We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful old building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clewiston Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clewiston Inn to your Saves list
Clewiston Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Royal Palm Ave., Clewiston, FL 33440   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clewiston
georgian bay
1 review
“beautiful old building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Superb dinner,great bar /lounge, interesting decor. Our room was musty,the breakfast was inedible, cold day old recycled bacon ,cold day old homefries,eggs were terrible

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    19
    14
    12
See reviews for
13
30
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We visited the Clewiston Inn to celebrate my birthday. It is clean, unique and comfortable. The inn is a "peek" at the past. You can almost smell and taste the sugar from the fields nearby. Is it ritzy? No. Does it make you think of travel in this country in the 50's and sixty's? Yes! So many of Florida's treasures are being torn down. How lovely that you can visit a part of yesteryear. I hope and pray this sweet hotel is around for many years. The food was fresh and tasted home cooked. The salad bar was excellent and the Sunday brunch omlets were wonderful, as was the fish, pasta and desserts. We are already looking ahead to our next visit! Enjoy the moment at this one-of-a-kind hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Just arrived home from a weekend trip to the Clewiston Inn. A friend had given us a gift certificate for a weekend package: 2 nights, Saturday breakfast and dinner, Sunday brunch. A thoughtful gift for sure and much appreciated since we haven't been able to afford a vacation for quite some time. Unfortunately, this hotel was sub-par. I will say this much: the staff was very good, very friendly for the most part and helpful. There was a manager walking around, I think he was the Food & Beverage manager who was very arrogant and somewhat rude. The lobby was very cute and immediately took you back to the heyday of the hotel and the area, some 50 years ago. Unfortunately, the guest rooms were still stuck in that time.

Although quite clean, the room we stayed in was very quaint and very small. The bed was uncomfortable, the furnishings were beat up, the sink was in a corner of the room opposite the minuscule bathroom and the carpet was old and worn. The drapes were thin, with holes, and they were transparent to light even at night. The guest room doors are also about 50 years old, letting in much light and noise from the very noisy hallways. On our first night, Friday night, people were talking and moving about in the hallways until 2:00 a.m., keeping me awake.

The Everglades Lounge was a big disappointment. Aside from the small pours for the price, the historic mural that lines the walls of the Lounge is in sore need of a cleaning! Can you believe that they close at 10:00 p.m. on a Friday night??

We ate breakfast and dinner on Saturday and brunch on Sunday there at the dining room. The food was of average quality, nothing special. At least the service was attentive. We're glad we didn't pay for the room or the food as it was worth about half of what they charge. We're also glad we stayed here as we were really looking forward to a romantic weekend getaway. We won't be staying here again.

The new owners are trying, but they have a long way to go.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Had a nice end room on the quiet side of the hotel away from the highway. The dinners are moderately priced, but I'd encorage others to eat elsewhere the meals were pretty uninspired and not prepared well.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach, florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

It was our Valentines day weekend with our young children, we love the idea of a small town and town fair. However, the heater did not work in our two bedroom room. it was 30 degrees that night! They sent over a guy to fix it and he said that he could not after an attitude threw some blankets at us and commented that they were from his own bed, (eeew)! My kids were crying all night that they were freezing, it must of been 50 f in the room, come to find out in the am that they had another room available to put us in and didn't offer it!! They treated us like we were begging for a handout! which we were surely not! the owner made it clear that i got that room for 179 not the 199 rate, I explained that it was because of my aaa discount, not because I complained!! Horrible service, unconcerned staff and owners do not recommend in any way! will stay at rolands from now on!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Central location, Southern hospitality and home-cooking, comfortable and clean rooms, lots of parking, outstanding staff

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

This is a lovely , character hotel staffed and frequented by the most hospitable people you could wish to meet.The place exudes a peaceful and friendly atmosphere.

We hadn't planned to even stop at Clewiston and were attracted to this establishment by the hand painted signs as we approached the area.

Located very near to Lake Okeechobee,the town of Clewiston is very neat and tidy and it was warming to see the Union Jack being hoisted alongside the Stars and Stripes on Veterans' Day (Remembrance Day in the Commonwealth).

A true taste of the hospitable south.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clewiston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clewiston Inn

Address: 108 Royal Palm Ave., Clewiston, FL 33440
Location: United States > Florida > Clewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clewiston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clewiston Inn was built in 1938 by the U.S. Sugar Corporation to host company executives and visiting dignitaries. The Inn is a very elegant structure in the Classical-Revival style. The Historic Clewiston Inn is a boutique hotel offering 57 rooms, 8 lovely courtyard villas, a 200 seat Colonial dining room, a world famous Everglades cocktail lounge, tennis courts, a safari massage spa and a lovely park filled with native Florida trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Clewiston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clewiston Hotel Clewiston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clewiston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.