We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fun had for Four Young Adults” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
Hotel amenities
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Fun had for Four Young Adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We traveled to Summer Bay resort in June. It was myself, my husband, and our other friends who were a couple at the time. We chose to visit here due to a timeshare opportunity and it was a great last minute decision!
There are only a few photos that I've provided because I couldn't find the digital files but I found the files from my phone so they're not the best quality. Sorry :/

Hotel:
Overall the hotel/resort was amazing! great grounds that were very well kept and everyone around was super polite!

Room:
Our Room was excellent. It had a separated bedroom and a pullout couch which served us well because we were college students on a budget and probably couldn't afford a larger room for the 4 of us. We switched on and off who got the bedroom and who got the sofa bed and each was equally comfortable. No problems sleeping. The kitchenette was great. We went over to the local Publix bought our groceries for the week and were set to go. As soon as we got there we were settled in within a few hours and at the poolside bar.

Service:
The service here was excellent. The staff... equally as amazing and very funny. Whomever was serving us at the poolside bar was the perfect host for the day/evening. There was plenty for us to do. The staff at the water sports area even gave us a deal on the vests for the climbing floats and trampoline out in the water. I believe that you could have like two vests per room key and they gave us all four to go out and play. That was so much fun!

Food:
We only ate a few snacks at the poolside bar and no complaints. We normally just ate what we had in the hotel room. And for the ONE day we left the resort and went to Universal Studios we ate there and no complaints at all on the food.

Bar:
The bar did get a little expensive after a while but we didn't mind. Plan to purchase your own alcoholic beverages at the local Publix and have a few drinks before you head out (if this is your thing) otherwise you'll be fine because they absolutely DO NOT skimp on the alcohol in the drinks here.

Activities:
As I mentioned before the water sports area is a blast! There was a giant rock climbing float which we were referring to as "The Aggro Crag", those of you who grew up in the 90's Nickelodeon era will understand why we called it this when you see it, because it was just this giant mountainous structure to conquer. Every night there was something to be done at the resort for kids and adults. During the day I remember playing a game of Cornhole with fellow adults at the poolside bar :) good fun and laughs. I also remember playing some sort fo diving game with some younger kids at the pool, I think we were all belly flopping I'm sure the parents of the kids we were goofing around with either appreciated us taking them off of their hands for a while or really hated us for doing belly flops with their kids. Anyhow, it was fun and the kids were happy.
One night there was free mini golf if you got there before 10pm. That was good times as well.

And the icing on the cake for my now husband and our other friend who came with us... ONe night they hosted Karaoke at the pool on this giant set of stairs (it was a great stage setting!) After a while our friend realizes who the host fo the Karaoke was. For any WWE, WCW, ECW or past wrestling fans you'll know who I'm talking about, but the great Sinister Minister, James Mitchell was the Karaoke DJ!!!?? So, we went up and got a few photos taken with him, requested a few songs, and in between his introductions and comedic breaks we had a long interesting and fun chat with him. Great guy! He's retired now and enjoying goofing around as a DJ :) It was really neat meeting a former (underground) celebrity.

There was a bus that came very morning that would charge us I believe between $15-$20 to go to Disney, Sea World, and Universal. This is fine if you're just visiting one of the parks for ONE day. If you plan on making disney or Universal a week long vacation either stay on the DIsney property OR rent a car. It'll be cheaper that way for you. Imagine $20 a day for a ride to the park and having to wait until each stop is made (we had to go to the Sea World drop off point first, then they dropped us at Universal, which was fine, but then I felt bad for the people who wanted to go to Disney they had to wait at least an hour to get there including stops.) Also, I suggest bringing your own snacks and water in to the parks ( filling snacks like granola, almonds, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches) and you can refill your water bottles at the water fountains throughout the day, otherwise plan on paying $6-$10 for a bottle of water.

We only left the resort once and headed to Universal Studios and did both parks in one day. We bought the Fast Pass and breezed through everything. The only downfall was that the bus picked us up earlier than we wanted at night (otherwise we would have been stuck there without a ride back to the hotel.) This is where a rent a car would come in handy (we could have stayed longer for the fire works display and not have missed anything.

To wrap this up, Summer Bay Resort was the most fun I've had on a vacation with another couple to date. Can't wait to bring my kids back there one day :)
Hope this helps!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    308
    143
    98
    162
See reviews for
511
135
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, nova scotia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been to Summer Bay before and the resort itself did not disappoint. We were with our grandchildren this time (6 & 9) and had a fabulous time. I can't say enough about the activities staff. We had such a good time. We stayed in the Villas which were perfect for our needs. Unfortunately, we also signed up for the timeshare presentation. We are owners here and were treated well before so just wanted an update and to see units we hadn't seen before. We were disrespected, bullied and told half-truths and the "90 min." presentation went on for over 2 1/2 hours. I can't believe they treated their own owners that way. We will never take another time share presentation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family recently stayed at this resort for one week, in a one-bedroom suite. The room itself was fairly clean, the pool seemed great (though we never had a chance to take a dip) and we had a nice view of the lake, however my compliments essentially end there.

The kitchen unfortunately lacked in adequate storage space, however it was still manageable. The pull-out bed from the couch was horrid. I have slept on many couch-beds, and none have contained a plastic-wrapped mattress and such sharp springs as this one, it really made sleeping difficult being poked and feeling/hearing the plastic with every move.

The service is truly the downfall of this resort. The staff is generally apathetic and dismissive. We had a nightmare checking in, and were fed up with being 'brushed off' by the staff anytime we had inquiries. The resort provides no service when it comes to towel changes (charged, upon request), garbage removal nor general room cleaning. This resulted in having to anxiously call the front desk several times when we were constrained for time and needed items ASAP. (Having to wait upwards of half-an-hour for simple amenities!) Furthermore, the resort charges a ridiculous amount for terribly slow Wi-Fi which was absolutely frustrating.

Summer Bay is nice to look at, but it would be in their best interest to hire helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We love Summer Bay and have stayed there many times on timeshare points. It is a perfect, quiet resort for seniors and families. Just don't agree to the timeshare "presentation" as it really depends on who you get as to whether you are treated with respect or not. We are timeshare members and agreed to attend the presentation to get an update and to see the houses which we had not seen five months earlier. When we told the representative that we had been there in May and only wanted an update and we were holding him to the "90 minute" presentation that we had signed up for he said, "Good luck, they lied to you". For over 3 hrs. we were told half truths about our previous timeshare (that's why we didn't leave), treated with disrespect and bullied. I have been to many timeshare presentations and have never been treated like this. It isn't worth anything that they promise you at the end. Just don't do it!

Room Tip: The Villas (2 bedroom/2 bathroom) are roomy and very nice. People should be aware that you may be so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Everything about this Florida hotel was great! Nice clean rooms, Very spacious, very nice pools and spa tubs. Could not find anything wrong with this hotel. We are parents of 3 young very energetic boys and they always had something to do. Nice beach area with watersports and fishing. Gas grilles near the pool areas to grille your dinner to perfection, Would highly recommend to anyone. Scott, Lisa Jervis and boys

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just returned after a week stay in a 1 bed condo at Summer Bay Resort. This resort has extremely poor sevices, almost "Zero" services. No cleaning, no towel changes and not even garbagge removal. I have stayed in sevral resorts this is first one where we do not get any periodical services! Their service desk at the check-in is a joke, nobody knows how the system works. We personally checked-in on the arrival day during morning hours with credit crd imprint/hold etc. and were told to come in at 2 pm for the room to be ready. We drove out some visits and called the front desk to check for the room and they found no information. Obviously alarmed we drove in at 4 pm cutting short our visits and was again apalled that they donot have any records of our morning check-in, they even lost our cerdit card imprint!!! There were a lot of agents at the counter but nobody knew what to do. We waited for the "Manager" to get free, who incidentally was having a loud argument with another customer right by our side. The customer an elderly gentleman was mildly trying to explain to the Manager how the resort should be dealing with his request and all I could hear was the Manager yelling back to him repeatedly "this is how we do it as per our policies". After the frustrated gentleman finally walked away the Manager came over to us but did not bother even hearing out the lady agent explain the situation. Looked like he was too familar with such situations and so he quickly keyed in a few things on the computer and got us a suite and just walked away with out even looking at us. We were glad and considered ourselves lucky to get a suite (after having booked 6 months in advance!) grabbed the keys and rushed out to check to check out the unit, wondering wats waiting for us in this "customer unfriendly" resort. The resort looks good as you drive around with a decent size pool. Fortunately the suite was ok, not great by any means. It was clean but the bedroom carpet was dirty, begging for a change. The bathroom counter is tiny, too tiny even to hold my shaving stuff around it. The kitchen was small with very limted utensils of poor cheap quality. The pullout couch bed is the worst quality I have ever seen, you can feel the steel rods under! My girls had a tough time catching any sleep on it. We will never ever go back there again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in a great 3 bedroom house with a private screened in pool and jacuzzi. The unit could use some updating but was clean and in good working order. It was huge (2 master suites + 3rd bedroom) and the screened in pool was a great feature. As others have mentioned the pool and jacuzzi are both at the same temperature (94F) which makes the jacuzzi marginally useful.

Staff was friendly and helpful. The timeshare people did approach me at check in time, but we told them we were not interested and had no further contact. The phone did ring once or twice but we did not answer it.

Main pool area was very large and nice. Many on site activities including water sports. On site dining was pretty minimal but everything you could want is within a few miles. We made the drive to Disney several times, which took around 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando Resort has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando’s world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando Resort is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we’ve got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot®, Magic Kingdom® Park or Universal Studios Florida®.Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando Resort can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.