We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reel'um in Boys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Laurel, Mississippi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Reel'um in Boys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

In the fall of 2012 our household got a telemarketing offer from Summer Bay Resort in the Disney World area. This was not a freebie you had to pay to stay and take a marketing meeting of not more than 90 minutes for this 21st Century version of timeshare ownership. The Resort was nice,well located,well keep,easy to get to and as easy to fall into as an open snake pit. The 90 minute presentation was over at two hours
when I refused to say yes to the endless money pit that is a timeshare. The sales rep
knew the resort and what it had to offer very well but rude took over at the sound of no!
I would stay at Summer Bay agian but not as an owner,you see the location can be booked like any other condo or hotel chain. I would advise anyone with a love for Disney area attractions to try them but don't take the bait and be pulled into a deal that could spoil the thought of vacationing for you forever.

Room Tip: Take a condo... you can get 1,2,and 3 bedrooms; base it on the group size and you get to use the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    387
    175
    106
    170
See reviews for
657
186
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was meeting some friends to play golf in Orlando at Orange County National which is close to Disney. I needed a place to stay for 2 nights & found this place on one of the internet travel sites (Expedia?). What initially scared me was the cost per night ($55-$60). I was looking for a clean room, w/a clean bathroom. However, the reviews I read on this place were all very good, so I figured to give it a try. I cannot tell you what a GOOD decision that was. The room was as nice as most $200/night hotels, & It was super clean. Hands down, the best hotel value I have ever come across. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to any family doing the Disney vacation, but not wanting to pay the $250/night price for the Disney Hotel. I guarantee you the rooms here are the equal of the top Disney hotels. Also included was a very nice hot breakfast. I will be staying here exclusively anytime I am in the Orlando area.
Tommy G.
Basking Ridge, NJ.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have no idea what the previous reviewer was talking about, because I thought just the opposite of this timeshare. We stayed (my wife, 22 yr old daughter, 19 yr old son) the week of 3/16 - 3/23 in the 2nd level of Bldg 5 in a 2 bedroom suite right next to the main pool and lobby. Rooms were clean, furniture somewhat outdated, but had flatscreens in both bedrooms, and a 42" flatscreen in the living room. The grounds were very well maintained, and they had music playing along the sidewalks by the lake which was a nice touch. Our room overlooked the lake, which was low due to the lack of rain in the area for quite some time. Pool was great, and had the tiki bar open throughout. Food up at the Big Kahuna was average (just had burgers) but really didn't expect much. Saying this was not in a great neighborhood was strange - because they are selling discount tickets along Rt 192??? Wasnt as if they were selling them on the side of the road. The entrance was gated, and the guard needed to see your parking pass to be waived through, and they always did this with a smile on their face. You are basically 10 - 15 min from Disney depending on traffic. The lights are ridiculously long but that's not the fault of the Resort! Maybe this isn't a 5 star resort, but for the price and point value needed to rent, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a great week in Florida but won't stay at Summer Bay Resort again if we can help it. The units were run down, the landscaping was very tired and everything was just a little on the down side of timeshares. It's quite ways from Disney but not too bad. Our kids had fun on their beach inflatables and the main pool was ok. There are a lot of activities but most of them had fees associated with them. I'd rather pay little more up front and not have the hassle of paying for every little thing we might want to do for an hour. The security is marginal and it's not in a great neighborhood, lots of "cheap tickets" for sale. There was a light outside the bedroom window that kept us awake until we unscrewed the bulbs. needless to say no one noticed this during the week we were there. My overall impression is that it's ok in a pinch when there isn't anything else but it's far from a first choice.

Room Tip: The villas don't have a pool near them. There is an unheated pre school water feature only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a really good resort and time share. The rooms are spacious and very clean! In fact, they may have the best housekeeping staff that I have seen. The location is close to Disney, but far from the other venues. There are plenty of good food places around and a grocery next store. Much quieter then the bigger resorts. I would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

From other review and from our current experience staying here, this is clearly a hit or miss kind of place. We rolled the dice. We are RCI members who used points to stay here. It looks wonderful from the pictures. The unit is nice and we are on a 3rd floor end unit in Bldg 105 and were thrilled about that. Our experience so far: After we were checked in, we drove to the unit using a great map but, because nothing is marked, we walked around for 20 minutes asking for where the unit was. Once we found it, the unit was still not ready for 60 more minutes. We kept busy til 5:30. The facilities are well maintained and where we are is quiet at night. If you are on the other side of the building and have small children, it is great as there is a kid's play area. If you don't, you will want to ask about where to be placed as it is active. Here is our challenge which represents the lack of take charge attitude if there is a problem: We came home from the parks on Monday and pressure washing was going on in the next building. It was ongoing from 3:30 to 6:30 and extremely loud. We called at 6:30 to see when they would wrap up. We were told that they could not tell us. Folks below us have infants and everyone was upset. I still have yet to receive a phone call back (other than an ill timed sales associate trying to do her job and get us to a preso) so we went over and asked the workers in Spanish when they would finish. Had we been told that they were to finish at a decent hour, we would have been fine. Instead, the operator and workers ignored us. So far, we rate this experience as marginal, at best, due to the lack of ability to take charge and provide answers, including at check in. The place is virtually empty so it was unnecessary to place several guests right next to the building being renovated and all could have had their needs met, including the resort. Poor form so far all the way around.

Room Tip: Ask about renovations in the area and timeframes on activities and the proximity of your room to act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When I arrived my bathroom was dirty. That was very disappointing!! The internet is very slow. It took over 12 hours to download a 56 minute TV show from ITUNES. Now the internet service is contracted out to a company in Semi California. I wouldn't be writing this review if it weren't for the fact that the Front Desk could have cared less about my issue. I called every day hoping for some help and all they kept saying is it has nothing to do with us.
I will NOT return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.