We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, quaint, relaxing...perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Studio Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Surf Studio Beach Resort to your Saves list
Surf Studio Beach Resort
1801 S. Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Cocoa Beach B&B and Inns
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, quaint, relaxing...perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights (wed-fri) before a cruise out of Port Canaveral. What a great hidden gem. The only place in Cocoa Beach with a perfect rating on TA...and they deserve it!

Quiet, family & pet friendly. A bit dated, but adds to the charm. Not a 5 star popular hotel with full amenities, but thats not what we wanted. Has the essential amenities and is walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Short drive to the crowded cocoa beach area and port canaveral.

Walks along the beach at any point in the day and you'll see maybe 20 people within a mile or so either way. (maybe weekends and mid summer are more crowded but doubt it).

Has the "old" florida charm which is lovely :-)

Cant wait to tell friends and family about this hidden treasure and will be back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This place is a lovely old homey family-run motel in the traditional Florida style. We (my husband, 10 year old boy and myself) all loved it. We used it as our base for going up to Kennedy Space Center and checking out Cocoa Beach. We had the rooms closest to the office and away from the beach, but it was great and a really good price and value.

Nothing 5 star-but great digs for laid-back folks.

Room Tip: Units closer to the beach probably cost more; choose based on whether you're more interested in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is the only place I would consider staying when in Cocoa Beach. Woderful and quiet atmosphere with a great staff and beach. If you are looking to get away from the crowds while in central Florida this is the place to go. Beautiful pool and wooden sun deck overlook the beach with hammocks in between the palm trees. Doesn't get any better than that.

Room Tip: Families might consider the effiency suites closest to the beach with bedroom and full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Found it by accident. Stopped in to see if it was pet-friendly and it is. I loved my stay here. I was working in Orlando, had my dog with me and had 2 days to kill. This was just what I wanted for a beach weekend: Oceanfront - and what a beach! Quiet. Beautiful. Not in a congested neighborhood, but close enough to things you need - like a convent store a block away for the necessities, since I had a kitchen. All one story units. Maybe a dozen rooms? Easy. Walk out your door and you are on a grassy lawn, steps from the great meandering deck with plenty of tables, hammocks and chairs, which sits just elevated over the beach. SIMPLE. Gorgeous views. Absolutely everything in good repair. Wifi was a bit slow at times. Oh well - stare out the picture window to the beach.

Clean. Clean. My room/apartment had a full kitchen - equipped! SO happy to find a coffee maker and filters. I could cook here easily. Comfy beds. Lots of pillows.

What it's not: huge, trendy, luxurious, glamorous, current, beach-chic valet parking, doorman, etc. No elevator! YAY!

What It is: Old Florida. Clean. Comfortable. Simple. pet friendly, quiet, Right ON a fabulous beach, relaxing. It even has it's own little pool. The owners are nice. It is all just fine with me

I don't want to leave. I will be back.

Room Tip: 2 oceanfront rooms with views of the ocean, but all the rest are right next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

If you're looking for a small, very nice place to get away to that has an awesome beach, this is the place. Greg the owner is great and alway walking the property of catching some waves. His father started the place and now it's Greg's. One of the staff, Mamie has worked there for 40 years and loves her job... and it really shows.

The grounds are kept neat and clean along with the rooms. One of the best things about this place is that you are only steps from Cocoa Beach. Great surfing and if you don't surf there's always a few out there catching the waves... very intertaining! Botom line.... We'll be back next year. Great value and friendly service that has been lost in time is what you get at Surf Studio Beach Resort.

See You Next Year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Surf Studio is a laid back, relaxing place to stay. My family spent 5 days here and loved every minute of it. The rooms were clean and the establishment was beautiful. There is a deck overlooking the beach with hammocks and an outdoor barbecue. We had hotdogs and s'mores! The staff is friendly and genuinely concerned about your comfort and happiness while you are there. We will defintiely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom efficiency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Surf Studio isn't for everyone: only those desiring a more laid back, chilled out, no frills stay at a wonderfully friendly, clean, pet-friendly and gorgeous location. Surf Studio offers a nice variety of rooms from a regular motel guest room to efficiency apartments. We stayed in a room with a queen bed, a small kitchenette with micro, fridge, stovetop and sink. It was perfect. The beach is a stroll away, with a fantastic deck which includes a huge barbeque pit, lots of lounging chairs, and an unparalleled view of the Atlantic Ocean. The rates are very reasonable, and the host, Greg, is happy to make your stay an enjoyable one. We came at the same time last year and met the same people again this year, showing that this place has MANY return visitors. We were only able to stay three days this year, but next year it'll be a week. It is our little piece of paradise when we stay. The heated pool is clean, the surfers are always out (boards are rented at the front office) and the ocean never fails to fascinate. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Studio Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Studio Beach Resort

Address: 1801 S. Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Surf Studio Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Studio Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Studio Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.