We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT CHILD FRIENDLY” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau By The Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cocoa Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau By The Sea
Save
You added Chateau By The Sea to your Saves list
5300 Ocean Beach Blvd., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931   |  
Hotel amenities
Cedar Spings/MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NOT CHILD FRIENDLY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Unit #308 This a mixed used condo owners all tend to be OLDER and do not like small child. Complain to management every time the make any noise. Parked in marked parking spots with a permit hanging in our car, parked at the end of garage area Bill building maintenece was trying to have our car towed, knowing who were being we have been there for weeks. You can't park on end of parking row or by garage or on other side of building. Pool door was left so it could not be locked by Bill so grandaughter was able to get in pool area on her own he, Always tying door back so they don't have to lock and unlock gate. Children are not to splash to much around pool he old people do not appreciate it and complain. When laughing fun child disturb a dog they complain, management just wants total quite. Can not move a chair to much heard on the floor or next unit. Strip bar around the corner questionable crowd hanging there.
The view is great so is location, unit 508 and 308 both need up dating badly. Plain jane looks light don't work in kitchen, screen door broken, blinds falling apart. Bedding old and worn. The internet is a nightmare we asked and asked they never fixed it (we were there two months) Never did work.
Not relaxing always worried you are upsetting someone old. Should be made a old folks home.
Mamnager of condo does not live in the State of FL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

First time staying in a condo. After a 14-hour drive, was so pleased to find bed made! Glad to have easy parking and elevator to 5th floor. Unit was well equipped and nicely furnished, though a bit dated. Clean. Quiet. Management was off-site but very responsive by email and phone. Since we were visiting family, we didn't spend much time here. Didn't use kitchen or do laundry or take advantage of pool. But nice to hear and see the ocean.

Room Tip: 505 was not ocean front but had a nice ocean view. Ratings are for 505 only, since different units m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in Chateau by the Sea condo #305 for the week of Dec 21st to Dec 28th, 2013. The condo was "ok", very dated on the outside, entrance areas, elevators and hallways. There was an old rusted out shopping cart that you have to use to bring your belongings to your room and the place is old and smelly. However, we had a nice view, not ocean "front", but ocean view. The condo was small, especially the kitchen, but was nicely furnished, fairly updated and clean. The guest bedroom only had a day bed in it, with a pull out twin trundle under it, not really suitable for anyone older than a teen. The frame was bent on it and was not sturdy. The air/heat is set "for you" and can not be changed no matter how hot or cold you are. There is no one in the building for check in/out nor do you have anyone to help on the premises should there be an emergency. Location was great, couldn't be better and the grounds and pool area were gorgeous. Pet friendly and functional. The washer and dryer were small and not very functional, took hours to wash a load.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We arrived on Sunday afternoon after an eleven hour drive. The condo was in a great location on the beach. That's the best thing I can say. There was sand in the beds and the washcloths and towels were less than desirable. We called the owner and he had someone come fix the issues right away. The atmosphere was very pleasant and relaxing. However the unit was very old but clean. I wouldn't recommend this place if you're looking for deluxe accomodations. To add insult to injury we were contacted by the owner afterwards accusing my family of smoking weed. We were on a family vacation with our children so I have no idea where that information was derived from. Other than the fact we were kind enough to leave two candles we used to masque the smell of the unit. Needless to say...we enjoyed our vacation but I would never rent from this owner again. I forgot to mention the towel rack broke during our stay. It definitely wasn't from neglect on our part. As I stated earlier the place had some very old bathroom fixtures. The best room in the condo was the kitchen including the washer and dryer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Going with a condo/home rental as opposed to hotel can certainly pay off in both price and amenities, however, it's often a roll of the dice. We have stayed in many vacation rentals in many places since we first discovered sites such as flipkey and homeaway but this has, by far, been my favorite.

First of all, this condo is located by the pier which comes down to personal preference. I like all the activity and being close to everything. Within walking distance there is a Publix, a Dunkin Donuts, Ron Jon's Surf Shop and CVS, not to mention all the restaurants on the pier. Keep in mind, the pier is one of the busiest spots on the beach so if you want it more secluded you'd be better to stay further out. (Cape Canaveral would be a good bet) That's not to say, though, though, that the condo, itself, was noisy. Far from it. At night, sitting outside on the patio was very peaceful.

The pool, is a huge plus of this place. One of the rarer oceanside pools. Cocoa Beach has so many condos with pools in the parking lot. From the beach, you can walk right through a gate into the pool area. There is a place to rinse your feet, sand toys etc to the side.

The grounds are very well maintained and lovely.I lived in Fl years ago and you can hardly go anywhere(hotels included) without seeing at least one of those disgusting Palmetto bugs but I did not see any, inside Or out, the entire time I stayed.

As for our specific unit, it was perfect for us. Two bdrms, two baths, tvs in all the rooms, dvd player in the living room, dishwasher, lots of beach toys including three boogie boards.Very clean, decor was nice, bedrooms, bath and closets were all a good size. Kitchen was decently stocked with pots, pans and essentials.

I would note that the closet in the second bedroom has most of beach stuff. Therefore, we didn't investigate further and only located the boogie boards in the outside closet on the side of the patio towards the end of our trip.

We were located on the side of the complex on the first floor so we had no beach view but our sliding glass doors opened out onto a very small patio area which was located on a big grass strip (along with the other units on our side) which was surrounded by a short gated white fence. Next to this was a public beach access. We would've liked to have a view but sitting out on the patio was peaceful (my daughter liked to see if she could spot a lizard) and it was nice to just drag our beach stuff right over to the patio and not to have to wash it after every use like we would have had to do if we were not on the ground floor.

The owners, Chris and Carol, were very nice and accomodating. The only thing I would say is throw out the one beach chair which is broken( we lugged it over to the beach one day not realizing) and we would've liked a good kitchen knife. (Also, there was a washer and dryer but I didn't see any detergent so bring your own) We were having too much fun and to remember to get some and ended up with a couple loads of laundry to take home. :)

.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overall the pros of this unit and condo building:
-walking distance to the pier so easy access to food, drinks, etc.
-unit has two balconies overlooking the pool and beach...awesome view!
-living room furniture is comfortable and decor is updated
-TV is flat screen and large
-pots, pans, utensils, etc. are mostly provided

However, there were some definite cons:
-we went without AC for one night, the manager of this unit did indeed have it fixed the next day, however, no compensation was offered for our one night without air.
-DVD player in master bedroom broken.
-sheets provided in the master bedroom are synthetic satin that have been worn out (pilled so much that your feet will catch on them...yuck!). We ended up buying our own cotton sheets for the bed to use while staying there.
-guest bathroom is outdated and shower seems dirty...used the master bathroom for showering.
-kitchen is outdated and small.
-the place has been superficially cleaned but not thoroughly cleaned in awhile. Look at the toilet bowls (the bottom and in the crevices between the top and bottom of the bowl is disgusting), the side of the fridge has gunk that hasn't been cleaned off, there is a light coating of dust that has mixed with sand on literally all surfaces of furniture in the condo (even on the tops of the lamps so we knew it wasn't just us making a sandy mess everywhere).
-small ants in the kitchen...keep your food up off the counters for long periods of time or you will have it crawling with ants!

Other than that, great place! LOL

Room Tip: Go with one of the units on the 5th floor...we stayed in 509 I believe one year and it was much clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstadt, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the end of May 2013, the condo was absolutely wonderful the view as awesome, the condo was very clean and everything worked perfectly. It was very close to the Cocoa Beach Pier and withing walking distance of shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. This was one of the best vacations I have taken with my family. Very kid friendly. We will do this again.

Room Tip: Room 309 was just perfect with an excellent view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau By The Sea

Address: 5300 Ocean Beach Blvd., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cocoa Beach
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Chateau By The Sea Hotel Cocoa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.