We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy Treatment by Sales Personnel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Summer Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Summer Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lousy Treatment by Sales Personnel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is my second time staying at this resort through AFVC. Was quite pleased with the accommodations although charging 12 dollars for the use of a life jacket was a little high. I can see a deposit but not a flat fee. After being talked into going to the sales pitch by Doug we did attend but after not agreeing to buy, we were treated very nasty by the woman who interviewed us near the end. Up until that point I would have considered coming back but after this treatment, I will choose to stay somewhere else. We tried to find Doug to inform him of our incident but he was no where to be found.

Room Tip: A lot of noise from upper floors when staying on bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    269
    119
    93
    158
See reviews for
461
116
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed a week at Summer Bay Resorts while we visited for Disney World. We are military and got an incredible rate on a two bedroom and could not pass up! We were nervous about staying off Disney property but this place is literally 6 miles down the road and took us less then 15 minutes to get to the parks every morning. There is a large bus that will transport at certain times guests to the park and we saw many people using it. The room came equipped with a starter package; soap for dishes, dish washer, washing machine, trashbags, etc... do not expect to get new towels or sheets but there is a washer and dryer which was great for cleaning our clothes when it was time to leave. There are so many heated pools to choose from and activities going on everyday at the clubhouse and even movies and games to borrow. We will be staying here in the future and are so happy and thrilled with this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

On the road driving back from Summer Bay and just had to write a review for this wonderful resort. Though I'm not too picky I do appreciate a clean and spacious place to stay on vacation and am willing to pay extra for a nice resort. We traded our platinum crown resort in Cabo San Lucas through RCI for Summer Bay so we could enjoy Disney with our family. It was myself, my husband, my mother, my 5 year old son and 3 year old daughter. I found the units to be HUGE (we stayed in a two bedroom) and the kitchen was spacious with anything we would ever need. washer/dryer in our room was probably the best amenity I could ask for. It is a huge gated community with about five groups of villas with each group having their own pool. we stayed in bldg 408 room 401 and did not have neighbors on either side this week-the whole resort seemed very uncrowded as this is typically the off season for disney. it was a quick 15 min ride to disney and we visited all of the parks over 5 days and hung out at downtown disney for a day as well. we spent most of the evenings at the pool next to big kahuna's bar drinking and eating while the kids swam in the heated pool. The food was okay, nothing spectacular. the bartender (female) was less than enthusiastic and was obviously just there to do her job. Perhaps we were just spoiled by the amazing service we received in disney that when she didn't greet us with a winning smile it was a surprise. I ran a few mornings while i was there (gym doesnt open till 7am so i had to run outside at 6am) and it was a very pleasant property to run around-it was approx 2 miles to run around the whole propery and down to the grocery store (Publix-very close and a great place to stock up on food and pool toys!) and 2 miles back to make a nice 4 mile run. i often saw tons of birds and turtles to make it interesting enough. We did participate in the pool side karaoke on thurs night and that was fun but the rain chased us away around 9pm.
Yes, you do need to pay a fee ($14) if you want your room serviced during your stay but I find that when we rent beach houses in LBI and Va beach so I'm not surprised by this. we actually didnt bother having it cleaned, we took our own trash out daily and washed our own towels in the washer. Do bring your own beach towels, the pool towels are very small. we stopped by Target (about 5 miles from resort) and bought a cheap umbrella stroller for $15 to use for my 5 year old for the week (he normally doesn't use a stroller) as stroller rentals in disney are $15/day for a single and $30/day for a double. must say that was the best $15 ever spent!!!
Overall very happy with this stay. very sad that the "1 in 3 year" rule applies as we would come back next year if we could.

heres a disney tip for those of you with little jedi's-
disney hollywood studios offers a jedi training academy- they have shows approx every 40 mins throughout the day weather permitting. they have about 15 children per show. you MUST get there before the park opens to sign your kids up for this because once all the spots are taken thats it! its in a building right in front of the Star Tours ride (if you go left of the big hat when you enter the park you will see it) a lady will be waving a light saber guiding you in. they will sign you up and assign you a time to return. when you come back they will put your child in a jedi robe and give them light saber and they will battle the real Darth Vader!!! By far the highlight of my son's birthday trip!!!

Room Tip: RCI travelers will only be given rooms in the 400 buildings. These are fine, as they are far enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom that was smaller than any other we have traded for. It was clean but the beds were terrible. The pull out couch was really rough even for the children. I was surprised that the bedding wasn't bed-bug proof because I haven't stayed anywhere in the last few years where the mattresses and bedding were preventative.
My biggest complaint is that there was a charge for everything that is usually inclusive when you stay at a resort - even in the US. Extra charges for cleaning services, to use the trampoline, to fish, to canoe, to golf - just about everything and if they didn't charge for it, like volley ball and basketball, you had only one hour with the ball at a time.
My second biggest complaint is that there was no pool deck presence. There were 4 or 5 pools but non of them had pool deck service and none of them had shade - which made it impossible to enjoy a day at the pool. A few hours is all that was tolerable in the heat. No umbrellas or tables for the lounge chairs and lounge chairs were scarce.
My kids had a great time fishing and didn't want to leave the resort, and so I would have been happy to stay all day and all night, if the food was decent and there was a little shade but as it was we left each day. One day we went to another resort...

Room Tip: One bedrooms are too small for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We used this holiday as part of our RCI points timeshare and overall were happy with what we got. As others have mentioned it is a huge resort with every grouping of apartments having its own pool area. That said only the pool by use (building 503) and the pool in the clubhouse were heated and had bars.We stayed just after Spring Break and found that the resort was busy but not crowded like other reviews have said.

Good points:
Good accomodation - nothing fancy but it was clean, decent kitchen equipment (although no kettle!) and spacious (4 people in a 2 bed apartment).
Great pool for kids - the tempature was lovely and it is safe with fountains for the kids to play in.

Average points:
Location - while it isn't too bad to get to disney (about 15/20 mins) it was a bit of a trek to Universal and to International Drive
Activities - my soon did one or two of the activities which were ok and the Cinema night by the pool was nice but the other activities were a bit dated and tired.
Wifi - we had free access which was slow but fine for what we needed.
Timeshare - they called us 2 times regarding the timeshare presentation but we just gave them a firm no and they then left us alone.

Bad points:
The noise from the bar by the pool can be heard in the front bedroom. Didn't both my children but it would have annoyed me if I had been in the room.
The towels at the pool are tiny - like hand towels - bring your own beach towel.
Service - the people at the desk don't have a clue about anything. Although when we did have a small problem with one of the toilets someone came within and hour.
Shade at the pool - while there are umbrella's for the seating areas beside the bar and one or two other seating areas there are none for the sun loungers which can be a problem with the heat of the sun and if you have little ones.

Overall it was an decent place to stay for a family holiday to disney. Its not 5 star or even 4 star but it is good qualitiy 3 star.

As a small tip - its worth going out to Celebration one evening as its a lovely little village atmosphere about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We exchanged our timeshare for this excellent large gated resort. Two swimming pools, one with a lounge for evening entertainment. Small lake with kayaks and assorted water toys available to rent. Disney World kiosk on site to purchase park passes. Craft room available for children.

Clean, well furnished rooms with air conditioning. Close to Disney Parks, restaurants and shopping. On-site store was closed for remodeling. Enjoyed the holiday lighted decorations throughout the resort and inside the lobby.

We chose to listen to the timeshare spiel and it was not high pressured. We received a 2 for 1 ticket to SeaWorld in exchange. We would exchange here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was apprehensive about some of the negative reviews and was prepared to go elsewhere if things didn't work out. After about two days I had to go back to read the negative reviews to see which one of us was crazy because this family resort was wonderful. Check in was friendly and on time. There was no line. The two bedroom unit in bldg 402 was spacious, spotless, adequately stocked and well maintained. The designer folded towels and dishtowels were a nice touch. The sunset views from the balcony on the third floor were beautiful. The elevator was handy for luggage. The rooms were solidly quiet from any noise on either side or above. The water pressure was good, as was the temperature.

There were eight of us in two units. We had three grandkids with us who loved the resort amenities as much as the theme parks we visited. We played shuffleboard (free), played mini golf ($5), on the jungle gym and water feature jungle gym (free). We hung out at the club house pool (free, open 24-7 and heated), hung out at the unit pool, cooked out on the gas grills and enjoyed the company of other guests. There is a Publix right outside the main gate. There is gated security and activities and music on a daily basis. I do not know what more one could ask for in a family resort.

We did not take a time share pitch. We just unplugged the phones and did our own thing all week. Nobody came around to bother us and we all had cell phones so not problems on our end.

On site food was so-so. We had the pizza one night (about the quality level of a grocery store frozen pizza). We had lunch at the Big Kahuna one day and the sandwiches and hot dogs were above average. Service as always good. The drinks at the pool bar were a little pricey but very tasty. There was a "Bucket o' Bacardi" special one day that was well worth the $10 price tag.

It is well located to access all of the most major attractions in about twenty minutes or less barring traffic.

I have been trading through RCI for 23 years. I would put this above Vistana for a family oriented resort.

Room Tip: Higher floors are not a problem as the buildings have an elevator. I would recommend the largest uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Resort

Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts
Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando Resort has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando’s world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando Resort is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we’ve got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot®, Magic Kingdom® Park or Universal Studios Florida®.Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando Resort can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Summer Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.