were at the end of the hallway so we didnt hear the elevator or any hall noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our family has been coming to Cocoa Beach, FL for years and has always stayed at Discovery Beach Resort. It is a very family-friendly atmosphere, best view of the Ocean from the balcony in the room, great service, kind people, and just an overall pleasant experience each and every time. I highly recommend this establishment!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

spent just one night here before heading out on a cruise. the location was nice and the rooms were large. overall feel is quite outdated but clean. booked using rci points and ended up being charged a $75 cleaning fee even though we left it spotless and only spend one night, so felt ripped off. also they couldn't let us have a late checkout even though the place wasn't full. we had to leave exactly at 10am or were going to be charged some more fees.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Address: 300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.