We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were located in the building 404 and the unit was nice. Short walk to the lobby and the grounds are well maintained. Location of the property is good to get to Disney although there is a lot of traffic to get there on US 192. Leave early in the morning.

The kitchen is furnished lightly but all basic tools needed are there. Only complaint I have is concerning the sofa-bed, I can confirm that the mattress has springs! Customer service is good, if something is missing, they do come quickly to resolve the issue.

FYI, for the internet, I was there for 2 weeks and there is a package at 45$/10 days but they do extend it for the entire stay. They will also allow to connect 2 devices for free. The internet speed was quite slow but at least it worked.

Kids and wife loves the place and wish to go back one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    388
    175
    106
    170
See reviews for
658
187
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

i stayed here with my son and husband the week before Christmas. The unit was clean and extremely nice. During our weeklong stay, I saw one waterbug. No real insect problem. Yes, the timeshare salespeople will call but don't answer the phone. Or if you don't want to be bothered, tell them no. My 2 year old son loved the park and the waterpark on the property. The location is extremely close to Denny's, Publix and a few other stores. The Publix is a bit overpriced on some items but there is a Super Target just five minutes down the road. Also, we were just 10 to 15 minutes away from Disney. The washer and dryer in the room is extremely convenient and the jacuzzi tubs are great! Definitely take advantage of eating on the patio, wonderful views! My main complaint is that the selection of TV channels were horrible! Being so close to Disney and Universal Studios, I was really surprised they didn't have Disney Jr or Nick Jr to entertain my son in the mornings and before bedtime. Overall, we had a great time and would love to stay here again when we visit Orlando!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I wanted to take my family on a trip to Disney. We agreed to take the 90/120 minute tour to get 2 Disney tickets and a nice place to stay for a good price.

Here is what actually happened. Because of the storms that went through Mobile, AL on December 25, 2012, we ended up arriving late. We spoke with the people on the phone and they said that would not be a problem. When asked if we could do the tour the next day since it would not be our arrival or departure date, they said it would be NO problem. My wife and I got up early to head to the welcome center. Once there, we were told that all of the times were booked for that day and that we would have to go on the tour the next day. First lie. We came back the next day expecting a 90/120 minute tour of the timeshares. Their 90/120 minute tour lasted almost 180 minutes. There is NO way that the tour would take just 90 minutes or even 120 minutes. Second lie. When we decided not to buy into the timeshare, which we actually considered a lot, they treated us like second class citizens. They were very rude. The lady that was showing us around slammed her book close and took off. She didnt even say, well maybe the next time you come back, come speak with me. Then they said a representative from the company would come over close us out and give us the vouchers for the Disney tickets. That took another 20 minutes. He tried to sell us a "hold" for the next time we vistied. We finally got the voucher and headed down stairs. We then had to wait another 30 minutes to get the tickets. In all, we spent about 3.5 to 4 hours at the center. During that time, Disney World closed down because it had reached maximum capacity. We ended up going about 3 pm and stayed till Midnight.

The place itself. Well, I gave it an average review. There were a few things good and a few things bad about it. First for the good. My wife loves to take a hot relaxing bath in a big tube. The large tub in the master bathroom was just what she wanted. There was a washer and dryer, so we could do clothes while on property. They gave a welcome bag with some detergent in it. It seemed cleaned until the last day. We did not eat at all in the condo, but found a few dead roaches on the floor the last day. The tile in the living room needed to be redone. Working construction while in college, I could tell that some of the tile was loose and needed to be repaired. I could crack by just a large person stepping on it. It sounded hollow. Also, not the fault of the resort, but the people above us got up every day at 5 am and started walking around and doing clothes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family stayed over Christmas week in a 2 bedroom unit in building 105. I found the condo to be better than some reviews I'd read. The resort is in a good location, is on very nice, well-maintained property, and is full of things to do. Close to shopping (the proximity of the Publix store is excellent), reasonably close to Disney, easy to navigate to/from.
The only thing I would say is that the shuttle bus to/from Disney could run a little more frequently. We were lucky enough to get on the bus the one and only time we took it, but many were left standing at the curb, SOL. Also, in this day and age, charging for internet is a bit much.
The condo was not as aged as I'd read about in the reviews, although, for a little bit more money, when building they should have invested in higher quality cupboards and granite counter tops. This is more a general comment, not a complaint as it made no difference other than from an aesthetics standpoint. Blackout curtains in the master bedroom would have been good, as the lights from the exterior walkways shone through the blinds at night. Numerous items were missing from the kitchen but when I called needing a salad bowl, I received one very quickly. Basics such as tea towels and laundry soap and dishwasher soap were a bit light, they could be more generous like other resorts in providing a reasonable amount for someone staying a week.
Staff at the Big Kahuna bar were very nice. The daily phone call from the timeshare office was not appreciated, considering we'd requested "do not call" upon check in, but the persistent fellow was very polite.
Beach is nice to relax on but I'm not sure I'd actually swim in that lake. It looks a bit stale.
Pools were great, kids water park great, gas BBQ's greatly appreciated (and not available at other resorts nearby, such as Orange Lake).
Overall, we liked it and would return to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

we stayed at Summer Bay Resort at Christmas week every thing was good except the internet connection not working at the unit even slow at the clubhouse, free shuttle to the supermarket was
a good help but the one to the parks was not good and times was limited, the resort is very far from all attraction about 40$ for a taxi and when we take the free shuttle to the parks it goes to 2-3 other resorts before taking you to the parks same for the return so you lose about 3 hours daily at the shuttle and it's not comfortable then when they take you to the first park they asked you to use the disney shuttle or monorail to continue and that was very full because of christmas. so dont go unless you have your own car orgo to other resorts which close to the parks with the same price

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at Summer Bay week of 12/15- 12/22 in a two bedroom condo in building 208. No complaints at all. Unit was clean, spacious and comfortable and appeared to be recently updated with new flat screen TV's. Grounds were nicely kept and staff were helpful and friendly. Didn't have any children along so can't speak to the activities for kids.

Convienently located about 15 minutes from Disney parks with no traffic problems. Lots of restaurants in the area from family dining to a few nicer places.

Overall would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week to go to disney and it was great. The 2 bedroom villa with 2 bathrooms was very spacious and affordable. It also had a full kitchen which was very useful during breakfast. Their internet connectivity was not very good and their sysyem for internet use at the business center is horrible. Besides that, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.