We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Friendly Bates Motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Cocoa Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Cocoa Beach to your Saves list
Motel 6 Cocoa Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3701 N Atlantic Avenue, SR 528 at Atlantic Avenue/SR 401, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Friendly Bates Motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I'll start out with the positives: Friendly staff trying very hard to make the stay pleasant, a short walk to the beach, a reasonable mile walk from the Pier, a short walk to Ron Jon, a shore drive to Port Canaveral, and a clean newly renovated room. Now the negatives: The new decor is very stark and cold, uncomfortable chair (one), clientele was direct from the mobile home parks of America, and the protected terns (small birds) had nested on our building--pooping on the cars and loud at night, swarming the parking lot on the north side at all times. Not the worst place I've stayed, but too annoying to return. No Verizon reception and no free Wifii.

Room Tip: Avoid the birds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    52
    35
    59
See reviews for
60
58
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

As the title stays, this is the best Motel 6 I have stayed at. At check in I asked for a renovated room and the room was near spotless. Beds were really comfortable and the wooden floors were clean. Flat screen TV's and great AC. For the price we paid which was less than $70 (and 1 block from the beach) we couldn't have asked for more!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Got a room for my son who is relocating. He got one of the "renovated" rooms. Cockroaches, dirty. I came to visit him and while I was sitting there I spilled my water bottle. Went to wipe it up and the floor was literally BLACK. In the whole week he was there, sheets were never changed. Bird crap EVERYWHERE. He didn't sleep well there to say the least.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was in cocoa beach to see friends and hit the beach, so when booking the room it was all about price and location. This hotel beats all the rest on price and the location is smack dab in the middle of everything with a only one building behind the hotel between you and the beach. The pool was sparkling and pool furniture was adequate. Checking in was easy and it was clear that they were in the middle of a big rehab. I was placed in the back building facing the beach and sitting in the room I could see the water. The birds are a bit noisy and will get your car dirty. The room was one of the renovated ones and was unexpectedly modern. 2 queen beds, full tub/shower and sink in bathroom. Laminate floors and cubes for your clothes instead of drawers. Flat screen TV and plenty of food options with in walking distance. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and am booking now before they realize what a jem they have.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is under renovation. I'm sure when it's done,the prices will go up. When we first checked in, the front desk staff Tamara was very friendly. We were first put in a non-renovated room which we did not stay in due to the overwhelming musty smell. The room was clean but it must've been the carpet that smelled.

We were moved to a renovated room which was a completely different experience. The floors were a linoleum type floor with a wood look. The beds seemed new and were very comfortable. We did not get the room with the fridge in microwave since I didn't think it would make a difference. Boy, was I wrong. The room next to us had the fridge and microwave and was almost twice the size, almost like an efficiency. It would definitely have been worth the extra money to have more space.

There are a massive amount of white birds that keep their nests on the roof of the hotel. Due to environmental reasons, they cannot stop this. It didn't bother me much but if you are a light sleeper, it could keep you up at night and/or wake you up early in the morning as they are pretty noisy. Some of the babies fell off the roof and the staff was quick to put them back up. My kids loved seeing the birds and helping the baby birds but I could imagine it could be seen as a nuisance by some.

The pool was clean and well kept. The lobby had free coffee and tea in the morning and was satisfactory. You can walk to the beach, about 2 blocks away. It's calm and beautiful. Bring boogie boards to ride the waves. You can also ride a bike on the sand. Ron Jon Surf shop is also a two block walk away.

Overall, very pleased, especially for the price and location.

Room Tip: Get the renovated room with the fridge and microwave. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I'm here right now writing from the WI-FI. The WI-FI is slow and $3.00 a day. Oh well. That is the only problem.

Pool is clean. Laundry room is cleaned out regularly. AC blew nice and cold. My wife and I flipped EVERYTHING over in the hotel as soon as we showed up. Not one bug to be found. We flipped both beds, slid all the furniture out. Not one bug. (Commmon sense should tell you to ask for the second floor at a $60 hotel)

Hotel receptionists were awesome. They gave us advice on how to find what we needed. Smiling, I even made an idiot out of myself with a dumb joke and it was all good.

My wife did however get crapped on by a bird. Which was funny.

For $60, you get what you pay for, and I was impressed. Within walking distance from the beach.

You pretentious turds who are expecting the Hamptons for $60 a night need to get laid. Seriously. Don't spend $60 when every hotel in the area is $100+, then come on here and leave a bad review. Use your brain a little bit.

My wife and I have stayed up for ~30 mins laughing at some of these reviews. These people probably want their butt wiped with silk paper too.

Room Tip: Pick the second floor. Duh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel backs up the the beach so it's a great beach spot. Rooms are basic and pretty clean, not gross but not spotless. Staff is nice. There's a Waffle House next door and it's within walking distance to the world famous Ron Jon Surf Shop.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Cocoa Beach Suites
Cocoa Beach Suites
#17 of 33 in Cocoa Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#25 of 33 in Cocoa Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Cocoa Beach
Days Inn Cocoa Beach
#21 of 33 in Cocoa Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
5.5 mi away
Anthony's On The Beach
Anthony's On The Beach
#18 of 33 in Cocoa Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Cocoa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cocoa Beach

Address: 3701 N Atlantic Avenue, SR 528 at Atlantic Avenue/SR 401, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cocoa Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Cocoa Beach is right across the street from the beach. This location is conveniently located near dining, shopping & less than 5 miles away from cruise terminals. WiFi available in all modern rooms for $2.99 per 24 hour period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Cocoa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Cocoa Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Motel Six Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Cocoa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.