We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Suites Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cocoa Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Suites Hotel
5500 Ocean Beach Blvd, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Cocoa Beach
Spring Lake, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

They overbooked so we had to show the "kids" working there our reservation paperwork from our travel agent. This was after waiting 45 minutes for one to get off the phone while the other one just talked to his buddy about getting drunk. The room was not clean, there was a pizza stain on the door, dust bunnies the size of the pillows. There was also mice in the room. We tried to call the front desk but there is no one there after 9pm. We also where over charged. They decided to charge us extra because we went on a cruise which was not the same price they faxed over to our travel agent. Stay away from this dump. Pay the extra money and get a nice hotel that actually cleans, has no mice, and there are people there all the time to fix any problems you may or may not have.

Room Tip: Do not get one at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Not quite as close to the ocean as some. An easy two-block walk to the beach. The ocean is visible from the upper floors. Two full-sized room include a bedroom and a separate kitchen/dining/living area with a large futon. Great for families. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Check for AC-like noise even when yours is off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville Fl
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

The property has been completely renovated! New everything!
But...you can not see the ocean from your balcony. There are other hotels and parking lots between you and the beach! We cancelled our reservation when we saw that you cannot see the beach. Instead we stayed at the hotel that was blocking our view,Oceanside Inn and had a fabulous time. IF you are coming to the beach do not settle for anything but oceanfront property. It's a totally different experience.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

Each spring we drive from Canada to Cocoa Beach and we always try for a room at this hotel. It is a great place to be in the heart of the beach , with a balcony overlooking the ocean. We have always found the staff to be great and ready to assist at any time.
Although the rooms do not have the latest in modern furniture they are always comfortible, clean, and nicely air conditioned.
This hotel has always been a great place to spend a week and it will not drain your bank account.
I just hope they do not change a thing, and a room is available this coming year.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Get away from weekend parties and noise.
  • Stayed April 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

I frequently visit Cocoa Beach. I have never stayed at this specific hotel but I found it to be very nice. The new pool is great. The restaurant was closed. The rooms were very large and quite comfortable. For the price and the hotel's location to the beach I was very pleased with my stay. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

We stayed at the Ocean Suit for a two night stay. At $99.00 per nite plus tax we thought it was a good deal.
The web site is very misleading, for one thing, although the name of the hotel contains the word "ocean" there is NO view at all of the ocean from this hotel. You are surrounded by other hotels. Not a good thing for someone who likes to sit on the balcony in the evening to look at the water. Also the refrigerator was not turned on prior to our arrival and stayed warm throughout our stay leaving our newly purchased food to spoil. NOT GOOD.
The shower was very old and the water fawcett would just spin and spin when turned on and took about 20 minutes to get to the temp that was comfortable. NOT GOOD.
The only Ice machine for the hotel is located on the 2nd floor and did not work at all. Walking in the evening on the lobby level to get out to the pool we were greeted by another surprise....RATS! Running right past us...I have traveled to many many hotels and have never EVER seen rats up close and personal. It scared me nearly to death!
Finally, the restaraunt/bar area seemed to be closed. One night the door was open and the lights were on and there was a "greeter" at the entrance. Peeking in I made the mistake of putting one foot in the door and was asked VERY rudely if I was a member of some club. When I responded "no" the woman actually told me to "get out then!" I have never EVER been so humilated by another person in public in my life. There were no signs stating "private party" or "closed for corporate function" nothing. Just a mean old lady. Maybe she did not work there, I don't know, but a sales/catering manager should have informed them that they were not to be rude to other hotel guests! As for staying at this place again...don't think so.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2005

This may not be a "brand-name hotel" but it is up to standards of one. Conviniently located near the Pier, friendly staff, specious two room suite gives one enough privacy and comfort. Very nice weekend getaway for those who like a quiet place to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Suites Hotel

Address: 5500 Ocean Beach Blvd, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Cocoa Beach
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ocean Suites Hotel to your Saves list