We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre service at best.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Save Saved
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
Hotel amenities
Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre service at best.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family recently stayed at this resort for one week, in a one-bedroom suite. The room itself was fairly clean, the pool seemed great (though we never had a chance to take a dip) and we had a nice view of the lake, however my compliments essentially end there.

The kitchen unfortunately lacked in adequate storage space, however it was still manageable. The pull-out bed from the couch was horrid. I have slept on many couch-beds, and none have contained a plastic-wrapped mattress and such sharp springs as this one, it really made sleeping difficult being poked and feeling/hearing the plastic with every move.

The service is truly the downfall of this resort. The staff is generally apathetic and dismissive. We had a nightmare checking in, and were fed up with being 'brushed off' by the staff anytime we had inquiries. The resort provides no service when it comes to towel changes (charged, upon request), garbage removal nor general room cleaning. This resulted in having to anxiously call the front desk several times when we were constrained for time and needed items ASAP. (Having to wait upwards of half-an-hour for simple amenities!) Furthermore, the resort charges a ridiculous amount for terribly slow Wi-Fi which was absolutely frustrating.

Summer Bay is nice to look at, but it would be in their best interest to hire helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    295
    133
    97
    163
See reviews for
493
130
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We love Summer Bay and have stayed there many times on timeshare points. It is a perfect, quiet resort for seniors and families. Just don't agree to the timeshare "presentation" as it really depends on who you get as to whether you are treated with respect or not. We are timeshare members and agreed to attend the presentation to get an update and to see the houses which we had not seen five months earlier. When we told the representative that we had been there in May and only wanted an update and we were holding him to the "90 minute" presentation that we had signed up for he said, "Good luck, they lied to you". For over 3 hrs. we were told half truths about our previous timeshare (that's why we didn't leave), treated with disrespect and bullied. I have been to many timeshare presentations and have never been treated like this. It isn't worth anything that they promise you at the end. Just don't do it!

Room Tip: The Villas (2 bedroom/2 bathroom) are roomy and very nice. People should be aware that you may be so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Everything about this Florida hotel was great! Nice clean rooms, Very spacious, very nice pools and spa tubs. Could not find anything wrong with this hotel. We are parents of 3 young very energetic boys and they always had something to do. Nice beach area with watersports and fishing. Gas grilles near the pool areas to grille your dinner to perfection, Would highly recommend to anyone. Scott, Lisa Jervis and boys

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just returned after a week stay in a 1 bed condo at Summer Bay Resort. This resort has extremely poor sevices, almost "Zero" services. No cleaning, no towel changes and not even garbagge removal. I have stayed in sevral resorts this is first one where we do not get any periodical services! Their service desk at the check-in is a joke, nobody knows how the system works. We personally checked-in on the arrival day during morning hours with credit crd imprint/hold etc. and were told to come in at 2 pm for the room to be ready. We drove out some visits and called the front desk to check for the room and they found no information. Obviously alarmed we drove in at 4 pm cutting short our visits and was again apalled that they donot have any records of our morning check-in, they even lost our cerdit card imprint!!! There were a lot of agents at the counter but nobody knew what to do. We waited for the "Manager" to get free, who incidentally was having a loud argument with another customer right by our side. The customer an elderly gentleman was mildly trying to explain to the Manager how the resort should be dealing with his request and all I could hear was the Manager yelling back to him repeatedly "this is how we do it as per our policies". After the frustrated gentleman finally walked away the Manager came over to us but did not bother even hearing out the lady agent explain the situation. Looked like he was too familar with such situations and so he quickly keyed in a few things on the computer and got us a suite and just walked away with out even looking at us. We were glad and considered ourselves lucky to get a suite (after having booked 6 months in advance!) grabbed the keys and rushed out to check to check out the unit, wondering wats waiting for us in this "customer unfriendly" resort. The resort looks good as you drive around with a decent size pool. Fortunately the suite was ok, not great by any means. It was clean but the bedroom carpet was dirty, begging for a change. The bathroom counter is tiny, too tiny even to hold my shaving stuff around it. The kitchen was small with very limted utensils of poor cheap quality. The pullout couch bed is the worst quality I have ever seen, you can feel the steel rods under! My girls had a tough time catching any sleep on it. We will never ever go back there again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in a great 3 bedroom house with a private screened in pool and jacuzzi. The unit could use some updating but was clean and in good working order. It was huge (2 master suites + 3rd bedroom) and the screened in pool was a great feature. As others have mentioned the pool and jacuzzi are both at the same temperature (94F) which makes the jacuzzi marginally useful.

Staff was friendly and helpful. The timeshare people did approach me at check in time, but we told them we were not interested and had no further contact. The phone did ring once or twice but we did not answer it.

Main pool area was very large and nice. Many on site activities including water sports. On site dining was pretty minimal but everything you could want is within a few miles. We made the drive to Disney several times, which took around 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COAL VALLEY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our experiment and we were pleasenty supprised. It has a number pool and spas, it seems like one for each four buildings. Gas grills near the pools. A beach area with many water toys. Two bars and vrills and activities all day. The place is clean and staff is helpful. We will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks back in Aug 2012, so this review is a little late. Traveled with my wife and two young children. We are "experts" at finding great values on unused "timeshare" weeks so this is our 5th time staying at a timeshare community in the Disney area (a different property each time).
In some aspects, this was the best property we've been to in the Disney area and in some ways it was the worst.

The pros: excellent grounds and pools. The main pool by the clubhouse is heated and open 24 hours. This was extremely enjoyable both during the day and late at night. Free Wifi by the pool/clubhouse was excellent, as well. Hanging out here really made it feel like we were on vacation. The beach area was adjacent to the main pool, and added to the nice ambiance. I went in the lake briefly and my son really enjoyed the inflatables in the lake. But be warned, you need to have good upper body strength to enjoy the inflatables. The northern most pool, which had a zero depth entry, was also beautiful and enjoyable. The water park (right outside of my unit) was lots of fun for the kids, but may have been too cold if it wasn’t the summer.
The pool area and grounds were superior to any timeshare community I've been to in the area.

The cons: although the room/unit was well decorated and reasonably updated, it was the smallest two bedroom we've occupied in the area and it was absent of a balcony and only had a tiny spa/whirlpool. The kitchen was poorly stocked and extremely cramped. WiFi in the rooms, which required an extra fee, was nearly impossible to ever connect to.
The worst part of the room was the occasional visit by very large cockroaches. Although it was only one cockroach at a time, it happened on three or four different occasions, and always when the lights were on (my previous experience with cockroaches was they always stayed out of the light). The cockroach problem made me drop my rating from 3 stars to 2.

My wife and I did take the timeshare tour to earn the $100 reward. They promised breakfast, childcare, and only 90 min of our time. The breakfast never appeared, the childcare was adequate, and the 90 min could have easily become 4 hours if I wasn't assertive. Our total time there from entering the building to leaving it was about 2 hours and 15 minutes. This included 15 minutes wait time before our "host" arrived, about 1 hour 40 minutes for the presentation, and 20 minutes waiting for our $100 reward. The only reason we escaped in under 3 hours is because I refused to go on the shuttle to tour the sample room/unit since they were trying to have us board the shuttle 85 minutes into the presentation, and also because every two minutes past 90 minutes, I reminded the salesman that he was over his agreed upon time. This really ticked him off, but it got us out of there quicker.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando Resort has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando’s world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando Resort is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we’ve got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot®, Magic Kingdom® Park or Universal Studios Florida®.Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando Resort can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.