We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Save Saved
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlantic City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We've exchanged our time share for 3 different places so far and this was by far the worst.

The unit was really small. We usually stay in a 2BR, but only a 1BR w/pull out couch was available so we opted to try it for our family of 4 (my wife, 2 young boys, and me). It never felt comfortable because we felt we were always cramped. There wasn't a place we could all sit & eat. We usually buy food in the beginning of the week so we can enjoy a few "home-cooked" meals (and save money), but after cooking breakfast one day we realized the kitchen was really inadequate and decided that we wouldn't be cooking again. The appliances are really outdated...the largest cooktop burner didn't operate. The shower valve was inoperable by anyone in my family except me (I had to turn it off and back on every time someone wanted the water temperature even slightly adjusted). There was what appeared to be mouse feces on a clean plate in the cabinet. Someone spilled something sticky down the steps from our unit before we got there and we had to walk around it for half of the week until they finally cleaned it.

Their services are subpar as well. They won't clean your room unless you pay a fee (I believe it was $14 for a "quick clean"). They won't exchange your towels unless you pay a fee (I believe it was $5). You can't use the trampolines, etc. at the lake unless you pay a fee (I believe it was $12 pp).

The staff seemed pleasant. They only called once on the first day (that I know of) to try to sell us a time share. I was actually hoping they called again towards the end of the week so that I could tell them why we wouldn't buy there.

The proximity to Disney parks is not nearly as convenient as hotels on I-drive. We had to sit in bumper-to-bumper traffic every morning on Rte 192 to get to any of the parks...we left early yet didn't make a single park opening.

We would definitely not stay at this resort again. It did not at all meet our expectations, and to say we were disappointed would be an understatement. When traveling to Disney, we always look forward to spending a few days at our resort to relax (and recover). But the accomodations, the discomfort of our room, and the extra fees at this resort made us spend our days "off" from the parks elsewhere (Disneyquest, minigolf, etc.). This was just a place to sleep, and even that wasn't done comfortably.

Room Tip: If you like to enjoy balconies for eating, etc., check the location of your room. Our balcony was di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    297
    133
    97
    164
See reviews for
494
130
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We rented a one-bedroom condo for our family of four for one week. The size of the accomodations were great which included a decent sized balcony, full kitchen with everything we needed for the week. I would have preferred a few more pillows - I didn't make this request but I'm sure if we had asked they would have accomodated us. The king size bed was comfortable - the pull out sofa was a typical pull out sofa.
The resort has four salt-water pools with hot-tubs at each, two pools have a bar and they were all kept very clean. One pool had evening entertainment which was fun. They were always stocked with towels (my preference would be larger towels but not a big deal) and each had a shower to rinse off if you like.
The resort was about 2/3 full and was very quiet in my opinion.
In addition to the pools there is a mini-golf course, a tennis court, a horse-shoe toss, and a basketball court. There is also a lake that has water structures and other items you can rent (sea-dos, paddle boats, fishing rods, etc.). This is run by a third party company. The young man we spoke to wasn't super helpful but we understood they did not represent the resort.
There is a station set up for hair braids which was appealing to us as our daughter wanted this done. Again, they aren't run by the resort but a third party company. They didn't show up for the 2.5the day we wanted to use the service because of a potential storm. The storm didn't happen and my daughter did not get her braids :( Not the fault of the resort but she was disappointed.
We could have opted for the breakfast tour and time-share presentation but we did not. They actually pay you for this so it was tempting but we simply could not carve out the time to take part.
The resort was very close to the parks and shopping.
I would recommend Summer Bay Resort

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013


We stayed at this location during spring break. It is a time-share location so we were invited to a presentation. We were called three times a day starting early in the morning until we strongly declined the presentation. This was annoying because we already have a time-share.

They have four pools. Two are larger and two are smaller. There were never enough lounge chairs for everyone at any of the pools. It's not very relaxing to have to drop your belongings on the cement around the pool and sit and wait for someone to leave so you can have a chance at getting their chair. Meanwhile, several other sets of people are waiting for the exact same thing. The booth at the pool offering tattoos and fancy braids was so disorganized that parents were frustrated and fighting over who was next. My daughter waited for two days to have a braid with beads done but loved it when it was finally completed.

This facility also has tennis courts and a mini golf course.

The resort offered activities for families at different times during the day. We had fun at the ones we attended.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The free wifi signal was only strong enough to get online while sitting by the main pool or in the activity room near the business center. The rest of the time it was spotty and frustrating. (They do offer upgraded wifi for a fee.) Although the kids had just as much right to sign up to use the business center, it was always full of kids and teens and was not very available for actual business use.

The rooms looked repainted. Basic necessities were provided including the usual basic kitchen equipment but the pans and utensils were so cheap (cheaper than what we use for camping ) it was hard to cook with them. I highly recommend that you bring your own frying pan and flipper. Also, the walls and ceilings are very thin. We could hear the woman across the hall talk on the phone and the people upstairs walking every time they were around. The window coverings did not keep the outside light from shining into our bedrooms so we had to hang towels to cut out some of the light.

We probably would not stay here again because it was definitely the least relaxing and restful experience we've had compared to other places we've stayed.




  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked later than usual so couldn't get any hgv grand vacations (which are fab).
That said the bar was set high (although this was less points).
Got block 502 room 304. Great layout, good space/size. Near best pool. Found a bug on day 2 and room was sprayed. No housekeeping in 9 day stayed. Paid for basic one ($14)-Hoover, beds made, bins emptied, fresh towels. Was disappointed to have to call as no fresh towels or bins emptied. Guy on reception argumentative, but problem resolved once spoke to his supervisor.
Did presentation. Took 2 hours and even then was difficult to leave. Turns out its $65k for one week in a 3 bed bungalow(which was lovely), but really?? $3 million for one bungalow. Sales manager total very condescending.

Overall suited our needs but with so many alternatives nearby, I think I'd try elsewhere.

Room Tip: Blocks 500 are newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here as a guest of an RCI member. They hit us up at check in to do the time share preview. They also called multiple times daily and we did not answer the phone.

We stayed in building 504 room 202. It was a 2 bedroom condo. It was very roomy. We are a family of 5 and had plenty of room. Kitchen had everything we needed. Bedding was weak. Furniture was dusty. Walls were dirty. Was a little used and abused. But we did like the overall space.

Location of our building was good, across from nicest pool in resort with tiki bar and grill. They had nightly entertainment at this pool which was nice. We really enjoyed the outdoor movie night at the pool. During the day they had activities at this pool. We played bingo, poker and trivia. Pool was really crowded. Pool at clubhouse was insanely crowded. Seems everyone goes to the two pools with bars.

Pool furniture was terrible. Took advice of another review and brought own beach towels. Pool towels were the worst. Patio area of pool was dirty all week. Not sure what cleaners were doing in the morning. Same garbage in mulch and bushes all week. Plastic Easter egg shells were never picked up. A kid pooped in pool our first night. It was only roped off that night. Opened in morning. Yuck! No poolside service. Only at bar. Nobody walking around cleaning during the day. Lots of cigarette butts. Not impressed with pool.

The only other amenity we used was putt putt. Only $5 and it was nice.

Location was good. Publix, Chinese, Papa John's, Anytime Fitness right next door. Close to Disney.

Thanks to other reviews we brought extra laundry supplies, cleaning supplies, beach towels. We took own beverages and snacks to pool.

All in all it was a good week. But, we would probably never stay here again. If it was cleaner, maybe.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family went to Summer Bay for Spring Break. We had a great time. The room was clean, plenty of towels and more importantly - not a single bug or "Palmetto Bug" in sight. I had read reviews about others' experiences with that so I was a bit nervous. We were a bit disappointed with how small the 1 bedroom is. It just doesn't give you much room to move around in, especially for a family of 4. The only downside of our stay was the time share presentation we attended. We had gotten a good deal through these marketing companies that require you to attend a timeshare presentation. Although our sales guy was kind and not pushy, (GREATLY appreciated) there was only one shuttle running so it took an extra 25 minutes to get to the condo and come back. After we politely refused to buy and thought we were being sent down to get our freebies (Ticket Voucher), there was another lady wanting to sell us another week's package at Summer Bay with yet ANOTHER time share presentation. And she did this all under the premise of "I just need you to answer this survey". Still it is a great place to stay. I would come back (for a 2br) Just be prepared to stand the heat of these timeshare presentations.

Room Tip: Request a room near the clubhouse to have a quick walk to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Summer Bay as RCI owners and really enjoyed it. It is convenienty located to all the parks and they offer free shuttle service to the park if you desire it. There were multie swimming pools, a great poolside bar, and other water activities in the lake. The room was spacious, it showed a little bit of its age but was still very clean and did not have an odor. We would stay at Summer Bay again and would recomend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando Resort has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando’s world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando Resort is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we’ve got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot®, Magic Kingdom® Park or Universal Studios Florida®.Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando Resort can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.