We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Run down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a great week in Florida but won't stay at Summer Bay Resort again if we can help it. The units were run down, the landscaping was very tired and everything was just a little on the down side of timeshares. It's quite ways from Disney but not too bad. Our kids had fun on their beach inflatables and the main pool was ok. There are a lot of activities but most of them had fees associated with them. I'd rather pay little more up front and not have the hassle of paying for every little thing we might want to do for an hour. The security is marginal and it's not in a great neighborhood, lots of "cheap tickets" for sale. There was a light outside the bedroom window that kept us awake until we unscrewed the bulbs. needless to say no one noticed this during the week we were there. My overall impression is that it's ok in a pinch when there isn't anything else but it's far from a first choice.

Room Tip: The villas don't have a pool near them. There is an unheated pre school water feature only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    389
    175
    106
    170
See reviews for
659
187
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a really good resort and time share. The rooms are spacious and very clean! In fact, they may have the best housekeeping staff that I have seen. The location is close to Disney, but far from the other venues. There are plenty of good food places around and a grocery next store. Much quieter then the bigger resorts. I would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

From other review and from our current experience staying here, this is clearly a hit or miss kind of place. We rolled the dice. We are RCI members who used points to stay here. It looks wonderful from the pictures. The unit is nice and we are on a 3rd floor end unit in Bldg 105 and were thrilled about that. Our experience so far: After we were checked in, we drove to the unit using a great map but, because nothing is marked, we walked around for 20 minutes asking for where the unit was. Once we found it, the unit was still not ready for 60 more minutes. We kept busy til 5:30. The facilities are well maintained and where we are is quiet at night. If you are on the other side of the building and have small children, it is great as there is a kid's play area. If you don't, you will want to ask about where to be placed as it is active. Here is our challenge which represents the lack of take charge attitude if there is a problem: We came home from the parks on Monday and pressure washing was going on in the next building. It was ongoing from 3:30 to 6:30 and extremely loud. We called at 6:30 to see when they would wrap up. We were told that they could not tell us. Folks below us have infants and everyone was upset. I still have yet to receive a phone call back (other than an ill timed sales associate trying to do her job and get us to a preso) so we went over and asked the workers in Spanish when they would finish. Had we been told that they were to finish at a decent hour, we would have been fine. Instead, the operator and workers ignored us. So far, we rate this experience as marginal, at best, due to the lack of ability to take charge and provide answers, including at check in. The place is virtually empty so it was unnecessary to place several guests right next to the building being renovated and all could have had their needs met, including the resort. Poor form so far all the way around.

Room Tip: Ask about renovations in the area and timeframes on activities and the proximity of your room to act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When I arrived my bathroom was dirty. That was very disappointing!! The internet is very slow. It took over 12 hours to download a 56 minute TV show from ITUNES. Now the internet service is contracted out to a company in Semi California. I wouldn't be writing this review if it weren't for the fact that the Front Desk could have cared less about my issue. I called every day hoping for some help and all they kept saying is it has nothing to do with us.
I will NOT return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous week in Florida. My husband and daughter and son-in-law stayed in a two bedroom condo at Summer Bay Resort. While we had no intention of purchasing their "points" package or "time share", we had to attend the presentation the next morning. It was a very enjoyable 2 hours. We were driven around the entire resort and got to see how all of the different rooms were situated. After it was over, we informed our salesman that we were not interested in a time share and said our goodbyes to him. We were never contacted again during our stay by anyone from the resort. A previous reviewer had said that he was constantly bothered by phone calls from Summer Bay salesmen during his entire stay. That never occurred with us.

The staff at Summer Bay were all very friendly. In fact one night my husband dropped a large bottle of wine right outside our condo door. We immediately called down to housekeeping and by the time we hung up the receiver, they were at our door cleaning up our mess. We also requested additional towels since we used several of the towels that were provided with our condo to start cleaning up the spilled wine. They actually gave us an additional 6 clean towels. They were very helpful and friendly to us.

We would definitely return to stay at Summer Bay. Their Big Kahuna bar has live music and great frozen drinks. We spent every night there ending our days of doing the Disney Parks and Universal Studios. Great way to wind down!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I felt that I should review this resort in response to the negative reviews it has received. This property was perfect for our family trip. We traveled with 4 adults (69-34) and one toddler.

The condo unit we received (204-102A) was more than adequate for our needs. It was easily accessible from everywhere on the property and was well equip. The wifi was free and we had a clear, strong signal in our unit at all times. We enjoyed the ground floor so our toddler could play on the patio and we could get to the BBQs easily. The check in (7pm) was breeze. The timeshare people (the resort calls it VIP) quickly understood that we were not interested and did not approach us at all.

Pros: easy check-in, no timeshare pressure, very large rooms and living space. Good, free wifi. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were clean and soft. Washer and dryer worked well (bring laundry soap and dryer sheets). The property landscaping was lovely. There were large, Weber barbeques throughout the resort that we used almost every night. The grills were always sparkling clean. The only pool we used was the Big Kahuna pool and we loved it. My toddler especially loved the zero depth entry, warm water and water fountains. The drive to Disney and Sea World was short (some traffic as to be expected), and the drive to Tampa for baseball and Busch Gardens was also pretty quick (about an hour). We used the Disney shuttle once which was free. We were able to take our stroller on the shuttle without an questions. We also us 'A Babies Best Friend' for rental of a play pen, high chair and toys. All were in perfect condition and very clean. The Pubix grocery store has everything we needed at very good prices.

Cons: carpet was stained in spots, the counter tops could use replacing. Our view was not great (marsh land). We would have liked screens on the patio doors to keep them open and enjoy the natural air instead of air conditioning. The pool towels were small and scratchy - bring your own.

Our experience: we did not see any cockroaches, we were never approached by timeshare sales people. The condo was perfect for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Mills, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We rented 2 of the 2 Bedroom Condos located in the 402 building. I have absolutely no idea why anyone would give this resort a poor review. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We arrived about 4 hours prior to actual check-in time of 4pm. We were able to check-in at that time and the front desk staff took our cell phone number and called when our rooms were ready. They called around 2pm, which I never expected to be called any sooner than 4pm!! The resort was very clean and grounds were well kept, pools were all sparkling clear. The room had nice appliances and each kitchen was well stocked.
We ate at the restaurants located at resort which were a bit pricey but the food was plentiful and very good!
The drive to Disney and SeaWorld were very easy and took about 15 minutes. One morning we got off to a late start and the traffic was much heavier than our usual 8:30am drive.
I would definitely return to this resort for my next Florida vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.