We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“summers bay resot system” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
Hotel amenities
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“summers bay resot system”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

While being scammed by the summers bay system,It was brought to my attention about how time shares and summer vacationing were synonomous. while being ripped off by these crooks I find it necessary to report to anyone reading this, that summers bay resort and time share is the worst facility we ever dealt with, while they promise you the world, you actually only get 1 weeks vac every other year, but constantly pay maintenance fees. and always get the worst condo when you do go there. I would recommend to anyone do not consider getting a time share anywhere especially in florida. these are well thought about scams running amok in this country. you can plan and exercise your own vacation anywhere in the world without RCI, or these people. ,don't let them fool you, there is no bargain. it's all a big scam. I'm ashamed of myself for getting caught up in their nonsense. should of known better. For that I paid out my butt for something we couldn't use when we wanted to. The summersbay system should be ashamed of themselves, but, I know they won't be, because they're crooked and liars. I do not reccommend anyone buying into summers bay condos or the RCI SYSTEM, YOU CAN DO IT YOURSELF AND ENJOY IT SO MUCH MORE. SINCERLY MICHAEL COMBS

Room Tip: stay away from these people. they are the best scam artists in the country
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    308
    143
    98
    162
See reviews for
511
135
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We are here at Summer Bay on the last night of our 5 night package. This is our second time here in the last 3 years. Both times we came as part of a pay almost nothing and stay at the resort but you have to listen to the time share pitch. We didn't buy the timeshare the first time but thought the resort was beautiful, so we agreed to do it again. We didn't buy the timeshare the second time either but we will consider it in the future.
Bottom line, the resort facilities were imaculate and very well maintained. I travel extensively on business and would consider this as in the top of the market for this type of acomodations. Our two bedroom Villa ws gorgeous. The sports and activity facilities are great. location is fine at about a half hour from Disney, or in my case half an hour from the convention centre.
The sales pitch was not a hard sell but they did give their best efforts to show us they had a program that was worth investing in.
Both trips were just my wife and I, but this is a great place for families and I will recomend it to my friends.
I've read some negative reviews, but we have had 2 very enjoyable stays here and will likely be back.

Room Tip: Although the lake is small a room with a view of the lake is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Summer Bay was a respectable resort. I stayed in buidling 1, which is older. Not the cleanest, tub had hair in it, but not a huge complaint. I always do a thorough cleaning and Lysol spray down on even the cleanest rooms. When I wiped down the sofa the rag was very dirty. Stayed in a 2 bedroom (1 with a queen, and 1 with 2 twin beds for the kids). Kitchen was a must have with kids. Unit also had a washer and dryer, whcih was convenient. Pool was nice. Wi-fi not included, had trouble getting it to connect one night. A couple of bulbs were out, but they came up the next morning and replaced them. Pools and cabanna bars were nice. One had alot of bees, but my husband and I had been drinking so we thought it was pretty funny that we had to keep "fighting" the bees away from our fruity drinks. We took a peddle boat out on the lake which was nice. Too cold for the bouncy slide and other water activities, but looked fun. Put-put was nice and affordable. Time share presentation took 4 hours, but the young lady was very nice. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent eight nights in a two bedroom condo. We were in the 500 buildings, so the newest of the condos located at Summer Bay Resort. Condo was very nice and was clean. Check in was late afternoon on a Friday and was quick and easy. Other times during the week, I saw cars lined up for check in so we must have timed it just right. The 500 buildings are located near the Big Kahuna bar located at the pool. Weather wasn't great the week that we were there so didn't spend much time at the pool. Grounds were well maintained. Didn't take advantage of any of the other ammenities offered at the resort.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the hotel - then want the 100 condos - the 500 condos are the newest and at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here while visiting with friends from Norway. We had the perfect set of condos: a two bedroom condo adjoining a one bedroom condo with a private connecting entry hall. I thought I had rented a three bedroom condo, but this was so much better. We had enough togetherness, and enough privacy. Honestly, we spent most of our time at Disney. The location was very convenient for daily visits. But, the facilities here looked very nice. We just had other plans and didn't use much of what was offered. The place was well maintained and we were quite satisfied.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A little dated in the Villas. The condos very nice. Walt Disney World 15 to 20 minutes. Universal around 30 minutes. Had everything we needed for a family of six. In the past we have stayed at Disney's Saratoga Springs as well as well as Lake Buena Vista Resort. Given the price we found his to be pretty comparable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful week at the Summer Bay Resort in Clermont, Florida. We traded through RCI for a 3-bedroom lock-out unit. The larger unit has a master bedroom with king size bed and it’s own full bathroom (our master had a separate door out to the balcony-I don’t know if that’s common or not) - a second bedroom with two twin beds - a second full bathroom - large living room - balcony with table and chairs - eating area - kitchen and stacked washer and dryer. The sofa bed in the living room is a king size. We fit 2 adults and 5 kids (14-12-9-8-3) comfortably. The smaller unit has a separate bedroom with king size bed - full bath accessible from the bedroom or the rest of the unit - large living room - large balcony w/table and chairs - eating area - full kitchen and stacked washer and dryer. The unique aspect of this lockout is the configuration. You must enter an outer locked door to a small entryway (we used this area for everyone’s shoes & pool toys), then each unit had it’s own locked door. We, the grandparents, would close our door when we wanted privacy - leave it open when everyone could wander from unit to unit. The kitchens are stocked quite well down to a blender and a corkscrew. There is also an ice maker in the freezer. However, I agree with one reviewer that mentioned buying a pizza cutter. The knives the resort provides are quite dull. The resort provides a starter pack of dishwashing liquid, dishwasher soap, scrubee, 2 rolls of paper towels, 2 trash bags (the resort recycles) and 1 sample size box of Tide & 2 dryer sheets for the kitchen area. We found everything lasted us but the laundry items. You’ll want to buy washer detergent and dryer sheets. The washer has nowhere to add liquid softener. We used our WalMart plastic bags for garbage & recycle bags. The bathrooms come with 2 boxes of Kleenex, 2 rolls of TP and the usual small soaps and hair products. You will definitely want to buy some TP! Both units were clean, albeit outdated. However, as the amount of time spent in the unit is minimal we really didn’t care. It was clean and comfortable and served our needs for cooking and sleeping.

Summer Bay is very easy to get to from the Orlando Airport and only about 6 miles away from Disneyworld. Turn out of the resort - go straight for 6 miles and you’re there. There are several pools situated around the resort (each set of buildings surrounds a pool & hot tub) that are semi-heated other than the small kids “water park” pool. Note that all pools use a salt filtration system so I’d recommend goggles for kids. You can bring your own beverages to every pool BUT the two main pools (Big Kahuna by the 500 buildings & the pool by reception). These two pools have the alcohol & food bars and apparently are rented to an outside sours so, of course, they want you to buy their drinks & food. There is also a pizza/sandwich/ice cream room by reception. Pizza was very good. The lake was very cold & the prices to use the lake equipment & toys was kind of costly so we didn’t use any of that. Nor did we use the miniature golf. I had intended to buy a week pass ($40 good for 8 people) but we found ourselves far too busy. The kids did fish for a couple hours one day and brought in some pretty good size pan fish & bass (catch & release). Other than that they were perfectly happy using the pool by our building with their “noodles”. Couple of days we even left Disney early as the kids just wanted to hang by the pool.

As far as check-in I would highly recommend going to the resort and checking in early. If your unit is not ready they will take a cell phone number and (supposedly) call you when it is. We checked in at 11 am - went to WalMart, did our shopping and scoped out the lay of the land. By 3 we still hadn’t been called so we went back to the resort. The place was packed with people checking in with a line stretching out the door. I snagged a desk clerk and found our units were ready, but obviously no one had had time to call us. Because we had already checked in and gotten all the resort info, she just handed us our keys and off we went. We did get hit up for a timeshare presentation - we politely explained that we already own several and were definitely not interested and other than one phone call in the middle of the week we were not bothered. Wi-Fi is very spotty at the resort. In our 1-bedroom unit I got a strong signal in our bedroom but no signal on the balcony. So just walk around till you get one. Or just take a vacation and leave your e-mails at home! I do recommend the 400 buildings. They are older and dated, but the pond with the fountain in the middle of it adds ambiance and the pool is one you can take your own stuff into. The newer “500” buildings are probably much nicer, but the pool is the Big Kahuna pool and you can’t bring anything in. You could walk to another pool if you wanted to - but we found the “400” area much nicer.

The grounds are very easy to navigate. You can walk within the resort anywhere. The road in front of the resort is lined with anything you might want. Everything is within 5-10 minute straight shot drive. Grocery store, Super Target, WalMart, Walgreens, many fast food places, many sit down eat places and many souvenir places. There are trucks lining the road selling fresh strawberries & oranges. We bought all our t-shirts and souvenir’s for Disney off-site for half the price. We made reservations for the Bonefish Grill one night and we all had the BEST seafood I think I’ve ever had. Costly but worth every penny. All in all this is an excellent resort for families with children that are visiting the Disney/Kissimmee area. We did visit a couple of other resorts in the area, but this one has them beat for children's activities. We definitely would return.

Room Tip: 400 buildings quieter, have own pool area, try for a 3rd floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando Resort has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando’s world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando Resort is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we’ve got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot®, Magic Kingdom® Park or Universal Studios Florida®.Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando Resort can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.