We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Save Saved
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
Hotel amenities
Falmouth,Massachussets
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When we checked in after our flight and were tired we were met in parking lot by person trying to sell place.would not take no for answer to set il a meeting. Almost all of the amenities you had to pay for except swimming pools.would boy recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    288
    129
    94
    160
See reviews for
478
127
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice place to stay. Gated resort. Rooms were well maintained. Living areas were big. Not much on views. No pressure on buying into their time shares. Not too far away from any of the area's attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

While being scammed by the summers bay system,It was brought to my attention about how time shares and summer vacationing were synonomous. while being ripped off by these crooks I find it necessary to report to anyone reading this, that summers bay resort and time share is the worst facility we ever dealt with, while they promise you the world, you actually only get 1 weeks vac every other year, but constantly pay maintenance fees. and always get the worst condo when you do go there. I would recommend to anyone do not consider getting a time share anywhere especially in florida. these are well thought about scams running amok in this country. you can plan and exercise your own vacation anywhere in the world without RCI, or these people. ,don't let them fool you, there is no bargain. it's all a big scam. I'm ashamed of myself for getting caught up in their nonsense. should of known better. For that I paid out my butt for something we couldn't use when we wanted to. The summersbay system should be ashamed of themselves, but, I know they won't be, because they're crooked and liars. I do not reccommend anyone buying into summers bay condos or the RCI SYSTEM, YOU CAN DO IT YOURSELF AND ENJOY IT SO MUCH MORE. SINCERLY MICHAEL COMBS

Room Tip: stay away from these people. they are the best scam artists in the country
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We are here at Summer Bay on the last night of our 5 night package. This is our second time here in the last 3 years. Both times we came as part of a pay almost nothing and stay at the resort but you have to listen to the time share pitch. We didn't buy the timeshare the first time but thought the resort was beautiful, so we agreed to do it again. We didn't buy the timeshare the second time either but we will consider it in the future.
Bottom line, the resort facilities were imaculate and very well maintained. I travel extensively on business and would consider this as in the top of the market for this type of acomodations. Our two bedroom Villa ws gorgeous. The sports and activity facilities are great. location is fine at about a half hour from Disney, or in my case half an hour from the convention centre.
The sales pitch was not a hard sell but they did give their best efforts to show us they had a program that was worth investing in.
Both trips were just my wife and I, but this is a great place for families and I will recomend it to my friends.
I've read some negative reviews, but we have had 2 very enjoyable stays here and will likely be back.

Room Tip: Although the lake is small a room with a view of the lake is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Summer Bay was a respectable resort. I stayed in buidling 1, which is older. Not the cleanest, tub had hair in it, but not a huge complaint. I always do a thorough cleaning and Lysol spray down on even the cleanest rooms. When I wiped down the sofa the rag was very dirty. Stayed in a 2 bedroom (1 with a queen, and 1 with 2 twin beds for the kids). Kitchen was a must have with kids. Unit also had a washer and dryer, whcih was convenient. Pool was nice. Wi-fi not included, had trouble getting it to connect one night. A couple of bulbs were out, but they came up the next morning and replaced them. Pools and cabanna bars were nice. One had alot of bees, but my husband and I had been drinking so we thought it was pretty funny that we had to keep "fighting" the bees away from our fruity drinks. We took a peddle boat out on the lake which was nice. Too cold for the bouncy slide and other water activities, but looked fun. Put-put was nice and affordable. Time share presentation took 4 hours, but the young lady was very nice. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent eight nights in a two bedroom condo. We were in the 500 buildings, so the newest of the condos located at Summer Bay Resort. Condo was very nice and was clean. Check in was late afternoon on a Friday and was quick and easy. Other times during the week, I saw cars lined up for check in so we must have timed it just right. The 500 buildings are located near the Big Kahuna bar located at the pool. Weather wasn't great the week that we were there so didn't spend much time at the pool. Grounds were well maintained. Didn't take advantage of any of the other ammenities offered at the resort.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the hotel - then want the 100 condos - the 500 condos are the newest and at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here while visiting with friends from Norway. We had the perfect set of condos: a two bedroom condo adjoining a one bedroom condo with a private connecting entry hall. I thought I had rented a three bedroom condo, but this was so much better. We had enough togetherness, and enough privacy. Honestly, we spent most of our time at Disney. The location was very convenient for daily visits. But, the facilities here looked very nice. We just had other plans and didn't use much of what was offered. The place was well maintained and we were quite satisfied.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando Resort has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando’s world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando Resort is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we’ve got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot®, Magic Kingdom® Park or Universal Studios Florida®.Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando Resort can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.