We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Clams in 20+ years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cape Codder New England Seafood Restaurant

The Cape Codder New England Seafood Restaurant
2690 S. Atlantic Avenue, Cocoa Beach, FL
321-868-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 119 Restaurants in Cocoa Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Best Clams in 20+ years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

A MUST stop in Cocoa Beach
A relocated yankee. I always enjoy locating whole belly clams. These clams cooked to perfection. Most clams are overcooked with tough necks. These clams melted in our mouths and were perfect. Best in 20 years. My wife's seafood plate was fresh with generous portions.
It is a rare dining experience when most foods are memorable. Only comment was the french fries were a bit salty. An unexpected surprise was a side of pasta with an excellent manara sauce.
Small place not much to look at but THE FOOD. . .

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    6
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New England - Not Really”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I spent every summer of my life on Cape Cod and this is NOT a New England seafood restaurant. The wait is ridiculous and the chowder tastes more like wallpaper paste than anything. The prices are way too high and the food is not al that good. If you have never had REAL New England seafood, it may do, but not for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Yummm .... steamers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Always a 'must' stop when we're on the Space Coast. The long neck steamers are a 'gotta have', and we always seem to grab some buffalo shrimp to munch on as a late night snack. Everything from the more traditional sit down cod dinner to a great crab or lobster roll will have you coming back to try everything on the menu.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible Food - Avoid at All Costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife loves fish or any kind (especially cod) - her fish was a small portion that was gritty like nothing she had ever tasted. I ordered the hot lobster roll which was meager, greasy, a decent flavor but a thimble full of meat. Even the fries seemed like they had been sitting for a while or reheated a few times. Ambiance was non-existent and even faded Boston sports memorabilia on the walls could not save this disaster. I would avoid at any costs.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wish we lived in Cocoa Beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I read the good reviews here, and we agree The Cape Codder is a wonderful place with very tasty seafood from up North. The steamer clams were a treat and the fried whole belly clams were delicious. We also tried the Ipswich Ale which we loved, and @ 3.50 a bottle, it was a good deal. The chowder was loved by my family, but personally, I prefer a thinner version. If we had more time in Cocoa Beach, we would have returned to try the Cod and Haddock on the menu. The server was great and the restaurant was nicely decorated and shiny clean. Loved it!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cape Codder New England Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to The Cape Codder New England Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cape Codder New England Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.