We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long way for nothing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Adventures

Everglades Adventures
28965 Obern Road, Clewiston, FL 33440
863-983-8999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Clewiston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everglades Adventures- South Florida hunting charters for Osceola Turkey, Alligator and Wild Boar. Private hunting charters on pristine private ranches located close to the Florida Everglades. Overnight lodging provided for certain hunt packages in modern cabins. Charters provided year-round.
Evans, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Long way for nothing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Let me start by saying that Mark, Rita, and Jessie are really good people. We enjoyed the time and hunting stories they shared with us. The hog hunt was terrible. We paid for a full day hunt for 3 people and were all but guaranteed 3 hogs. We road around fields all day looking out of the windows for hogs to shoot. While we saw quite a few hogs to shoot, for some reason, they weren't the right ones. We broke for lunch from 11:30 to 3:00 and started riding again. We stalked up on a few groups of hogs, but were told they weren't shooters. As it got dark, we were allowed to shoot at a hog across a field but it was too far and too dark to get a good shot. There was another hunter there that day that also didn't get a shot. I'm sure he was also disapointed. That is 4 unsuccessful paying customers. We flew and drove a long way for this hunt to be so bad. As we were leaving, they didn't even seem sorry that we didn't have a successful hunt. If they were sorry, they didn't say it. Success isn't measured by killing an animal, but by having an oppertunity to kill one. If you don't want to ride around cow pastures looking at cows all day do not do the hog hunt.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsfla, Owner at Everglades Adventures, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Let me start by saying this is not a fair review.

We are sorry you were unsuccessful on the hunt with us and left disappointed. However, there are a few points to clarify.

The other hunter you mentioned that you were “sure left disappointed” has already rebooked for a return trip.

The reason you were not permitted to shoot certain hogs was due to the sows having litters or being pregnant with litters. This is our policy and was clearly explained.

The statement “Success isn't measured by killing an animal, but by having an opportunity to kill one” is correct. However you failed to mention the opportunity’s provided.

Your hunt with us that was “terrible” consisted of three hunters. The morning hunt ended with one hunter shooting and missing a hog so this hunter was provided an “opportunity” to harvest.

The afternoon hunt was split into two hunts with two guides due to one of the remaining hunters deciding on a trophy hog instead of a meat hog. The hunter in which I personally guided on the evening hunt had a clear “opportunity” to harvest a meat hog and passed. This individual stated to me he just really didn’t want to shoot one unless it was huge. This was his decision to pass and this hunter was provided an “opportunity”.

The other two hunters with Jesse both shot at one hog wounding the hog. This hog was lost due to bad shot placement. While the hunt ended without any hunter actually harvesting a hog the comment about the opportunity provided is not a fair one.

Our hunts are fair chase on open lands and are real hunting in spot and stalk situations. We don’t offer guaranteed harvests on our hunts. While the opportunities were limited on this particular hunt they were provided.

Again, I apologize if you are disappointed with your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    1
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“2 Boar bagged”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our hunt was this past October, everything was perfect beginning with the weather, and if I didn't know better i'd say Mark & Rita arranged that too!
Everglades Adventures is the real deal! Just the kind of Floridian's you want to know because they know exactly how to hunt, treat their clients, and run a first rate operation!
Mark & Rita's concern for the environment, and the animals in it, is truly aspiring!
I could go on with praise, but the bottom line is that my son-in-law and I came to hunt Wild Boar, we bagged one apiece and had meat on the table by the same evening, all without any stress. Our guide (Jes) was very helpful and knew his job well, afterward he dressed our hogs with surgical precision. Will definitely return next year, but this time it wont be just a hunt, it will be in support of Everglades Adventures, and to be in the company of such good people!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great people good equipment overall a great outfit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went on morning boar hunt with Jesse and could not have been happier with the team at Everglades Adventures! I will go back.

They were on time and all equipment performed beautifully. We left happy with a cooler full of meat and some good recipes to try out. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Great hunting experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The owners Mark and Rita are the the most hospitable and accommodating people we have met! There are a few aspects to hunts: your specific needs, the actual hunt, and hidden fees. Let me tell you, all of our extraordinary requests were met with a "No Problem" type attitude. The hunt was great. Jesse our guide, made us feel comfortable, advised us at every turn, and worked hard to make sure we had a successful hunt. This is NOT a guaranteed hunt and I almost went home empty-handed. But Jesse pushed until the sun was going down to get me the opportunity and I now have bragging rights back home! There are NO hidden fees. That's probably why this hunt seems more expensive. They take care of everything for the advertised price, even a big lunch. You won't go wrong with this team.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Would have been Excellent if there were Ducks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Everything from the minute I contacted Rita to schedule the duck hunt went smoothly. Met Mark at the boat ramp @ 5AM with his airboat. Boat is very well equipped and it all went great, we just needed more cooperation from the ducks. It is believed the birds moved out with the passing front from the day before. After about 3hours we then took a lengthy airboat ride to see if we could even see any ducks, and nothing but coots. Maybe it will be better next time...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Everglades Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.