We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Cabbage Fish Camp

Lone Cabbage Fish Camp
8199 Route 520, Cocoa, FL 32926-7214
1 321 632 4199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 105 restaurants in Cocoa
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fun time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a good time at Lone Cabbage. There is live music on the 1st and 3rd Sundays from 1-5pm, and the band was 80's music which we like. The restaurant is outside seating directly on the St. John's river. The food was good. We had fried fish, spicy shrimp, fries, Cole slaw, and okra.
It is popular with bikers, which in our opinion adds to the ambience as I am a biker also.
The best part, and why we chose Lone Cabbage, was the 30 minute $22 airboat ride on the river. We saw a few alligators and the ride was fun. If you go, be sure to ride the airboat!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    34
    45
    17
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the afternoon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I finally decided to give it a try on a nice Sunday afternoon and we were very happy we did. We arrived and purchased our tickets ($20/30mins with the online coupon), unlike other reviews all of the staff were friendly during our visit. We grabbed a beer and waited a couple minutes for the next boat to depart. The ride was a blast and the captain was very friendly and knowledgeable. After the ride we relaxed on the dock with a couple more drinks and some pretty decent food while we listened to the live band. The crowd was a wide assortment of locals/tourists, families and bikers all enjoying the funky atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We are a family of four, kids are 13 and 11. We took the 30 minute airboat ride. The scenery was pretty spectacular, including probably 20 variety of birds. The captain took us to several alligators resting by the river and shared lots of interesting facts and some corny jokes about them. There were a couple of other surprises on our trip like cattle wading in the river. Overall a great value, memorable experience and nice people.

We tried the alligator sampler platter after the trip. It was really inexpensive which was nice. Honestly it was so battered that any distinct taste of alligator was obliterated, but it made for a nice story anyway.

I agree with other posters, however, that the lady scheduling the rides is pretty unnecessarily nasty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not the friendliest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Its a very good thing that our receipt said thank you have a nice day at the bottom because the staff was very rude and antisocial. Especially the woman who worked selling the tshirts and scheduling the airboat rides. So service... not great. But totally woth it to go on the airboats. The capitans were simply fantastic and it was a blast.the airboat company is called twister airboat rides and is delightful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Didn't Eat Here But The Airboats are FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

$22 for a 30 minute or slightly longer airboat ride. Just about 18 miles from Cocoa Beach but easy to find.

You'll probably have to wait after you pay a bit, so just sit at the bar and have a drink (they do allow you to take your drinks with you on the boat).

I wasn't sure what to expect other than whizzing through marshlands, but our guide/captain was very informative. He stopped on many occasions to point out a Bald Eagle, Marsh Mellow plants, free-range cattle, egrets/herons and of course, Alligators. It was an absolute blast and I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Next time I'll do the longer tour, which you have to call ahead and reserve in advance. You won't be disappointed and it would be great for all ages.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Cabbage Fish Camp also viewed

 

Been to Lone Cabbage Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Cabbage Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.