We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to come home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort on Cocoa Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Resort on Cocoa Beach to your Saves list
Resort on Cocoa Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1600 N Atlantic Blvd., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Didn't want to come home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel has almost everything except the one thing that is hard to find anywhere. It would be nice if two-bedroom suites were equal (for 4 friends traveling together rather than a family) instead of just one master suite and one two beds room. In the master was a jacuzzi in the bathroom - for the other room with two beds, they had to use the common bathroom. Other than that, it truly was a great place to stay. The kitchen, dining area and TV room were all spacious and well appointed. I note some differences in people's preferences for ocean view vs ocean front vs pool view. We stayed in ocean view (cheaper than ocean front) which meant that the ocean was only in view for half of the balcony and not from the rooms themselves. This was of no import to us as we were not in the room often enough during the daylight hours for it to matter. Do take others suggestions, though, and stay at a higher floor; both to see better and to be away from the pool noise. The pool was heated and a good size with a little separate area for children. When we were there, early December, we had no problems with snagging poolside lounges when we wanted. Separately, there was a fabulous hot tub with its own set of lounge chairs. There was a bar outside by the pool, but it was only open sporadically I believe due to the lack of patrons. This was the first hotel I was at that actually was right on the beach as claimed. It was a very, very short walk; no crossing any streets. The gym was quite large for a hotel and everything was new and in working order. There was a game room, lots of snack and soda machines and a very helpful activity director. They even have their own movie theatre. I would have preferred a more generic in-hotel restaurant for variety, but the Mexican one was fine in its own right. Don't overlook the 2 for 1 margaritas at Happy Hour! Another plus were the many fine restaurants within a couple miles or less right on North Atlantic Avenue. This was an unexpected find for us and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    109
    19
    10
    10
See reviews for
186
67
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have been going with family and freinds for about 17 years. My children or grown ups and still love to go to the resort. WE are going again this JUne.
What to know about the resort
1. the arm bands are for your protection-this helps the guards to know who you are and to keep out those that try to sneak in. also you need to turn them in at check out. It saves money if you turn them so the cost of the resort does not go up. it may sound funny but it cost money for the bands.

If you have ocean front- ask for a room on the 4th floor or higher.,and a double front terrace. Theya re the best.

Eat at the restaruart at least once and try the margarites - all is good!!!!!

Watch a movie in the movie room and bring your own popcorn and drinks- it very relaxing.

Remember the staff is busy on Sat/sun with check outs and check ins--they are All very nice. They will help as best they can. I have never had a problem with any of them.

Also there is beach umbrells and chairs for a small fee-day rental or all week.

You are the one that has to make the best of your vacation- so sit back and enjoy the view

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were booked at another Hotel (not to be named) in Indialantic, FL that was definitely not up the standards it portrays. We quickly cancelled and drove to Cocoa Beach looking for a 1 or 2 bedroom suite on the water and this hotel delivered!!

A fantastic experience, we stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. We needed 3 things. Comfort, security and access to the beach (young family) and all three came up aces. In addition the pool was very warm, the people were great and very accomodating. Security was omni present and they supplied the guests with all kinds of free amenities. They had ice cream socials, art projects and a live animal show (very good host!!).

The 2 bedroom suites on the ocean were very clean, spacious and had all the needs for either cooking or just relaxing. The balconey was spacious and we enjoyed the sunrise every morning.

I will highly recommend this place for famlies with young children. Just an observation...this may not be the place for some "spring break" like activies. I noticed the average age was over retirement or very young families. It's quiet and I think they like it that way (not a critism).

I will highly recommend this hotel for families with young children or just a quiet getaway. It supplied everything that this family needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We've been staying here for years and have never been disapointed. The rooms have always been well maintained, as are all of the other facilities.The staff is always professional and eager to help with any issues or questions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I loved this place! We booked this through our timeshare program and we were very pleased with it. We were in an oceanfront 2 bedroom condo on the fourth floor. Gorgeous views. Condo was spotless, everything one would want or need was provided, and also replaced if you needed more of any particular item. We were there over Christmas week and the weather was chillier than normal for Florida, and even more so for Central Florida, so this did put a damper on outdoor activities, esp swimming. We did enjoy just sitting out on the beach and soaking up the sun while our kids played in the sand, but the ocean was just too cold for comfortable swimming. That is no fault of the resorts, of course, just our personal taste. (we"re South Floridians used to a sub-tropical climate). The pool area was nice as well, with a heated pool and jacuzzi, with a fountain for the kids which was not heated, but my kids liked it anyway, in spite of the chilliness, we had to make them come inside after about 30 mins. The front desk staff was very nice, activity co-ordinator was nice. I wish the indoor play area was finished but is under construction. The onsite mexican restaurant was pretty good, a little salty but good, and the resort is under an hours drive to theme parks in Orlando. (we did Legoland, which is a little further away but still not a bad drive). Went to the famous "Ron Jon Surf Shop" , hit up a few restaurants on nearby Merritt Island, and spent a lot of time out on the balcony looking at the ocean. Got lucky enough to be there on full moon week, which was unbelievebly gorgeous over the ocean at night! We liked it a lot and plan on returning when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband's family is an owner at this resort and we have been coming for years here. In 2008,2010 and now 2013. We have 3 kids and the kids love it! We love the hot tub/pool and the staff is always really nice. The place smells like coconut when you walk in! We love the roomy units. We keep coming again and again and could not be happier!

Room Tip: We always have had a pool side room and we love that best. You over look the pool and sun is always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am never disappointed after having stayed at The Resort on Cocoa Beach. After multiple stays there, it is my hotel of choice for the area.
The hotel (actually a vacation rental) is directly on the beach with easy and quick beach access. The beach is wide and the water is usually cold with lots of waves for surfers. Not the quiet calm water of the Gulf of Mexico. Water equipment is available to rent. There is a Mexican restaurant in the lobby where my family and I have enjoyed many a good meal for a decent price. An in-house movie theater and game room keeps the kids busy on rainy days.
The rooms are constantly being upgraded and have a beautiful beach decor. Most units have a master suite with a large bathroom and another bedroom with 2 twin beds. The twin room has a smaller bathroom across the hall. The kitchen is well equipped and had everything we needed.
The resort is just down the street from Ron Jon's and a multitude of restaurants and shops. The town of Cocoa Beach has a laid back surfer vibe.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront room if possible. Waking up the sound of the ocean is unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Resort on Cocoa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort on Cocoa Beach

Address: 1600 N Atlantic Blvd., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort on Cocoa Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on beautiful Cocoa Beach, yet close enough to Orlando and all major theme parks to "truly have the best of both worlds"; The Resort on Cocoa Beach is a premier destination in the Cocoa Beach area. We are located just minutes away from Port Canaveral and all major cruise terminals. We offer deluxe two bedroom, two bath condos with full kitchens. There is an endless array of fun activities both at the Resort or just minutes away. Enjoy surfing, golfing, kayaking, parasailing, deep sea fishing and Kennedy Space Center just to name a few! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Resort on Cocoa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort On Cocoa Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Hotel On Cocoa Beach
Resort Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort on Cocoa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.