We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth 'Discovering'.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Discovery Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Beach Resort
300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Cocoa Beach
North Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth 'Discovering'.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My family and I travelled from Ontario to Cocoa Beach for our spring break. This was our first visit to Cocoa Beach. We chose Discovery Beach Resort based on reviews and location. We have seen most of Florida and I have to say that Cocoa Beach was one of our favourite destinations.
As for the resort...

Check in: Went smoothly. I had pre-requested a room higher than 2nd floor (since everyone had tipped us off on the view) and we were given the 3rd floor. So, I guess they fulfilled my request, but barely. It would have been nice to have a room on one of the higher up floors. Upon check-in, you are given a check-list of the items found in your unit. They ask that you check to be sure everything is accounted for when you get to your room. This is a somewhat lengthly task since the room is fully equiped with everything from kleenex to a potato masher.... Front desk staff were all friendly with the exception of one lady.

The room: As mentioned, it is fully equiped with everything you could possibly need. Washer/dryer with one sample sized box of Tide. Sample sized bottle of Palmolive dishsoap and packages of dishwashing powder for the dishwasher. All utensils, cutlery, and dishes. Pots/pans and baking sheets. Pool towels. There aren't any samples of shampoo or conditioner and only a couple of small bars of soap. You will need to bring your own. We had to ask for more bar soap. We had a 2 bdrm unit. The master has a television and an ensuite bath with stand-up shower. Our bed was quite comfortable. The 2nd room had 2 twin beds and a closet. Much smaller but adequate for my 2 kids (there isn't a tv in this room). The main bathroom has a tub/shower. As mentioned, the rooms are all direct ocean front with fabulous views (if you're higher than the 2nd floor). Great balcony. You won't get your room cleaned but once a week (wednesday). And since we checked out on a thursday, we didn't get our room serviced. She did knock on our door wednesday morning, asking if we needed anything. But since we were leaving the following day, it wasn't neccessary. There has been some mention of noise... Yes, you will hear chairs scraping across the floor above you. And you'll hear the toilets flushing and showers running from other units. It wasn't really that bad though. The only real gripe I had was that the showers couldn't seem to regulate temperature. Every shower we took jumped from hot to cold to hot to cold....

The Resort: A great, warm pool. There weren't a lot of kids at the resort while we were there. Mostly retirees, so the pool wasn't overun with screaming children. There are enough poolside lounge chairs but few umbrellas. And, although there are signs stating that reserving chairs with towels is NOT allowed, people do it anyways. We had one incident where an old couple left to go someplace and came back accusing us of moving her towel off HER chair... Meanwhile there wasn't a towel there when we sat down. Beware the sun loving retirees! LOL... The onsite restaurant/bar is great. We thouroughly enjoyed our meals and the prices were reasonable. Great staff too. There is an onsite workout room, computer/printer, games room, sauna, hot-tub, makeshift theatre, and activities desk. Outdoor basketball nets and tennis courts. The games room is dated and some of the games were out of order. All games are at least .50cents. My kids loved the air hockey table (we spent a small fortune on that game). The hot tub is hot, as it should be. The theatre plays movies around the clock. You simply just walk in and sit down. Kind of a neat idea for rainy days. Maureen, from the activities desk, was great. She was more than helpful and super friendly. Ample covered parking.

Beach: Typical for the Atlantic Coast, I would say. The sand is not raked so expect dried seaweed and washed up garbage. Not overly busy. The water was unusually warm for this time of year (mid March). My daughter found lots of simple shells. There are quite a few sufers at the pier. There was a guy renting lounge chairs/ unbrellas and boogie boards. $30.00 for 2 chairs, umbrella and 2 boogie boards for the day.

The area: I won't go into detail, since this isn't the place to write it. But, you won't be disappointed. We were able to walk to a grocery store as well as restaurants, the pier (which has some good eats), a Dunkin' Donuts. Within a short drive, you can be at the Cape which offers awesome food and views. We did mini-putt and go-carting, wildlife tours and zoos. Ron Jon's surf shop is only a couple minute drive. Not a lot of great shopping in Cocoa Beach but you don't have to drive far to find some.

Overall, the resort met our needs. It was clean and (mostly) quiet. But quite dated and definitely in need of a facelift. But they are trying. The Tiki Bar is nearly complete and will be a welcome addition to the resort. The staff do their best to make your stay a good one. I would definitely return to Cocoa Beach and would likely stay at Discovery Beach Resort again.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can get. Views of the beach/ocean are obstructed by sand dunes and overgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
59
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

we are long time owners and visitors to discovery beach if going to spring training or orlando or beach this is the perfect spot fine staff clean resort with great pool and restaurant/bar also perfect for cruise ship customers Bruce Eanes, Richmond, Va.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The friendliness of the staff, large size of the units, cleanliness, and the ocean location override the fact that the place could use a little bit of updating. The shower in the master bedroom ensuite needed replacing and the counters were a bit worn, but other than that, it was a great place to stay with the couple we were travelling with. Huge balcony overlooking the ocean and pier. A tiki bar is being constructed outside the restaurant which offers good food at some pretty amazing prices. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat and I'm pretty picky.

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms have a view of the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Beach location and accesability to area attractions plus friendly staff make this a desireable place. We stayed three nights in a three bedroom unit. Spacious, but on the sown side, floors were dirty. The clothes dryer left black streaks on a load of clothes and tore holes in two shirts when they got caught in the top of the dryer. There was no offer to replace or compensate for the clothes, but they did offer to replace the washer/dryer.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo here for a long weekend last May. I was very pleasantly surprised with the rooms and the bathrooms. Everything was very nice, very clean, and spacious enough for our family of 5 adults. Having access to the gym in the building was nice and the front desk staff were friendly. They had beach chairs that you could borrow from the lobby - those were a little sketchy. But everything else was very nice. Can't beat the location either.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked this for 2 nights through our RCI timeshare. Besides spending a significant number of points for a such a short stay and an RCI transaction fee, we were charged an additional $75 when checking out for a "cleaning fee". RCI does state that "a cleaning fee may be charged by the resort for stays of less than 7 days", but we thought this amount was excessive. The morning after our arrival, cleaning staff were already at the door (WHY??), and we turned them away. We were forced to then sign a form stating that they'd been there, which we thought odd. The 2nd morning, it was time to check out, so we left the condo neat and tidy, with the dishwasher running so there were no unwashed dishes. Having been warned, we weren't surprised by a fee for cleaning, but $75?!? We felt scammed.

Otherwise, we enjoyed the unit and resort very much. It was spacious, with a nice balcony, view and location. The 3 cats were a delight to watch in the bushes. Both sunrises were lovely to see, also. The restaurant on premises was very convenient, with reasonable food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Other writing have indicated the place needs a facelift. True! But the economy is lousy there and the space center is no longer going to be a viable economic force unless the private sector makes it happen. The staff is really very helpful and courteous. We were a bit worried when we arrived but, over time, we thought the place was pretty cool! The resort restaurant is incredibly affordable with good food and a friendly staff too. This is a nice place for folks with modest retirement incomes. A trip to the Space Center is an absolute must, and there is a senior discount. The Savannahs Golf Course is a real bargain on certain days of the week, and a very fair, but challenging, track. And,above all, IT IS QUIET! We will be back.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and the view was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Address: 300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.