We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roland Martin Marina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roland Martin Marina

Roland Martin Marina
920 E. Del Monte Ave, Clewiston, FL 33440
863 983 3151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 things to do in Clewiston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Roland Martin Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The marina has a full range of services: guides, bait, restaurant and bar and motel and condo complex.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tiki bar restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was very enjoyable to go there for a meal. The karioke night was really good with some talented local singers. The food was good and everyone seemed friendly. Overall a really fun, nice evening.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Tiki bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Decent food amid basic surroundings but they allowed the smoking of BIG Cigars---Unacceptable to our group

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW WINDSOR
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Book a professional guide and GO Fishing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My son and I have twice now booked a professional guide and fished out of the marina. The fishing was EXCELLENT on our latest trip. Landing a 8 pound large mouth, two 6 pounders and a total of 3 dozen fish in a period of about 3 hours. (A coming storm pushed us off the lake,) The marina is a hall for us so we booked a room for overnight and to get up without driving 2 hours for the 7AM date with the guide. Mike Balon was fantastic. Provided all the gear, bait and expertise we needed. AND he put us on FISH.....The room accomidations are sparse, but very clean and well kept. All a fishman needs. The TIKI bar is unique..be prepared they allow smoking there. AND yes for a Saturday night is was LOUD with a country & western band. After 10ish the fishermen hit the sack and a very young local crowd arrives. They ALL seemed to smoke. We both ordered a fried fish sandwich for a late snack and it came out HUGE and nicely done. Remeber this is bar food, not fine dining. The cafe is open early for fishermen and the breakfast as good. Nothing special and it is difficult to make a mistake with basic eggs and bacon. Oh yes, the coffee was very good and I was allowed to fill up my thermos for only the cost of an extra cup of Jo. We didn't go for the TIKI or the food, we went for the fishing...And the Bass fishing was EXCELLENT..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bass Heaven Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was my first guided fishing trip ever. If you are looking for an amazing fishing trip, this is the place to go. I am located in S. NH and decided to go with my brother for 4 days of fishing. The weather was very cold and windy. One day we had to finish early because the weather was so bad. Our guide was Mike Balon for all 4 days. Could not have asked for a better guide! He was entertaining, funny, cordial but most of all, an excellent guide. Despite the terrible weather we caught an amazing amount of fish. All 4 trips were scheduled for 4 hours. The fee was $300 for each trip and in addition we spent an average of about $100-$120/day on wild shiners. Although I thought the shiners were expensive, they were deadly and a big reason why we were so successful. My brother caught a nice 6 & 7 lb'r and I caught a monster 8 lb largemouth!.Had the weather been better, this would have been even better. Getting back to our guide, if you book a trip with a guide, by all means ask for Mike Balon. He was the absolute best. In all 4 trips we caught over 70 Bass, majority were between 3-5 lbs, but also a few monsters. TIKI bar was awesome, some nice entertainment and the food was better than expected. Accommodations were a little below average however the beds had nice sheets and what appeared to be new comforters and were very comfortable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roland Martin Marina also viewed

 

Been to Roland Martin Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roland Martin Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.